Brushless Motor vs Brushed Motor Question

Want to just shoot the breeze? Forum 42 is the place!

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Haunted360
Posts: 1000
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:22 am
PSN Username: Haunted360
360 GamerTag: Haunted 360
Location: Australia
Contact:

Brushless Motor vs Brushed Motor Question

Post by Haunted360 » Mon Jun 20, 2011 8:23 pm

I have a motor from a DVD-ROM drive that is a sensor brushless motor.

I need to make it act like a sensorless brushless.

Can it be done?


IE: So there is just negative and positive terminals to run it. At the moment, since it is sensored, there are 4 or so positive leads and 1 ground.

User avatar
Mario
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 7:20 pm
Location: Sunny California

Re: Brushless Motor vs Brushed Motor Question

Post by Mario » Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:20 am

No, you can't. Brushless motors require control electronics. That's why they need sensors, to determine where the motor is at. Brushed motors can run without electronics. There's really no way to convert a brushless motor to act like a brushed one.
Image

Haunted360
Posts: 1000
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:22 am
PSN Username: Haunted360
360 GamerTag: Haunted 360
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Brushless Motor vs Brushed Motor Question

Post by Haunted360 » Wed Jun 22, 2011 9:27 pm

Yea, oh well.

Thanks Mario for clearing it up 8)

Tromoly4130
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 2:27 pm
Location: College

Re: Brushless Motor vs Brushed Motor Question

Post by Tromoly4130 » Sun Jun 26, 2011 8:07 pm

Mario wrote:No, you can't. Brushless motors require control electronics. That's why they need sensors, to determine where the motor is at. Brushed motors can run without electronics. There's really no way to convert a brushless motor to act like a brushed one.
Go to your local RC car track and you will see several cars running sensorless brushless motors.

Brushed motors can run off straight voltage because the armature is designed to control the magnetic field, a brushless motor needs to have the motor controller control the voltage to the motor, hence the three wires going to the motor.

So in a nutshell, you might be able to run it sensorless as long as you have a brushless-specific motor controller.
There's No Place Like 127.0.0.1.

Haunted360
Posts: 1000
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:22 am
PSN Username: Haunted360
360 GamerTag: Haunted 360
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Brushless Motor vs Brushed Motor Question

Post by Haunted360 » Tue Jun 28, 2011 1:50 am

Tromoly4130 wrote:
Mario wrote:No, you can't. Brushless motors require control electronics. That's why they need sensors, to determine where the motor is at. Brushed motors can run without electronics. There's really no way to convert a brushless motor to act like a brushed one.
Go to your local RC car track and you will see several cars running sensorless brushless motors.

Brushed motors can run off straight voltage because the armature is designed to control the magnetic field, a brushless motor needs to have the motor controller control the voltage to the motor, hence the three wires going to the motor.

So in a nutshell, you might be able to run it sensorless as long as you have a brushless-specific motor controller.
Thank you.

Post Reply