What OS do you use?

Want to just shoot the breeze? Forum 42 is the place!

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Sparkfist
Forum Administrator
Posts: 6754
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 7:12 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by Sparkfist » Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:13 pm

HP Pavilion; Dual boot, Windows XP Pro (15GB), Ubuntu Feisty (65GB)
This set up is because I only use Windows really for Warcraft

Acer Aspire; Ubuntu
This is for school and so I have Wine/Crossover Office install, so I can run a few Windows programs.

Once I have ethernet setup in my room (cable running through the wall not under the rug) I'll use a Server Linux (maybe Ubuntu) for my Gateway. Could use a server that has 380GB of space.... because 420GB (two hard drives) in my externals isn't enough.

For anyone getting into Linux, I would highly suggest that if you don't go with Ubuntu, look at one of the Debian based distributions. Apt-get and Synaptic are the easiest ways to install software and best way to avoid dependency hell.
vskid wrote:Nerd = likes school, does all their homework, dies if they don't get 100% on every assignment
Geek = likes technology, dies if the power goes out and his UPS dies too

I am a geek.

User avatar
xtrmgam3r360
Posts: 362
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 11:24 am
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

Post by xtrmgam3r360 » Fri Nov 23, 2007 11:30 am

yeah, this is my first post

Dell P4- XP Home SP3 Candidate Release
PowerMac G4- Dual boot OSX 10.3.9/Ubuntu Linux
HP Pavilion- Win ME
Old IBM Thinkpad- Win 98 SE
Magnavox Laptop- MS-DOS 5.0 <----bought for $1 for everything included
Acer Aspire- Win 98 SE
IBM OS/1- Win 3.11
Sony Vaio- XP Home SP2 (hopefully i fix it soon)
Last edited by xtrmgam3r360 on Thu Dec 20, 2007 8:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Harshboy
Portablizer
Posts: 3610
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 3:44 pm

Post by Harshboy » Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:21 pm

-------------------------
Mine:
-------------------------
Dell: Windows XP Home Edition
Macbook: Mac OSX 10.4.9 and cracked Windows XP Home Edition (Boot Camp)

-------------------------
Not mine:
-------------------------
Dad's HP Laptop: Windows XP Pro
Old crap HP: Windows ME

User avatar
lifeisbetterwithketchup
Senior Member
Posts: 2180
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:08 pm
Steam ID: lifeisbetterwithketchup
Location: Illinois. Whee.
Contact:

Post by lifeisbetterwithketchup » Fri Nov 23, 2007 2:03 pm

Sparkfist wrote:For anyone getting into Linux, I would highly suggest that if you don't go with Ubuntu, look at one of the Debian based distributions. Apt-get and Synaptic are the easiest ways to install software and best way to avoid dependency hell.
Um... Ubuntu is Debian based. I've used apt-get and Synaptic on it.
Rekarp wrote:
mako321 wrote:What makes you head ninja, anyways? :wink:
Cause I am Abe F#!@ing Lincoln. :mrgreen:

User avatar
daguuy
Portablizer
Posts: 3666
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:09 pm
Location: missoura

Post by daguuy » Fri Nov 23, 2007 4:35 pm

I've tried linux and hated it. XP works fine for me.
ImageImage

User avatar
johnbjuice
Posts: 520
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 11:52 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Post by johnbjuice » Fri Nov 23, 2007 6:30 pm

tiny XP/Ubuntu dual boot works for me! :D

User avatar
cowsgoquack101
Senior Member
Posts: 1981
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 9:21 am
Steam ID: cowsgoquack101
Location: Cold, grey Indiana!
Contact:

Post by cowsgoquack101 » Fri Nov 23, 2007 7:06 pm

Vista

User avatar
Sir Games-A-Lot
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 7:25 am
Location: Sitting around a table wishing the king would get IBM Consultants

Post by Sir Games-A-Lot » Fri Nov 23, 2007 7:25 pm

cowsgoquack101 wrote:Vista
I'm so sorry for you. :wink:



HDD 1

Debian


HDD 2

SUSE 10 (has some quirks to it as it's not openSUSE)

Windows XP Home SP2. (Need to find a copy of Pro on the cheap so I can play my old games since that's about all I use XP used for anyway :P)
<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=5780" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 83% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>

User avatar
ghosstt
Senior Member
Posts: 1551
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 4:14 pm

Post by ghosstt » Fri Nov 23, 2007 9:24 pm

Dell Dimension 3000 (this) : Windows XP Home
Old Gateway: Dual Boot Windows ME & Custom XP

I'm thinking of running Ubuntu soon. If i were to put a second HD in my PC as a slave one, could i run Ubuntu off of that?

