PSP Custom Firmwares and other Hacks

Want to just shoot the breeze? Forum 42 is the place!

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
vb_master
Moderator
Posts: 4793
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 9:52 pm

Post by vb_master » Fri Jan 19, 2007 9:31 pm

teraflop122 wrote:Now...I just need to figure out what to...DO with it :?
You upgrade to 3.03 OE-A, then patch to 3.03 OE-B, silly!

User avatar
nickerous
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 2:19 pm

Post by nickerous » Sat Jan 20, 2007 8:25 am

What's the advantages of 3.03? I'm still using 3.02 and am not having any problems so far. It would be nice to compress PSX games, but I'm looking to get a 2gb card anyway.

User avatar
A_Username
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 5:00 pm
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Contact:

Post by A_Username » Sat Jan 20, 2007 8:41 am

vb_master wrote:I "acquired" Metal Slug X for PS1 to try this out tomorrow, if only Mathieulh gave me 3.02 OE-B early like he did for 2.71 SE-B :p

Yes Dark_AleX is my hero as well :p

and yes I realize I am talking like 0okm :p

Also I forgot, 3.03 was decrypted today by Team C+D

And of course we forgot the 2.80 downdate by 0okm.
Quake II runs great on it, it's a pain in the butt to dump disk then convert it with popstation and make the KEYS.BIN file, though. The good news though is that a lot of the torrent sites have special "PSXSP" or "PSXPSP" sections now, just download games you already own and you won't have the feds at your door the next day :wink:

-Derek

vb_master
Moderator
Posts: 4793
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 9:52 pm

Post by vb_master » Sat Jan 20, 2007 9:08 am

A_Username wrote:The good news though is that a lot of the torrent sites have special "PSXSP" or "PSXPSP" sections now, just download games you already own and you won't have the feds at your door the next day :wink:

-Derek
I've known about that for a long time :p

teraflop122
Posts: 1212
Joined: Sat May 21, 2005 9:06 pm

Post by teraflop122 » Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:48 pm

I don't find popstation very difficult to use at all, so long as you put it somewhere easy to navigate to through Command prompt, like C:\ :P

I have the PSX stuff down pretty well (Symphony of the Night is the AWESOME, btw), but do I need to do anything special to run UMD iso's? I already own the games Of course :P

Harshboy
Portablizer
Posts: 3610
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 3:44 pm

Post by Harshboy » Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:11 pm

just put the isos in the ISO Folder (Which should be in the root of your Mem stick) and then they will be in the Games menu on your PSP

teraflop122
Posts: 1212
Joined: Sat May 21, 2005 9:06 pm

Post by teraflop122 » Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:18 pm

"The game could not be started" :?

vb_master
Moderator
Posts: 4793
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 9:52 pm

Post by vb_master » Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:31 pm

teraflop122 wrote:"The game could not be started" :?
Turn on NO UMD.

teraflop122
Posts: 1212
Joined: Sat May 21, 2005 9:06 pm

Post by teraflop122 » Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:55 pm

I don't understand. Turn on "NO UMD" in what?

User avatar
Turbo Tax 1.0
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 4772
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Delaware, no sales tax
Contact:

Post by Turbo Tax 1.0 » Sat Jan 20, 2007 4:29 pm

2 options.

put a umd in the psp (it is needed to start some games

or hold down "r" when you turn on the psp and got to options or whatever and turn off "no umd"

check out the maxconsole forums there is plenty of good info there but it also comes with its fair amount of dumbass spam threads
when life gives you lemons make flux
Image
snesp mk4

teraflop122
Posts: 1212
Joined: Sat May 21, 2005 9:06 pm

Post by teraflop122 » Sat Jan 20, 2007 4:58 pm

Ah, I'll try that.

BTW, I just want to say thanks to all you guys for helping me out. I imagine my questions are starting to become annoying. I usually at least do a number of google searches for answers to each of my problems, but I have yet to find any decent source of information on these subjects.

Harshboy
Portablizer
Posts: 3610
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 3:44 pm

Post by Harshboy » Sat Jan 20, 2007 8:05 pm

DC Emu is your friend :wink:

teraflop122
Posts: 1212
Joined: Sat May 21, 2005 9:06 pm

Post by teraflop122 » Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:59 pm

I cannot get any emulators to run. At first I though I needed Devhook, but it seems dh is for emulating higher firmwares on 1.5, not 1.5 on 3.03. Any suggestions?

jperryss
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 7:31 pm

Post by jperryss » Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:25 pm

I put my emulators in the GAME150 folder, and had to go to Recovery mode to switch to 1.50 kernel.

vb_master
Moderator
Posts: 4793
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 9:52 pm

Post by vb_master » Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:49 pm

jperryss wrote:I put my emulators in the GAME150 folder, and had to go to Recovery mode to switch to 1.50 kernel.
I hope you realize switching mode to 1.50 KERNEL changed the actual GAME folder homebrew to 1.50, and GAME303 for 3.03 homebrew. I mean like what is so hard about that?

Post Reply