Windows Xp SP3

Want to just shoot the breeze? Forum 42 is the place!

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
vskid
Senior Member
Posts: 6314
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:25 am
Steam ID: vskid3
Contact:

Post by vskid » Tue Apr 29, 2008 7:20 pm

Sparkfist wrote:Does it force any graphical enhancements on you? 'Cause I run Windows pretty minimal as far as aesthetics are considered.
Nope, mine is still as minimal as before. Only difference I've noticed is that it says "Service Pack 3" in the system properties.
Image

User avatar
Life of Brian
Moderator
Posts: 2867
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Post by Life of Brian » Tue Apr 29, 2008 7:24 pm

I'm taking the plunge right now. I'll report back on the other side.
dragonhead wrote:sweet. ive spent a third of my life on benheck!
Image

User avatar
bicostp
Moderator
Posts: 10491
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 5:47 pm
Steam ID: bicostp
Location: Spamalot
Contact:

Post by bicostp » Tue Apr 29, 2008 7:36 pm

Pff, I'm still running Service Pack 1a! :P

I think SP3 just has the entire collection of security patches up to this point, and includes support for some new Vista networking stuff.

They didn't throw WGA in as well, did they?

Yes, my copy of XP is legit. The problem is that the repair shop I used to work for and got the install disc from had a volume system builder's license, and somewhere along the line Microsoft put the wrong number into their system and flagged that product key. They got a new license gratis, but the original disc is what was installed on this machine.
Last edited by bicostp on Tue Apr 29, 2008 7:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jongamer
Senior Member
Posts: 2151
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:43 pm
PSN Username: Geekystig790
360 GamerTag: Mesu Gitsune
Location: Fairborn, Ohio

Post by Jongamer » Tue Apr 29, 2008 7:37 pm

Life of Brian wrote:I'm taking the plunge right now. I'll report back on the other side.
Same

User avatar
Life of Brian
Moderator
Posts: 2867
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Post by Life of Brian » Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:08 pm

That was painless. So far so good.
dragonhead wrote:sweet. ive spent a third of my life on benheck!
Image

Jongamer
Senior Member
Posts: 2151
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:43 pm
PSN Username: Geekystig790
360 GamerTag: Mesu Gitsune
Location: Fairborn, Ohio

Post by Jongamer » Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:13 pm

Life of Brian wrote:That was painless. So far so good.
=P same

though my pathetic HDD was thrashing like hell during the install, time for a defrag :P

vb_master
Moderator
Posts: 4793
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 9:52 pm

Post by vb_master » Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:16 pm

I integrated the RTM into my corporate disk last week and checked it out on VMWare and patched the SP3 uxtheme.dll for custom themes also on that VMWare OS.

I'll probably do a complete reinstall of my desktop and make images of it using Acronis True Image for quick restores.

User avatar
gamer2
Senior Member
Posts: 3611
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 12:38 pm
Location: You spam, SANTA Jason gets you!
Contact:

Post by gamer2 » Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:54 pm

I took the plunge, I am running SP3 now but it dont look as nice as the picture in the first post, it looks like SP2 exactly.

What did I do wrong?
Image
Image

User avatar
vskid
Senior Member
Posts: 6314
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:25 am
Steam ID: vskid3
Contact:

Post by vskid » Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:59 pm

gamer2 wrote:I took the plunge, I am running SP3 now but it dont look as nice as the picture in the first post, it looks like SP2 exactly.

What did I do wrong?
He just has extra stuff installed. I don't think there is any visual difference between SP2 and SP3.
Image

User avatar
Bibin
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 2:14 am
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Post by Bibin » Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:23 pm

Hush hush, there isn't; I've had the beta for about 6 months now, calm down; you can do the usual uxtheme.dll replacement and it'll work just fine.
...

User avatar
nightwheel
Senior Member
Posts: 2017
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 11:49 am
PSN Username: nightwheel
360 GamerTag: nightwheel94
Steam ID: nightwheel
Location: Kentucky, We are KFC
Contact:

Post by nightwheel » Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:53 pm

I quote my self again. They have delayed SP3
Image

Who knows if the Namco Portable will ever become a reality? :P

User avatar
vskid
Senior Member
Posts: 6314
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:25 am
Steam ID: vskid3
Contact:

Post by vskid » Tue Apr 29, 2008 10:03 pm

nightwheel wrote:
I quote my self again. They have delayed SP3
Um, so, you can still download it from other sites. They just don't have it on the automatic updates.
Image

User avatar
thehackerinside
Posts: 198
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 3:43 pm
Location: Hastings, England
Contact:

Post by thehackerinside » Wed Apr 30, 2008 7:22 am

Just thought I would say that I'm using Rocket dock which makes it look pretty, the taskbar is changed to silver in display, Different and bigger icons, no themes going on here and I try to keep my desktop as tidy as possible.

And it was posted on engadget that it was delayed, but as said It hasn't been released publicly yet, It was meant to be released on the 28th or 29th I think.

Joe
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Life of Brian
Moderator
Posts: 2867
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Post by Life of Brian » Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:12 am

I recall reading that it will come through Automatic Updates for most people early this summer. I'm just impatient and I wanted to see if there really was a speed increase that I'd notice. Plus extra security patches and stuff are just fine with me.
dragonhead wrote:sweet. ive spent a third of my life on benheck!
Image

User avatar
minkster
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:03 pm
Location: NJ

Post by minkster » Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:38 pm

Bah, I just tried it and got the Blue Screen of Death every time I started my computer! Thank god safe mode worked...I was able to restore it back before SP3 was installed.
Minktendo-Dead
Next portable: who knows ;)

Post Reply