User avatar
Bass Creator
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 11:51 am

Post by Bass Creator » Fri Nov 23, 2007 9:28 pm

I Will get al of you fools
On a 1.83 ghz 384 ram
xbuntu 7.10
Osx 10.4.8
Runs super fast.(I can run games even)
Used to have Vista unlimited ran as fast as hell with vista even
Reddit

User avatar
benol
Posts: 1371
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 1:53 pm
Location: In ur fourmz, postin in ur thredz!
Contact:

Post by benol » Fri Nov 23, 2007 9:30 pm

@Ghosst: Definitely. As a matter of fact, Ubuntu is a tiny install. It fits on a CDR. You don't need a 2nd HD.
PM me for DS friend codes. PLEASE!
DOLGAT IS REAL!!!!

Help My MyMiniCity, plzkthxbai

User avatar
bicostp
Moderator
Posts: 10491
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 5:47 pm
Steam ID: bicostp
Location: Spamalot
Contact:

Post by bicostp » Fri Nov 23, 2007 9:47 pm

benol wrote:@Ghosst: Definitely. As a matter of fact, Ubuntu is a tiny install. It fits on a CDR. You don't need a 2nd HD.
I know you <3 Ubuntu for some reason [size=0]and honestly it sounds like you're selling it to us (which is very annoying)[/size], but I think he meant running it off a second hard drive so he doesn't have to mess with his primary drive.

User avatar
gamemasterAS
Senior Member
Posts: 3309
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:30 pm
Steam ID: lolz1337face
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by gamemasterAS » Fri Nov 23, 2007 9:52 pm

bicostp wrote:
benol wrote:@Ghosst: Definitely. As a matter of fact, Ubuntu is a tiny install. It fits on a CDR. You don't need a 2nd HD.
I know you <3 Ubuntu for some reason [size=0]and honestly it sounds like you're selling it to us (which is very annoying)[/size], but I think he meant running it off a second hard drive so he doesn't have to mess with his primary drive.
Dang it Bicostp for once I had a chance to sound a bit smart and you had to beat me to it. :(
.

User avatar
ghosstt
Senior Member
Posts: 1551
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 4:14 pm

Post by ghosstt » Fri Nov 23, 2007 9:58 pm

gamemasterAS wrote:
bicostp wrote:
benol wrote:@Ghosst: Definitely. As a matter of fact, Ubuntu is a tiny install. It fits on a CDR. You don't need a 2nd HD.
I know you <3 Ubuntu for some reason [size=0]and honestly it sounds like you're selling it to us (which is very annoying)[/size], but I think he meant running it off a second hard drive so he doesn't have to mess with his primary drive.
Dang it Bicostp for once I had a chance to sound a bit smart and you had to beat me to it. :(
yup. Thats exactly why. But, i don't mean size wise, i mean how would i do it? Even though its a slave drive, would the dual boot screen come up?

User avatar
bicostp
Moderator
Posts: 10491
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 5:47 pm
Steam ID: bicostp
Location: Spamalot
Contact:

Post by bicostp » Fri Nov 23, 2007 10:41 pm

ghosstt wrote:yup. Thats exactly why. But, i don't mean size wise, i mean how would i do it? Even though its a slave drive, would the dual boot screen come up?
If you keep your existing drive and just add another one, you will probably have to either edit your boot.ini file to tell the Windows boot loader to go to the other drive (it will give you a menu), install GRUB to both drives, or set the Ubuntu drive as the primary (which may mess up your existing XP install).

If you just want to play with it, virtualization is the way to go. Install that second drive, put the disk image there, and install VMWare or Virtual PC. (Note: for VPC you might have to edit the X config file to run in 24 bit color mode instead of 32 bit mode, and it sometimes has problems with mouse support under Ubuntu 7, so you might want to go with VMWare.)

Post Reply