Psone Screen, No sound - SOLVED

If you're making a portable you probably need something to watch it on. (Unless you want to guess what's happening in the game, but I wouldn't advise that) Anyway, this forum is your "Hacking a pocket TV/screen" one-stop solution. Share your experiences and knowledge here.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
shmagoogin77
Portablizer
Posts: 1469
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 6:10 pm
Location: My desk
Contact:

Post by shmagoogin77 » Sun Mar 04, 2007 8:53 pm

no kurt is definitely right you have to bridge those three conections

User avatar
Retromaster
Portablizer
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: florida- the land of old people
Contact:

Post by Retromaster » Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:02 pm

I know. I dont like being told to shut up.
http://portableuniverse.forumcircle.com/index.php? http://mtac.profusehost.net/ Image SAY ALLO TO MY LITTLE FRIEND!!!i finally used google!!

User avatar
gamefreak11
Portablizer
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:23 pm

Post by gamefreak11 » Sun Mar 04, 2007 10:04 pm

Hmm..still does not work. I'll check over my wiring tomorrow.

User avatar
Kurt_
Portablizer
Posts: 5748
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:32 am
Steam ID: kurbert
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by Kurt_ » Mon Mar 05, 2007 6:51 am

There is a difference in where you hook up the audio based on what kind of video is being used. I don't quite remember what pins are for composite vs. RGB, but I'm sure someone will post something here about that. It may be in the sticky.
Hey, sup?

User avatar
gamefreak11
Portablizer
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:23 pm

Post by gamefreak11 » Mon Mar 05, 2007 3:43 pm

I'm pretty sure I'm using composite.

Rellizate
Posts: 732
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 11:00 am

Post by Rellizate » Mon Mar 05, 2007 3:46 pm

Well how did you hook up the video? Did you just take a wire straight from the motherboard to the screen, or did you do a load of crap with resistors and stuff?
:p

jeroen
Senior Member
Posts: 1573
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 7:42 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by jeroen » Mon Mar 05, 2007 3:48 pm

You could...........ditch the (screen) speakers and make your own audio amp and hook that up to the audio.

User avatar
Kurt_
Portablizer
Posts: 5748
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:32 am
Steam ID: kurbert
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by Kurt_ » Mon Mar 05, 2007 4:03 pm

That's what I ended up doing. Takes up a bit of space, but it can go louder.

http://benheck.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php? ... sound+pins

Try that thread.
Hey, sup?

User avatar
gamefreak11
Portablizer
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:23 pm

Post by gamefreak11 » Mon Mar 05, 2007 4:07 pm

Rellizate wrote:Well how did you hook up the video? Did you just take a wire straight from the motherboard to the screen, or did you do a load of crap with resistors and stuff?
:p
Yeah, I simply connected the three wires from the psone screen.
You could...........ditch the (screen) speakers and make your own audio amp and hook that up to the audio.
Hmm, would it fix the problem, or just make the sound louder?

Rellizate
Posts: 732
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 11:00 am

Post by Rellizate » Mon Mar 05, 2007 4:11 pm

Ok, then you are using composite video. Make sure you did bridge the headphone pins though.

User avatar
gamefreak11
Portablizer
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:23 pm

Post by gamefreak11 » Mon Mar 05, 2007 4:15 pm

Yep, I did.
Hmm, it appears that thread is unanswered.

I also heard gamelver shorted a resistor. Do any of you know which one it was?

User avatar
Kurt_
Portablizer
Posts: 5748
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:32 am
Steam ID: kurbert
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by Kurt_ » Mon Mar 05, 2007 4:20 pm

It's on the bottom right of the board. Follow the sound pin to the first resistor on the back and that's the one. Didn't help me though.
Hey, sup?

User avatar
gamefreak11
Portablizer
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:23 pm

Post by gamefreak11 » Mon Mar 05, 2007 4:23 pm

ooo...I soldered the wrong three pins! :lol:

User avatar
Kurt_
Portablizer
Posts: 5748
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:32 am
Steam ID: kurbert
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by Kurt_ » Mon Mar 05, 2007 4:24 pm

I'm talking about the resistor to short. You shorted the wrong headphone pins?

HP_L, HP_R, and HPS?
Hey, sup?

User avatar
ShockSlayer
Niblet 64
Posts: 5059
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:47 pm
Location: In my inbox.

Post by ShockSlayer » Mon Mar 05, 2007 4:25 pm

gamefreak11 wrote:ooo...I soldered the wrong three pins! :lol:
Ouch!

SS
http://twitter.com/ShockSlayer" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Post Reply