PS3 Computer Setup

Want to just shoot the breeze? Forum 42 is the place!

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
ValiantVenality
Portablizer
Posts: 655
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:31 pm
Location: Villa Park,California
Contact:

PS3 Computer Setup

Post by ValiantVenality » Sun Dec 13, 2009 5:35 pm

Hey there guys! I have been working for my dad for the past couple months and I have managed to get enough money to buy a PS3 Slim. I'm going to set it up like a computer on my desk. I'll explain more in the paragraph below.

I would buy a bluetooth keyboard and mouse for it. I was thinking about that one Logitech one with the touch pad built into the keyboard but not posotive yet. Also my dad has a few extra 1080p monitors at his work because they lost a couple people so he said I could have one. It would be perfect for me! Also get a pair of really good computer speakers and hook them up too. The only reason I'd even consider this is because I sold my computer and I can only use my little netbook. I think it would be perfect if I put all my music on the PS3 and use its web browser like a regular desktop since thats all I use anyways.

Theres one thing I'd like to ask though, is there any way I could set it up to my monitor and my TV? Like when I want to play on my monitor by myself I could use that, or a few people come over and I could use my TV? Is that possible? Thanks!

ValiantVenality
Image

User avatar
snowpenguin
Posts: 1306
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 4:10 pm

Re: PS3 Computer Setup

Post by snowpenguin » Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:01 pm

Well, you could always unplug and plug the cable from the ps3, or just buy/build a little switchbox for it with a cable going to the ps3, to the monitor, and to the tv having the switchbox switch the ps3 to the tv or monitor.
Image

User avatar
AfroLH
Posts: 725
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 6:31 pm
Location: Down da Baya
Contact:

Re: PS3 Computer Setup

Post by AfroLH » Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:49 pm

Yummy. PS3 Linux.

Wait, you are putting Ubuntu on it, arent you?

Harshboy
Portablizer
Posts: 3610
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 3:44 pm

Re: PS3 Computer Setup

Post by Harshboy » Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:50 pm

AfroLH wrote:Yummy. PS3 Linux.

Wait, you are putting Ubuntu on it, arent you?
It's a slim, no linux for you!

User avatar
vskid
Senior Member
Posts: 6314
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:25 am
Steam ID: vskid3
Contact:

Re: PS3 Computer Setup

Post by vskid » Sun Dec 13, 2009 7:23 pm

If the TV and monitor use the same connection and settings, just swap the cable over. If the settings/cable are different, you can turn off the PS3, then hold the power button for 7 seconds or so and it'll reset the video settings and you can change them to what you need.
Image

User avatar
Triton
Moderator
Posts: 7396
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 12:33 pm
360 GamerTag: triton199
Steam ID: triton199
Location: Iowa
Contact:

Re: PS3 Computer Setup

Post by Triton » Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:08 pm

Harshboy wrote:
AfroLH wrote:Yummy. PS3 Linux.

Wait, you are putting Ubuntu on it, arent you?
It's a slim, no linux for you!
This man speaks the truth.

User avatar
AfroLH
Posts: 725
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 6:31 pm
Location: Down da Baya
Contact:

Re: PS3 Computer Setup

Post by AfroLH » Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:24 pm

GAH!

User avatar
J.D
Posts: 330
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: Astoria, OR, US

Re: PS3 Computer Setup

Post by J.D » Sun Dec 13, 2009 9:06 pm

Harshboy wrote:
AfroLH wrote:Yummy. PS3 Linux.

Wait, you are putting Ubuntu on it, arent you?
It's a slim, no linux for you!

User avatar
ValiantVenality
Portablizer
Posts: 655
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:31 pm
Location: Villa Park,California
Contact:

Re: PS3 Computer Setup

Post by ValiantVenality » Sun Dec 13, 2009 9:20 pm

Hey guys. I've learned a few things about hooking up a PS3 to a monitor. Apparently the monitor has to support HDMI and it has to have HDCP. The monitor that my dad went and got at his office is an LG Flatron L226WTQ . Do you guys know if this will support a PS3? I am sorry to ask this but I wouldn't have a clue as to what to look up on google. Thanks!

VV
Image

User avatar
lifeisbetterwithketchup
Senior Member
Posts: 2180
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:08 pm
Steam ID: lifeisbetterwithketchup
Location: Illinois. Whee.
Contact:

Re: PS3 Computer Setup

Post by lifeisbetterwithketchup » Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:17 pm

First hit on google for "L226WTQ" says that it has VGA and DVI (with HDCP) and a resolution of 1680x1050. You could likely connect the PS3 to it via a HDMI-DVI cable, but I'm not sure how friendly the PS3 is to PC-resolutions such as the 1680x1050 of the L226WTQ.

In other words: it might work. :lol:
Rekarp wrote:
mako321 wrote:What makes you head ninja, anyways? :wink:
Cause I am Abe F#!@ing Lincoln. :mrgreen:

User avatar
ValiantVenality
Portablizer
Posts: 655
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:31 pm
Location: Villa Park,California
Contact:

Re: PS3 Computer Setup

Post by ValiantVenality » Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:35 pm

Sweet thanks! I think since it only has 1680x1050 resolution, I don't think it could output 1080p but definitely 720p or possibly 1080i but I'm not sure about this yet. Also question about wireless keyboard and mouse. Could I get basically any wireless keyboard or mouse and plug it in? Or would I have to install drivers of some sort? Are there any mouse and keyboard with no drivers needed? I think the microsoft arc mouse is just plug and play but I have no idea about a keyboard. Any suggestions guys?

VV
Image

User avatar
bicostp
Moderator
Posts: 10491
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 5:47 pm
Steam ID: bicostp
Location: Spamalot
Contact:

Re: PS3 Computer Setup

Post by bicostp » Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:45 pm

If all you want is a web browser hooked up to the monitor, it might just be easier to connect your netbook... :lol:

User avatar
Triton
Moderator
Posts: 7396
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 12:33 pm
360 GamerTag: triton199
Steam ID: triton199
Location: Iowa
Contact:

Re: PS3 Computer Setup

Post by Triton » Mon Dec 14, 2009 12:54 am

it would be better than the PS3s browser for sure! i was using it at a friends house and it was awful :(

User avatar
desertman123
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:46 pm
PSN Username: Desertman123

Re: PS3 Computer Setup

Post by desertman123 » Mon Dec 14, 2009 4:08 pm

Buy a 40gb and install linux on it.
Image
Word to the wise: DON'T THROW ELECTRONICS AWAY!!!

User avatar
Grandmasterjimmy
Posts: 207
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 12:53 pm
PSN Username: PeglegJimmy
Location: PA

Re: PS3 Computer Setup

Post by Grandmasterjimmy » Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:25 am

ValiantVenality wrote:Sweet thanks! I think since it only has 1680x1050 resolution, I don't think it could output 1080p but definitely 720p or possibly 1080i but I'm not sure about this yet. Also question about wireless keyboard and mouse. Could I get basically any wireless keyboard or mouse and plug it in? Or would I have to install drivers of some sort? Are there any mouse and keyboard with no drivers needed? I think the microsoft arc mouse is just plug and play but I have no idea about a keyboard. Any suggestions guys?

VV


Any mouse/keyboard should be plug and play, and my monitors max resolution is 1440*900 but the PS3 outputs 1080p to it.

Post Reply