HELP I stupidly killed my psone screen ...

If you're making a portable you probably need something to watch it on. (Unless you want to guess what's happening in the game, but I wouldn't advise that) Anyway, this forum is your "Hacking a pocket TV/screen" one-stop solution. Share your experiences and knowledge here.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
-=FamilyGuy=-
Posts: 159
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:19 am

HELP I stupidly killed my psone screen ...

Post by -=FamilyGuy=- » Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:25 am

Hi, I'm new here but i've done a lot of reading on this forum...
I was about to start my first portable, and I decided to test out my newly bought psone screen, but, since I don't have any 7.5 volt wall plug, I've connected it to a 7,2 volts Li-On battery from my sony camcorder ...

It worked fine the first time but I didn't put any video source, so I decided to try it with a video source a second time ...

But the second time I think I've inverted the + and the - ...

Well ... you can guess what hapened: nothing ...

And now it's not working no matter what I do, neither the screen or the speaker ...

Do any of you know how to fix this ? I hope it's simply a fuse or something ...


Thanks you for your help !

ps: If my english is bad, sorry.

-=FamilyGuy=-

-=FamilyGuy=-
Posts: 159
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:19 am

Post by -=FamilyGuy=- » Thu Mar 22, 2007 1:07 pm

Sorry for this double post, I just read back ben's book to see that I might try to bypass PS1 fuse !! Happy me: it works ! I'll not mess with + and - anymore ... ! :P

But I still have one problem ...

I can't get the screen to display the image i'm sending it ...

I use a RCA (yellows red white cable) to mini jack plug and simply plug it behind it, then power it up and nothing shows ...

At least now I can see a backlighted black screen instead of a light paperweight ...

If anyone can help ...

User avatar
CronoTriggerfan
Moderator
Posts: 4131
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 3:07 pm
Location: University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
Contact:

Post by CronoTriggerfan » Thu Mar 22, 2007 2:00 pm

So you soldered your A/V in to the small jacks to the small tabs on the back, right? Try soldering them to the plug on the front instead, the pinouts for how to do so are in the sticky.

CTFan
Image

-=FamilyGuy=-
Posts: 159
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:19 am

Post by -=FamilyGuy=- » Thu Mar 22, 2007 7:55 pm

Well I didn't soldered anything, I just plugged a audio/video mini jack to it, But I think that the problem is that this cable got something that looks like 120uf capacitor in it because it come from a mini dvd player and that the compagny that made it wished to save space in the dvd player ... I,ma try it with a camcorder cable instead soon .


THank you for the help anyway !

User avatar
CronoTriggerfan
Moderator
Posts: 4131
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 3:07 pm
Location: University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
Contact:

Post by CronoTriggerfan » Thu Mar 22, 2007 9:43 pm

-=FamilyGuy=- wrote:Well I didn't soldered anything, I just plugged a audio/video mini jack to it, But I think that the problem is that this cable got something that looks like 120uf capacitor in it because it come from a mini dvd player and that the compagny that made it wished to save space in the dvd player ... I,ma try it with a camcorder cable instead soon .


THank you for the help anyway !
Well if you haven't soldered it directly to the board yet, why not just try that? :?

CTFan
Image

csurban
Portablizer
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2006 11:10 pm
Location: The Sonoran Desert
Contact:

Post by csurban » Fri Mar 23, 2007 10:25 am

If the PSOne screen's backlight comes on, that means it is receiving some sort of signal. try it with another cable.
nope... can't think of anything I could possibly want to put in my Signature Block...

User avatar
Mario
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 7:20 pm
Location: Sunny California

Post by Mario » Fri Mar 23, 2007 2:55 pm

Can you post a picture of the fuse and how to bypass it? I have the same screen and I accidentally hooked the power up backwards and it doesnt work anymore...

User avatar
ShockSlayer
Niblet 64
Posts: 5059
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:47 pm
Location: In my inbox.

Post by ShockSlayer » Fri Mar 23, 2007 3:34 pm

Mario wrote:Can you post a picture of the fuse and how to bypass it? I have the same screen and I accidentally hooked the power up backwards and it doesnt work anymore...
Image

:D

SS
http://twitter.com/ShockSlayer" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

-=FamilyGuy=-
Posts: 159
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:19 am

Post by -=FamilyGuy=- » Sun Mar 25, 2007 9:26 pm

News: I just soldered my audio and video input to the pins and it worked like a charm. thank you for your help.

PS: I didn't had to bridge the 3 Headphones points ...


Thank you

-=FamilyGuy=-

User avatar
Mario
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 7:20 pm
Location: Sunny California

Post by Mario » Mon Mar 26, 2007 1:14 pm

ShockSlayer wrote:
Mario wrote:Can you post a picture of the fuse and how to bypass it? I have the same screen and I accidentally hooked the power up backwards and it doesnt work anymore...
Image

:D

SS
Thanks! :D

User avatar
Mario
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 7:20 pm
Location: Sunny California

Post by Mario » Tue Mar 27, 2007 11:38 am

ShockSlayer wrote:
Mario wrote:Can you post a picture of the fuse and how to bypass it? I have the same screen and I accidentally hooked the power up backwards and it doesnt work anymore...
Image

:D

SS
So, I just connect the ends of the component together and my screen will work?
Image

User avatar
lifeisbetterwithketchup
Senior Member
Posts: 2180
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:08 pm
Steam ID: lifeisbetterwithketchup
Location: Illinois. Whee.
Contact:

Post by lifeisbetterwithketchup » Tue Mar 27, 2007 2:12 pm

Mario wrote:
ShockSlayer wrote:
Mario wrote:Can you post a picture of the fuse and how to bypass it? I have the same screen and I accidentally hooked the power up backwards and it doesnt work anymore...
Image

:D

SS
So, I just connect the ends of the component together and my screen will work?
Probably. It's just an easily-blown fuse.
Rekarp wrote:
mako321 wrote:What makes you head ninja, anyways? :wink:
Cause I am Abe F#!@ing Lincoln. :mrgreen:

User avatar
CronoTriggerfan
Moderator
Posts: 4131
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 3:07 pm
Location: University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
Contact:

Post by CronoTriggerfan » Tue Mar 27, 2007 2:12 pm

-=FamilyGuy=- wrote:News: I just soldered my audio and video input to the pins and it worked like a charm. thank you for your help.

PS: I didn't had to bridge the 3 Headphones points ...


Thank you

-=FamilyGuy=-
Bridging the headphone points gets you speaker audio, it has nothing to do with the video.

CTFan
Image

User avatar
Mario
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 7:20 pm
Location: Sunny California

Post by Mario » Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:11 am

lifeisbetterwithketchup said;
Probably. It's just an easily-blown fuse.
Cool, thanks.
Image

-=FamilyGuy=-
Posts: 159
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:19 am

Post by -=FamilyGuy=- » Sat Mar 31, 2007 9:40 pm

CronoTriggerfan wrote:
-=FamilyGuy=- wrote:News: I just soldered my audio and video input to the pins and it worked like a charm. thank you for your help.

PS: I didn't had to bridge the 3 Headphones points ...


Thank you

-=FamilyGuy=-
Bridging the headphone points gets you speaker audio, it has nothing to do with the video.

CTFan
I meant that I didn't bridge the 3 points and that I got audio form the psone speakers ...

Post Reply