Input S-Video to your PAL psone screen (Images Fixed)

If you're making a portable you probably need something to watch it on. (Unless you want to guess what's happening in the game, but I wouldn't advise that) Anyway, this forum is your "Hacking a pocket TV/screen" one-stop solution. Share your experiences and knowledge here.

Moderator: Moderators

THON
Posts: 214
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 3:50 pm

Post by THON » Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:12 pm

Good choice :shock:

I still don't really understand how you input RGB into an American PSone screen? Do you just hook up the grounds and the Reds Blues and Greens? Or is there more to it than that?

User avatar
Kurt_
Portablizer
Posts: 5748
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:32 am
Steam ID: kurbert
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by Kurt_ » Tue Aug 21, 2007 6:12 pm

You hook up +5V to pin 12, the RGB lines, the C-Sync line, and ground.
Hey, sup?

THON
Posts: 214
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 3:50 pm

Post by THON » Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:39 pm

Where do you get the +5V?

..And the C-Sync off a Genesis :oops:

User avatar
sam_thornley
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 7:32 pm
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Contact:

Post by sam_thornley » Wed Aug 22, 2007 4:56 am

You can get 5v from the 7805 on the PSone screen its self. See the sticky:

http://benheck.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=2278

As for getting csync from the Genesis, well it varies from each model. The pinouts are on the big sega info sticky:

http://benheck.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=7009
Image

THON
Posts: 214
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 3:50 pm

Post by THON » Wed Aug 22, 2007 1:12 pm

I see. So would this work?

Image

It's of course not exactly to scale. Info taken from here.

User avatar
sam_thornley
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 7:32 pm
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Contact:

Post by sam_thornley » Wed Aug 22, 2007 5:31 pm

Yeah, that would work but geny 3's don't have RGB support by default. There is a mod to enable it though :D
http://www.gamesx.com/rgbadd/genesis3.htm

You may have to add 220uf caps on each of the RGB lines or the picture will apear blurry or too "soft".

Also on the psone screen remeber to take 5v from the 7805 reg and conect it to pin 12 to make the screen switch into RGB mode.
Image

THON
Posts: 214
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 3:50 pm

Post by THON » Wed Aug 22, 2007 7:32 pm

Thanks for the clarification.

I've read some forum posts on the gamesx forums, and it turns out people have add mixed experiences with the Genesis 3 and RGB. People say that it outputs RGB natively with no trouble, so I think I may as well go that route and if that fails add in the caps later.

So the only thing missing from my diagram would be a wire going from the first pin of the 7805 to pin 12 on the PSone screen?

By the way, I really like your Avatar. Maiden FTW.

User avatar
sam_thornley
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 7:32 pm
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Contact:

Post by sam_thornley » Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:47 am

Yeah, Just wire up the genesis to the screen without the caps first to see if you can get a picture. :wink:

So all thats missing from your diagram is the wire the goes from the 5v out of the 7805 to pin 12. I would recomend to be on the safe side, would be to use the 5v out from the genesis av port and wire that up to pin 12 to enable RGB Mode. 8) That way you don't have to touch anything else on the psone screen or just incase you wired up pin 12 to the wrong side of the 7805 and sent 7.5v to pin 12 insted of 5v.

Cool you like my avitar! Eddie!
Image

THON
Posts: 214
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 3:50 pm

Post by THON » Fri Aug 24, 2007 3:43 pm

Awesome, thanks for all your help!

Great idea with the Genesis, too 8) . I'll definitely try that out.

User avatar
bacteria
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 3984
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:14 am
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Post by bacteria » Mon Nov 19, 2007 5:36 am

Just used this mod on my GP2x mod as it outputs s-video. Thread is in "Handheld Hacking" section. I have given you credit for your excellent work for that part of my project.

Just to let you know I appreciate your work!! Thanks.
Image

User avatar
segasonicfan
Moderator
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 3:57 am

Post by segasonicfan » Thu Nov 22, 2007 9:00 pm

Great post/info that has been stickified! I only worked on this mod with NTSC screens so it is entirely possible that chip makes the difference.

User avatar
bacteria
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 3984
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:14 am
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Post by bacteria » Mon Dec 17, 2007 1:01 am

Well, it works!

Great, nice to see it has been made a sticky. Am I the only person who benefited from his work??
Image

User avatar
Kyo
Senior Member
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 11:59 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Kyo » Mon Dec 17, 2007 10:48 am

I might use it if I ever get an original PSOne screen

User avatar
bacteria
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 3984
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:14 am
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Post by bacteria » Mon Dec 17, 2007 2:44 pm

Really? They are always about on e-bay. I have 5 of them (3 spare for further projects). My GP2x project is probably the only one I can think of that needs s-video though.
Image

User avatar
HazmatB
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 6:23 pm

Post by HazmatB » Mon Dec 17, 2007 3:09 pm

I'm in Kyo's boat, I can only find them on ebay in the states, which adds almost 15 bucks in shipping. So I have to be patient, snoop for deals.

Post Reply