Just my luck.

If you're making a portable you probably need something to watch it on. (Unless you want to guess what's happening in the game, but I wouldn't advise that) Anyway, this forum is your "Hacking a pocket TV/screen" one-stop solution. Share your experiences and knowledge here.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
dragon
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:45 pm
Contact:

Just my luck.

Post by dragon » Tue Aug 28, 2007 3:16 pm

I was useing a psone screen and then teir is a bang and smoke so i tunr it off .
It looks like one of the surface mounted restior went on fire and i wonering what happened.

Heres a pic.

Image

Sorry for the bad pic.

sammy
Posts: 568
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:13 pm

Post by sammy » Tue Aug 28, 2007 3:59 pm

That pic could be anything really :?
Check if any of the fuses burned through (they look like the smd resistors).

User avatar
dragon
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:45 pm
Contact:

Post by dragon » Tue Aug 28, 2007 4:04 pm

The screen powers on,.
And thats were the lcd is ment to be mounted on the board.

User avatar
vskid
Senior Member
Posts: 6314
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:25 am
Steam ID: vskid3
Contact:

Post by vskid » Tue Aug 28, 2007 6:01 pm

What is the problem then, it works right, thats all that matters.
Image

User avatar
bicostp
Moderator
Posts: 10491
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 5:47 pm
Steam ID: bicostp
Location: Spamalot
Contact:

Post by bicostp » Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:16 pm

Whoa. Set your camera to its highest resolution, move back, get the board in focus, and take another picture. That one's almost useless. *squint* That picture almost looks like a burnt out power regulator...

User avatar
CronoTriggerfan
Moderator
Posts: 4131
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 3:07 pm
Location: University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
Contact:

Post by CronoTriggerfan » Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:28 pm

bicostp wrote:Whoa. Set your camera to its highest resolution, move back, get the board in focus, and take another picture. That one's almost useless. *squint* That picture almost looks like a burnt out power regulator...
...and it also looks like it could be a possible yeast infection.

Learn it, live it, love it.

CTFan
Image

User avatar
dragon
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:45 pm
Contact:

Post by dragon » Wed Aug 29, 2007 4:38 pm

The pics bad because i have dial up and uploading thakes a while.
It works but i want to know what could have happen becaue thn i might stop it happening again.
And it a sm restior.

User avatar
bacteria
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 3984
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:14 am
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Post by bacteria » Thu Aug 30, 2007 1:37 am

You need to tell us what you hooked up to what, what the voltage was, how you provided the power; what went bang; what you get now; good quality pic; and please, please, improve your grammar, only so it is easier to understand what you are trying to convey so we can assist you easier. Ta. Not having a dig, far from it, but give us more info and we might be able to assist you.
Image

User avatar
Kurt_
Portablizer
Posts: 5748
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:32 am
Steam ID: kurbert
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by Kurt_ » Thu Aug 30, 2007 9:13 am

That picture is of the back of the board. The silver thing is a ground strip/screw hole, where the tab of the "screen" portion connects to the ground strip on the "pcb" portion. It appears that underneath, there is a small smt capacitor or resistor that burnt out.

Dragon, if it works, and you LED modded, it's a component that doesn't matter anymore, that was used for the backlight.

Possible causes could be lots of things. You could have shorted two components with each other, applied voltage to the wrong spot, applied ground to the wrong spot (less likely to burn it out, usually this just resets it), applied too much voltage to the right spot, applied too much current to the right spot, etc.
Hey, sup?

User avatar
dragon
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:45 pm
Contact:

Post by dragon » Thu Aug 30, 2007 12:29 pm

Ok I will improve my grammar.
I have not led moded the screen.
I powered it from a 7.5 volt battery.
I used a digital camera to out put the picture.
I have only soldered to the video ground spot after this happened.
About a 1/4 of the screen doesn’t work but it was like this before this happened long before.
It was working for a while before this and it was in the same set up.
The picture is the same quality.

sammy
Posts: 568
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:13 pm

Post by sammy » Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:11 pm

1/4 of the screen does not work? Do you mean like it is letterboxed or is it more like, the bottom half doesn't work or something. Could be a damaged ribbon cable (does the screen use one?).

User avatar
ShockSlayer
Niblet 64
Posts: 5059
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:47 pm
Location: In my inbox.

Post by ShockSlayer » Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:36 pm

I hate that damn psos ribbon cable! The next unit I get, Im glueing it together while it still works!

SS
http://twitter.com/ShockSlayer" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
dragon
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:45 pm
Contact:

Post by dragon » Fri Aug 31, 2007 1:48 pm

The screen is like this.

Code: Select all


..............................................
. this      .                                    
. part     .          screen.                .
. doesnt .
. work    .
.            .                                     
.            .
..............................................

I tried putting pressure on to the ribbon cable slot but it didn’t do any thing.
I think pin is out of place or some thing.

Post Reply