amiga 600

Want to just shoot the breeze? Forum 42 is the place!

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
antrock101
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 7:24 am

amiga 600

Post by antrock101 » Sat Jun 27, 2009 11:57 am

i saw recently doin out the loft, 30 years of retro, and i found my brothers old amiga 600 floopy disk. I think its ok to talk about this due to the fact most of the developers have gone now, basically i was wondering what format the games came in i fancy replaying some of the old classics i've lost, zool, premier manager 2 ect
HOLY FREAKIN MOTHER OF JESUS CHRIST! THAT CASE IS HUGE!

Perhaps you may buy a smaller one.

User avatar
Triton
Moderator
Posts: 7396
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 12:33 pm
360 GamerTag: triton199
Steam ID: triton199
Location: Iowa
Contact:

Re: amiga 600

Post by Triton » Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:44 pm

Amigas rock! Most classic workbench (1.0-1.3) games came on one or 2 amiga formatted 880k 3.5" floppy disks, its not possible to read or write amiga readable floppies with a modern computer without special hardware like the catweasel IV. you can however hook up your amiga via serial null modem cable, or if you have a harddrive for your amiga 600 you can take it out, put it in a usb harddrive reader and use it with winUAE amiga emulator! thats what i do with my a1200. amiga roms, like all other roms, are only legal if you own an original copy of the game. most amiga roms come as .ADF files which stands for amiga disk format, using serial null modem, cloantos amiga forever software package, and a program called ADFblitzer you can write roms to disk using your amigas floppy drive.

User avatar
Negative_Creep
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 3:04 pm
Location: New Crack City
Contact:

Re: amiga 600

Post by Negative_Creep » Sat Jun 27, 2009 3:34 pm

I'm fairly certain a lot of developers have put their games up for download, they arent very hard to find.

Since I don't have all the right tools, i'm using a virtual hard drive atm. Great to play all those classics again, favourite being The Chaos Engine tbh

User avatar
MegatronUK
Posts: 177
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 12:08 pm

Re: amiga 600

Post by MegatronUK » Sat Jun 27, 2009 3:56 pm

Most of the Pinball (Dreams/Illusions/etc.) series are freely available from the developers and Team 17 have released a lot of their back catalogue for download - beyond those sorts of scenarios you're in the normal murky waters of finding games (through they're not too hard to find if you try the usual places).

antrock101
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 7:24 am

Re: amiga 600

Post by antrock101 » Sun Jun 28, 2009 2:32 am

hard drive!!! sd card!!! mine had floppys only i think, was looking to copy and paste files onto a floppy and play
HOLY FREAKIN MOTHER OF JESUS CHRIST! THAT CASE IS HUGE!

Perhaps you may buy a smaller one.

User avatar
MegatronUK
Posts: 177
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 12:08 pm

Re: amiga 600

Post by MegatronUK » Sun Jun 28, 2009 3:27 am

Unfortunately thats a lot more difficult than you think. As Triton states, PC's cannot read or write Amiga floppies. If you can stretch to it, a 2.5 hard drive (or compact flash card of a few gigabytes and adapter) and maybe a 1-2mb ram upgrade would be far better - most games are now installable and you could run them direcftly from within workbench.

Heres a tip; amiga hard drives are directly accessible via the Winuae emulator, so you can use it to format and build the hard drive, install all the games you want, and then put it back in the real amiga! Its much faster this way than having to copy files across to the amiga and install everything the 'old fashioned' way!

User avatar
Triton
Moderator
Posts: 7396
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 12:33 pm
360 GamerTag: triton199
Steam ID: triton199
Location: Iowa
Contact:

Re: amiga 600

Post by Triton » Sun Jun 28, 2009 8:48 am

Heres a tip; amiga hard drives are directly accessible via the Winuae emulator, so you can use it to format and build the hard drive, install all the games you want, and then put it back in the real amiga! Its much faster this way than having to copy files across to the amiga and install everything the 'old fashioned' way!
triton wrote:or if you have a harddrive for your amiga 600 you can take it out, put it in a usb harddrive reader and use it with winUAE
:P :D

User avatar
MegatronUK
Posts: 177
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 12:08 pm

Re: amiga 600

Post by MegatronUK » Sun Jun 28, 2009 2:49 pm

doh :lol:

User avatar
Triton
Moderator
Posts: 7396
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 12:33 pm
360 GamerTag: triton199
Steam ID: triton199
Location: Iowa
Contact:

Re: amiga 600

Post by Triton » Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:59 pm

a little bit of fun i had with winUAE, this is amiga os 3.5 running ibrowse 2.4 with highGFX (1024x768 resolution)
Image

antrock101
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 7:24 am

Re: amiga 600

Post by antrock101 » Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:43 pm

wow internet!

any links to how i would start using an sd card, i dont know much about amigas i never really used it much. wish i had all my floppys still
HOLY FREAKIN MOTHER OF JESUS CHRIST! THAT CASE IS HUGE!

Perhaps you may buy a smaller one.

User avatar
Triton
Moderator
Posts: 7396
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 12:33 pm
360 GamerTag: triton199
Steam ID: triton199
Location: Iowa
Contact:

Re: amiga 600

Post by Triton » Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:52 pm

you amiga 600 has room inside for a 2.5" laptop harddrive, anything less than 4gb should work natively! so all you need is a CF to ide adapter to use compactflash cards or an actual 2.5" hdd. PM me if you have instant messengers (i have yahoo, msn and AIM) and i can walk you through setting up a harddrive with winUAE.

also note that stuff like highGFX mode, internet etc wont be possible on your amiga 600 but all the classic gaming you can shake a stick at is within your grasp, its just complicated to do certain ways. the easiest way to do it is hook up your amiga with a null modem cable and just drag and drop ADF files to it!

Post Reply