Begginers

Want to just shoot the breeze? Forum 42 is the place!

Moderator:Moderators

Hotpotmar
360 GamerTag:Hotspotmar
Steam ID:Hotspotmar
Begginers

Post by Hotpotmar » Tue Sep 06, 2011 7:34 pm

Hi I'm new to modding and i would like to make the GameCube portable, but i'm not im to new to do something as big as that are there any projects that i can do to start out.

Reaper P7
PSN Username:Haha... Yea Right
360 GamerTag:Subscription? Nah.
Steam ID:Refer to email to add me.

Re: Begginers

Post by Reaper P7 » Wed Sep 07, 2011 4:07 am

If you dont want to do a hardcore mod, you can always grab a toolbox, snuggle in the gamecube, put a flat top that sits where.the tray would, and slap a portable dvd player on it. I soldered the power connectors together and made my first portable that way when I was 13 or so.
Nintendo uses proprietary screws in the gamecube, I used a power drill to just drill out the scews entirely. You need a soldering iron and some solder, these are 10 at radio shack.
You will also need some electrical tape and possibly a multimeter.
Watch some instructional videos and remember to always be patient and take your time, especially with electricity. It doesnt take much to stop your heart.
Lastly, you need a plan and a clean enviroment to work in.
Im sure ive forgotten something, and im sure the rest of the family will be morr than willing to chip in.

PS: It is easier to work with someone that has experience with electronics for beginners. I had a grandfather that has been hacking and modding for years that taught me over 10 years and a college major to back it up.

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk

cennar

Re: Begginers

Post by cennar » Sat Sep 10, 2011 12:11 am

Reaper P7 wrote:modding for years that taught me over 10 years and a college major to back it up.

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk