psone one not powering up.

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

psone one not powering up.

Post by jeffslot » Fri Oct 07, 2005 5:52 pm

Hi guys,

I had picked up a psone a couple of weeks ago at a yardsale. I though I was so luck the other day when I was on Ebgames.com & they had 1 psone screen in stock. Of course I bought it. I was so psyched when I came home from work today, but now I'm a bit down.

Nothing happens when I plug the psone screen into the psone & use a wall adapter. Any ideas what it might be? I guess it isn't too bad - as I don't think that psone's are too expensive. Thanks.

Jeff S

User avatar
G-force
Moderator
Posts: 3609
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 1:43 pm
Location: Sweet home Indiana
Contact:

Post by G-force » Fri Oct 07, 2005 5:59 pm

Lemme guess, you opened up the PSone case, and now even the LED won't turn on :wink: It's probably a fuse, but you can check with your multi meter to find out. Just see if 7.5V is getting past the fuses. And check the ground connection while you're at it. And you are using the official wall adapter, right?

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Post by jeffslot » Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:02 pm

G-force,

Not quite. As far as I can tell this case has never been opened. This hasn't been modded at all (yet). I'm just trying to make sure everything works right before I even start. Any ideas?

Jeff

User avatar
demonofaj
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 2553
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 2:52 pm
PSN Username: ajsen1gma
Steam ID: demonofaj
Location: NYC (718)
Contact:

Post by demonofaj » Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:27 pm

Re check connections. Or open it up and check fuses.
"Life's a female of the dog species, then you die.."

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Post by jeffslot » Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:39 pm

demonofaj,

Thanks for the info. Doesn anyone have any more specific ideas? I'm not really that familiar with the psone one. Thanks.

Jeff S.

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Post by jeffslot » Sat Oct 08, 2005 11:10 am

Doesn anyone know what particular fuse(s) may need to be jumped? THanks.

Jeff S

User avatar
atkafighter
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:16 pm

Post by atkafighter » Sat Oct 08, 2005 11:50 am

Well, this is all I found.
Image
Try jumping one then the other, and maybe both. Good luck, and its good to see that you've given portablizing another chance.
Atkafighter

User avatar
demonofaj
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 2553
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 2:52 pm
PSN Username: ajsen1gma
Steam ID: demonofaj
Location: NYC (718)
Contact:

Post by demonofaj » Sat Oct 08, 2005 6:21 pm

Yeah, what atka said :)
"Life's a female of the dog species, then you die.."

User avatar
jeffslot
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:26 am
Location: PA
Contact:

Post by jeffslot » Sun Oct 09, 2005 6:41 pm

No dice, it still doesn't power-up. I think I will have to trade or buy a new one.
:cry:

mattb419
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 10:28 am
Location: WV
Contact:

Post by mattb419 » Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:52 am

You might check the model number of the wall adapter you are using... you need the model SCPH-121 to power both the screen and the psone (it has more amps than the original psone adapter I believe). just a thought.

edit: did you try to power up the psone before you got the screen? I guess that would be important to know (as far as my idea goes) :)

Post Reply