Will this 4.5" screen work?

If you're making a portable you probably need something to watch it on. (Unless you want to guess what's happening in the game, but I wouldn't advise that) Anyway, this forum is your "Hacking a pocket TV/screen" one-stop solution. Share your experiences and knowledge here.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
andrewdorsey
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 2:49 pm
Location: hmmmmmmm

Will this 4.5" screen work?

Post by andrewdorsey » Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:43 pm

I was wondering, will this lcd screen work for a gamecube portable or something like that?

Image

Image
the screen's motherboard...

sorry, each time i try to make the pictures any bigger, they get really pixelated. :(
Last edited by andrewdorsey on Thu Feb 12, 2009 2:06 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
eagle5953
Moderator
Posts: 1892
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 5:06 pm
360 GamerTag: eagle5953
Steam ID: eagle5953
Contact:

Re: Will this 4.5" screen work?

Post by eagle5953 » Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:47 pm

I very much doubt it. I don't see any composite input. Without that, you might as well forget about it.

Larger pictures would help, though.

Also, don't try to do a Gamecube portable for your first project. It's very difficult.

User avatar
andrewdorsey
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 2:49 pm
Location: hmmmmmmm

Re: Will this 4.5" screen work?

Post by andrewdorsey » Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:55 pm

thanks. :D

I'll post some bigger pictures right now as we speak.

User avatar
Kurt_
Portablizer
Posts: 5748
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:32 am
Steam ID: kurbert
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Will this 4.5" screen work?

Post by Kurt_ » Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:56 pm

I disagree. Just because it doesn't have an RCA jack doesn't mean anything.

I see two ribbon cable connectors. Where's the rest of the lcd/what does it hook up to?

I see that it does have all the circuitry. If you can find pinouts for the ICs or the ribbon cable connectors, it's likely you can get it to work.
Hey, sup?

User avatar
andrewdorsey
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 2:49 pm
Location: hmmmmmmm

Re: Will this 4.5" screen work?

Post by andrewdorsey » Thu Feb 12, 2009 2:09 pm

thanks kurt_. I have a question, I already bought this screen on ebay, but if the screen doesn't have composite video, will i be able to add composite video to the motherboard? oh and I don't know where the rest of the lcd hooks up to?.?.

User avatar
Rekarp
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 2163
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 1:52 am
PSN Username: Lnghrn_
Steam ID: rekarp
Location: Austin, Tx
Contact:

Re: Will this 4.5" screen work?

Post by Rekarp » Thu Feb 12, 2009 2:44 pm

It could work. Try to find the datasheets on those two chips on the board.
The wood master

Image

"I was under the impression Mac owners don't actually USE their machines, they just parade them around trying to evangelize the masses."

User avatar
Kurt_
Portablizer
Posts: 5748
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:32 am
Steam ID: kurbert
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Will this 4.5" screen work?

Post by Kurt_ » Thu Feb 12, 2009 9:25 pm

Just judging by the look of the circuitry compared to other digital circuitry, it really looks like it will work if you can find the right spots to hook stuff up to.

I count 3 chips, two of which are rather likely to have the right stuff on it. And on the left, right below the connector, I see what I THINK is various labeled inputs with empty through-hole connections.
Hey, sup?

Gordon1
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Will this 4.5" screen work?

Post by Gordon1 » Thu Feb 12, 2009 9:32 pm

I'm pretty sure that is the exact same one I bought. I have yet to make it work though (haven't tried though)

http://forums.benheck.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=26585

Post Reply