Fastest PC and internet?

Want to just shoot the breeze? Forum 42 is the place!

Moderator: Moderators

Mr. Cool
Posts: 823
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 2:22 pm
Contact:

Fastest PC and internet?

Post by Mr. Cool » Mon Mar 06, 2006 3:39 pm

I recently got a new job with good pay, and I promised myself that when I did I would buy myself a really good pc. What is the fastest pc that I can buy with about $2000? Also what is the fastest internet you can get?, cause my parents are thinking of switching.
Need unique content writer for your website? Check out http://www.uniquecontentcreation.com/

teraflop122
Posts: 1212
Joined: Sat May 21, 2005 9:06 pm

Post by teraflop122 » Mon Mar 06, 2006 3:47 pm

There is no way we can simply tell you how to spend your 2000 dollars, because we would be designing PC's based on what WE find important. I think you need to decide for yourself what you want, and than give us a very detailed description of that if you still want our help. :)

Mr. Cool
Posts: 823
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 2:22 pm
Contact:

Post by Mr. Cool » Mon Mar 06, 2006 4:03 pm

In short, I want a gaming pc.Very good and smooth graphics and short load times for processing intensive things.
Need unique content writer for your website? Check out http://www.uniquecontentcreation.com/

User avatar
Dr.Weasel
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 9:11 pm

Post by Dr.Weasel » Mon Mar 06, 2006 4:08 pm

I made this a while back when i was bored.

Prices on newegg.com as of 11-10-05

Asus A8N SLI Deluxe NVIDIA Socket 939 Motherboard - $170

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (pick your own core) - $170

Corsair Value Select 512MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz - $45 x 2

VGA GeForce 6800 GS 256MB GDDR3 PCI-E SLI DVI VGA TV\Out - $210

Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 8MB SATA-150 - $104

Case w/450watt+ psu - $80

Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition OEM Version with SP2 - $90

Total - $914


-Hayden

User avatar
sniper_spike
Posts: 761
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 8:41 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by sniper_spike » Mon Mar 06, 2006 4:11 pm

-Get a DFI motherboard instead
-Get a Venice Core (for the 3200+)
-Get Overclocking ram instead and make sure its dual-channel, don't just buy two seperate sticks
-Video card is fine, but there are better ones for just a bit more
-Don't EVER buy those crappy case\psu combos (unless you plan on buying a PSU seperately), the PSUs on those are GARBAGE
Dr. Gregory House wrote:Good lord, are you having a bowel movement or a baby?

User avatar
sam
Senior Member
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:23 am
Location: toronto
Contact:

Post by sam » Mon Mar 06, 2006 4:15 pm

I would suggest a better videocard + another gig of ram. And a 4400X2 processor.
I'm the man, if you don't think so, you're wrong.
sniper_spike wrote:That sucks, bro's before ho's anyway man.
Image

User avatar
sniper_spike
Posts: 761
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 8:41 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by sniper_spike » Mon Mar 06, 2006 4:15 pm

True, for $2000 he could get a lot better.
Dr. Gregory House wrote:Good lord, are you having a bowel movement or a baby?

User avatar
Skyone
Moderator
Posts: 6390
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: it is a mystery
Contact:

Post by Skyone » Mon Mar 06, 2006 4:39 pm

Specs I suggest:

At least 3.2GHz Intel Processor or AMD Equivelant.
2 Gigs+ of RAM
At least 256 MB Graphics

Go for the dual core AMD Athlon X2 or FX60 Toldedos.

Or Intel Extreme if you wanna blow 1000...

User avatar
ValiantVenality
Portablizer
Posts: 655
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:31 pm
Location: Villa Park,California
Contact:

Post by ValiantVenality » Mon Mar 06, 2006 4:44 pm

Just get an AlienWare computer. Its fast and you can customize it. And for the internet try firefox.

User avatar
sam
Senior Member
Posts: 1746
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:23 am
Location: toronto
Contact:

Post by sam » Mon Mar 06, 2006 5:25 pm

ValiantVenality wrote:Just get an AlienWare computer. Its fast and you can customize it. And for the internet try firefox.

Do you even look at the question? Firefox isnt an internet is it?(If so sorry) The internet depends on your location. And alienware's are overpriced.
I'm the man, if you don't think so, you're wrong.
sniper_spike wrote:That sucks, bro's before ho's anyway man.
Image

User avatar
Lucretius
Moderator
Posts: 4009
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 7:25 pm
Location: *undisclosed*
Contact:

Post by Lucretius » Mon Mar 06, 2006 5:38 pm

Firefox is a web browser. Like internet explorer. You can't buy an internet. There's only one, no one person owns it, and it ain't all for sale. Besides, there's so much crap on it, I doubt it'd be worth whatever imaginary sum you could think up.
-Luke

Harshboy
Portablizer
Posts: 3610
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 3:44 pm

Post by Harshboy » Mon Mar 06, 2006 5:44 pm

Dr.Weasel wrote:I made this a while back when i was bored.

Prices on newegg.com as of 11-10-05

Asus A8N SLI Deluxe NVIDIA Socket 939 Motherboard - $170

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (pick your own core) - $170

Corsair Value Select 512MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz - $45 x 2

VGA GeForce 6800 GS 256MB GDDR3 PCI-E SLI DVI VGA TV\Out - $210

Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 8MB SATA-150 - $104

Case w/450watt+ psu - $80

Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition OEM Version with SP2 - $90

Total - $914


-Hayden
OMG! Thats what i have only it's a little better and it's a dell. It cost about $1800, but thats cause of the $300 printer and the 19 inch LCD screen.

User avatar
cowsgoquack101
Senior Member
Posts: 1981
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 9:21 am
Steam ID: cowsgoquack101
Location: Cold, grey Indiana!
Contact:

Post by cowsgoquack101 » Mon Mar 06, 2006 7:41 pm

Make your own AMD computer, as for the internet T3 is the fastest connection yet.

User avatar
gannon
Moderator
Posts: 6974
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:48 pm
Location: Near that one big lake
Contact:

Post by gannon » Mon Mar 06, 2006 7:49 pm

fastest home connection I've seen so far is 10 MB/s
(except Hong-Kong where they have 1 GB/s lines now IIRC)

User avatar
HK-47
Moderator
Posts: 3598
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 2:17 pm
Location: /dev/moderator/
Contact:

Post by HK-47 » Mon Mar 06, 2006 8:15 pm

2 gig / sec
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0, ... 01,00.html

And I would get a AMD Athlon 64 X2 processor, as its both dual core, and 64 bit. :)

Post Reply