Gameconsole to PC Monitor

Want to just shoot the breeze? Forum 42 is the place!

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Joes2Silly
Posts: 1345
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 8:19 pm
Location: SA, TX
Contact:

Gameconsole to PC Monitor

Post by Joes2Silly » Fri Aug 25, 2006 3:32 pm

Well, I concluded that if I got rid of my TV in my room and replaced it with a PC monitor I would be able to work on more computers at a time. So, my question it: is there a converter that takes AC and outputs VGA (or whatever, im not that smart). I need to be able to hook a gamecube or any other system up to the monitor.

FYI I dont have cable in my room and I probably eill not, ever....
Image

official xbox fiend

User avatar
scherzo
Posts: 481
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:18 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Post by scherzo » Fri Aug 25, 2006 3:37 pm

When you say AC I assume you meant AV. There are a good number of products on the market that'll take a composite or S-Video signal and convert it to a VGA (monitor) signal. Here's one I found by searching Google.
Image

User avatar
blackbox_dev
Senior Member
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: Formerly known as iam7805

Post by blackbox_dev » Fri Aug 25, 2006 4:16 pm

If the console outputs RGB it should be straight-forward to output RGB. Check Google.
I'd imagine right now you wish you were a cuttlefish...

User avatar
SpongeBuell
Senior Member
Posts: 5190
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 10:52 am
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Post by SpongeBuell » Fri Aug 25, 2006 4:46 pm

iam7805 wrote:If the console outputs RGB it should be straight-forward to output RGB. Check Google.
Not necessarily. You'd also have to have your sync line, which would be a different frequency than a computer monitor is made for.
Life of Brian wrote:
RYW wrote:RYW:

Rare
Yellow
Weasel
I'll be honest with you - I would have never guessed that.

User avatar
blackbox_dev
Senior Member
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: Formerly known as iam7805

Post by blackbox_dev » Fri Aug 25, 2006 5:53 pm

SpongeBuell wrote:
iam7805 wrote:If the console outputs RGB it should be straight-forward to output RGB. Check Google.
Not necessarily. You'd also have to have your sync line, which would be a different frequency than a computer monitor is made for.
Dammit, forgot about that.

Oh well, after some quick searching I found this nice little device: Clicky.
I'd imagine right now you wish you were a cuttlefish...

Reaperman@home
Posts: 1056
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 11:19 am
Location: New Orleans, LA
Contact:

Post by Reaperman@home » Fri Aug 25, 2006 5:57 pm

those devices aren't that nice. I got a vga converter hoping I could hook my xbox to my projector in 1080i with the xbox component cable. (projector lacks component in) Everything that goes through my vga box looks like garbage--with the exception of the VGA passthrough.

normal signals fuzz terribly, especially horizontally, and colors bleed like mad. though this is on my specific unit, and perhaps the quality level varies on these.

HomicidalBarber
Posts: 445
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 9:23 pm
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Post by HomicidalBarber » Fri Aug 25, 2006 6:28 pm

can any of them do audio too?


EDIT: yes...yes they can

User avatar
Joes2Silly
Posts: 1345
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 8:19 pm
Location: SA, TX
Contact:

Post by Joes2Silly » Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:31 pm

would something like thiswork :?:
Image

official xbox fiend

vb_master
Moderator
Posts: 4793
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 9:52 pm

Post by vb_master » Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:32 pm

The X2VGA is the best one out there, apparently.

User avatar
Indigno
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:31 pm
Contact:

Post by Indigno » Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:38 pm

You could set up a junk box that is pretty much just an OS and a TV tuner...
Getting a tan while everyone else is in a blizzard... >.<

User avatar
Krepticor
Senior Member
Posts: 1567
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 8:06 pm
Location: Shadow Hearts

Post by Krepticor » Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:38 pm

the reason our video quality is probably lacking is because the Component to VGA thing is really kinda iffy

component is like RGB with the c-synce in the green line
VGA is like RGB with multiple color lines and grounds and c-synce's

Now debug fom there why yours was not that good of a quality

Also remember that the XBOX is only capable of 480i

the 360 is capable of 720 to 1080i

Also remember that 1080i is different than 1080p in the number of time it refreshes
I refuse to dignify myself with an intelligent and witty signature

User avatar
Joes2Silly
Posts: 1345
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 8:19 pm
Location: SA, TX
Contact:

Post by Joes2Silly » Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:53 pm

well, I need something with good video output quality and it needs to be fairly inexpensive (I only want to pay $30 tops)
Image

official xbox fiend

User avatar
lifeisbetterwithketchup
Senior Member
Posts: 2180
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:08 pm
Steam ID: lifeisbetterwithketchup
Location: Illinois. Whee.
Contact:

Post by lifeisbetterwithketchup » Fri Aug 25, 2006 9:02 pm

Krepticor wrote: Also remember that the XBOX is only capable of 480i
IIRC, the original xbox can handle up to 1080i, however not many games utilize 720p or 1080i. Many games are 480p though, I think.
Rekarp wrote:
mako321 wrote:What makes you head ninja, anyways? :wink:
Cause I am Abe F#!@ing Lincoln. :mrgreen:

User avatar
atari2600a
Posts: 1330
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 12:42 am
Location: Schwarzeneggerville, CA
Contact:

Post by atari2600a » Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:46 pm

If I where you, I'd get a TV Tuner card. (maybe an ATI All-In-Wonder?)

OFF TOPIC: what I want to do is get a DVB tuner card & hook it up to the spare dish I have in my shed, & then, um, "borrow" Pay TV programming. *13374g3* (& even if I don't do so, there's still 53405145012947234 Free-To-View channels on satellite...)

User avatar
Sparkfist
Forum Administrator
Posts: 6754
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 7:12 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by Sparkfist » Sat Aug 26, 2006 9:59 am

Really I would say it's best to just go out and buy a TV tuner that work for your computer. I have one worked great when I used Windows, haven't learned how to use it under Linux. A friend of mine is going to do the same thing. He's adding a Radion All-in-Wonder video card so he can play video games on his computer's LCD monitor.

I'd also like to say that with my experiance with the All-in-Wonder series, you input composite to the video card without having to buy an adapter. So the way I had it my PS2/Xbox was connected to the C/AL/AR/S-video inputs and I had my room's cable line go into the cable in.

And if you don't want to spend too much money, the Radion card I have 9000, it's likely vary cheap if you can find one still box, or just buy second hand.
vskid wrote:Nerd = likes school, does all their homework, dies if they don't get 100% on every assignment
Geek = likes technology, dies if the power goes out and his UPS dies too

I am a geek.

Post Reply