finding a power cord

Want to just shoot the breeze? Forum 42 is the place!

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
stuntpenguin007
Posts: 667
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 12:21 pm

finding a power cord

Post by stuntpenguin007 » Sun May 02, 2010 12:03 pm

I need to find a power cord to replace a 12V 750mAh power cord. If I were to replace the cord with a 12V 2A cord would the thing I'm trying to supply power to get fried?
SNESP WIP
Case - 50%
acquired parts - 90%
assembly - 0%

User avatar
jdmlight
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:17 pm
Steam ID: jdmlight
Location: A boring suburb of Chicago.

Re: finding a power cord

Post by jdmlight » Sun May 02, 2010 12:19 pm

stuntpenguin007 wrote:I need to find a power cord to replace a 12V 750mAh power cord. If I were to replace the cord with a 12V 2A cord would the thing I'm trying to supply power to get fried?
Nope, that won't fry it. The voltage needs to match exactly, the current needs to be equal to or greater than the original. Something that needs 750ma will only draw 750ma out of the 2a possible.

If you're getting a replacement, make absolutely sure that you match up the polarity correctly. Mixing that up WILL in all likelihood fry something.
--John (and please call me John, it's really weird to be called by my username)
Fight MS Paint abominations! If you don't have a camera, go here, and pick something 3 megapixels or higher.

nevermind1534
Senior Member
Posts: 1977
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:36 pm
Steam ID: nevermind1534
Location: Detroit, MI
Contact:

Re: finding a power cord

Post by nevermind1534 » Sun May 02, 2010 12:41 pm

jdmlight wrote:If you're getting a replacement, make absolutely sure that you match up the polarity correctly. Mixing that up WILL in all likelihood fry something.
Unless it'a a rere exception like the NES that takes AC.
Kyo wrote:"does anyone here know how to fly a plane?"

"STAND BACK EVERYBODY, I HAVE A FAKE ID"

User avatar
jdmlight
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:17 pm
Steam ID: jdmlight
Location: A boring suburb of Chicago.

Re: finding a power cord

Post by jdmlight » Sun May 02, 2010 12:46 pm

nevermind1534 wrote:
jdmlight wrote:If you're getting a replacement, make absolutely sure that you match up the polarity correctly. Mixing that up WILL in all likelihood fry something.
Unless it'a a rere exception like the NES that takes AC.
True. (unless you're like me, I lost my original NES power brick a long time ago, now I'm just using some random 12VDC power brick, in which case you do have to have the correct polarity for the 7805 inside :wink: )
--John (and please call me John, it's really weird to be called by my username)
Fight MS Paint abominations! If you don't have a camera, go here, and pick something 3 megapixels or higher.

User avatar
timmeh87
Senior Member
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:19 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: finding a power cord

Post by timmeh87 » Sun May 02, 2010 1:06 pm

If you are still putting in in the old rectifier, then no you dont ;)
Image

"Linux is only free if your time is worthless"

User avatar
jdmlight
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:17 pm
Steam ID: jdmlight
Location: A boring suburb of Chicago.

Re: finding a power cord

Post by jdmlight » Sun May 02, 2010 2:34 pm

timmeh87 wrote:If you are still putting in in the old rectifier, then no you dont ;)
Forgot about that part. The rectifier would correct the polarity for you. My NES has been in pieces on my bench so long that I forgot about that...

(why on earth did they not use a regular DC power brick on the NES?)
--John (and please call me John, it's really weird to be called by my username)
Fight MS Paint abominations! If you don't have a camera, go here, and pick something 3 megapixels or higher.

User avatar
stuntpenguin007
Posts: 667
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 12:21 pm

Re: finding a power cord

Post by stuntpenguin007 » Sun May 02, 2010 2:40 pm

Thanks. I know how to test the polarity of a power brick with a multimeter, but how do I know what the polarity of the thing I'm trying to power is?

I guess I could crack it open and see where the wires lead. Or if I'm lucky they'll even be color coded.
SNESP WIP
Case - 50%
acquired parts - 90%
assembly - 0%

User avatar
jdmlight
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:17 pm
Steam ID: jdmlight
Location: A boring suburb of Chicago.

Re: finding a power cord

Post by jdmlight » Sun May 02, 2010 2:45 pm

stuntpenguin007 wrote:Thanks. I know how to test the polarity of a power brick with a multimeter, but how do I know what the polarity of the thing I'm trying to power is?
A lot of times there is a little diagram by the power jack, like this:
Image
(a random googled image)

If not, you can oftentimes find such info on the internets. What is it you're trying to power?
--John (and please call me John, it's really weird to be called by my username)
Fight MS Paint abominations! If you don't have a camera, go here, and pick something 3 megapixels or higher.

User avatar
stuntpenguin007
Posts: 667
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 12:21 pm

Re: finding a power cord

Post by stuntpenguin007 » Sun May 02, 2010 2:51 pm

A cd64 for my n64. I'm still waiting on shipping, so I don't have it with me right now to check for power markings.

Thanks for all the help, I hope I get it to work 8)
SNESP WIP
Case - 50%
acquired parts - 90%
assembly - 0%

User avatar
desertman123
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:46 pm
PSN Username: Desertman123

Re: finding a power cord

Post by desertman123 » Sun May 02, 2010 3:11 pm

Amperage on a power brick normally means it can supply up to that many, not that it is giving that much.

750mAh load will take 750mAh, regardless of its a 750mAh brick or 2A brick.
Image
Word to the wise: DON'T THROW ELECTRONICS AWAY!!!

User avatar
timmeh87
Senior Member
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:19 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: finding a power cord

Post by timmeh87 » Sun May 02, 2010 3:32 pm

UNIT ABUSE ALERT.

mA mA mA mA mA mA mA
Image

"Linux is only free if your time is worthless"

Post Reply