Psone Screen, No sound - SOLVED

If you're making a portable you probably need something to watch it on. (Unless you want to guess what's happening in the game, but I wouldn't advise that) Anyway, this forum is your "Hacking a pocket TV/screen" one-stop solution. Share your experiences and knowledge here.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
gamefreak11
Portablizer
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:23 pm

Psone Screen, No sound - SOLVED

Post by gamefreak11 » Sun Mar 04, 2007 5:31 pm

Well, I started up my psone portable again, and so far everything has gone better then before. I've got it all wired up and the video works, but the audio does not. (Yes the volume is up. :lol:)
I heard this has something to do with the headphone jack.

Image

I saw this diagram, but I'm not sure what to do.

Do those 3 wires connect straight to the psone mobo? If I do that, do I ignore the plug in front?

Thanks.
Last edited by gamefreak11 on Mon Mar 05, 2007 11:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Retromaster
Portablizer
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: florida- the land of old people
Contact:

Post by Retromaster » Sun Mar 04, 2007 5:54 pm

no sound at all?

do you have the correct polarity?

it is possible some connections near the spaeker plugs came loose.

maybe a fuse is blown.
http://portableuniverse.forumcircle.com/index.php? http://mtac.profusehost.net/ Image SAY ALLO TO MY LITTLE FRIEND!!!i finally used google!!

User avatar
gamefreak11
Portablizer
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:23 pm

Post by gamefreak11 » Sun Mar 04, 2007 6:10 pm

No sound whatsoever. Everything seems correct.

How would I check for a blown fuse?

User avatar
Retromaster
Portablizer
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: florida- the land of old people
Contact:

Post by Retromaster » Sun Mar 04, 2007 6:13 pm

use a multimeter. you can get one at radioshack.
http://portableuniverse.forumcircle.com/index.php? http://mtac.profusehost.net/ Image SAY ALLO TO MY LITTLE FRIEND!!!i finally used google!!

User avatar
Kurt_
Portablizer
Posts: 5748
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:32 am
Steam ID: kurbert
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by Kurt_ » Sun Mar 04, 2007 6:48 pm

Don't listen to Retro. There is no fuse for the audio.

First off, that's the wrong picture to be looking at. That's how you hook up the audio and video to your system. If you removed the headphone jack, you will need to short HP_R, HPS, and HP_L, the three headphone wires. If you do not, the screen will assume the headphones are in and stop the sound signal to the speakers.
Hey, sup?

User avatar
gamefreak11
Portablizer
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:23 pm

Post by gamefreak11 » Sun Mar 04, 2007 7:00 pm

Thank you very much. :)

User avatar
Retromaster
Portablizer
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: florida- the land of old people
Contact:

Post by Retromaster » Sun Mar 04, 2007 7:07 pm

Don't listen to Retro. There is no fuse for the audio.
oh god....here we go AGAIN....

you may have wired the headphone jack wrong.

get bens book, "hacking video game consoles."
http://portableuniverse.forumcircle.com/index.php? http://mtac.profusehost.net/ Image SAY ALLO TO MY LITTLE FRIEND!!!i finally used google!!

User avatar
Retromaster
Portablizer
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: florida- the land of old people
Contact:

Post by Retromaster » Sun Mar 04, 2007 7:08 pm

http://portableuniverse.forumcircle.com/index.php? http://mtac.profusehost.net/ Image SAY ALLO TO MY LITTLE FRIEND!!!i finally used google!!

User avatar
gamefreak11
Portablizer
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:23 pm

Post by gamefreak11 » Sun Mar 04, 2007 7:09 pm

Already have it, and I don't really have a need for a headphone jack.

User avatar
Retromaster
Portablizer
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: florida- the land of old people
Contact:

Post by Retromaster » Sun Mar 04, 2007 7:09 pm

well looks like you may have wrong polarity.

are you using the original speakers?
http://portableuniverse.forumcircle.com/index.php? http://mtac.profusehost.net/ Image SAY ALLO TO MY LITTLE FRIEND!!!i finally used google!!

User avatar
gamefreak11
Portablizer
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:23 pm

Post by gamefreak11 » Sun Mar 04, 2007 7:19 pm

Yes, I haven't done anything to them.
Don't worry about it, I'll just try what Kurt_ told me. It'll hopefully work then.

Harshboy
Portablizer
Posts: 3610
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 3:44 pm

Post by Harshboy » Sun Mar 04, 2007 7:54 pm

Retromaster wrote:well looks like you may have wrong polarity.

are you using the original speakers?
STFU!!! You don't know what you're talking about. Listen to kurt :wink:

User avatar
Retromaster
Portablizer
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: florida- the land of old people
Contact:

Post by Retromaster » Sun Mar 04, 2007 8:03 pm

dont start a flamewar.


I know plenty of the ps1 screen.

polarity can make a difference.
Last edited by Retromaster on Sun Mar 04, 2007 8:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://portableuniverse.forumcircle.com/index.php? http://mtac.profusehost.net/ Image SAY ALLO TO MY LITTLE FRIEND!!!i finally used google!!

Harshboy
Portablizer
Posts: 3610
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 3:44 pm

Post by Harshboy » Sun Mar 04, 2007 8:10 pm

I believe you started a flamewar by posting a comeback :wink: Without the comeback, it was merly a warning

User avatar
Retromaster
Portablizer
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: florida- the land of old people
Contact:

Post by Retromaster » Sun Mar 04, 2007 8:14 pm

what did I just say? no flaming.
http://portableuniverse.forumcircle.com/index.php? http://mtac.profusehost.net/ Image SAY ALLO TO MY LITTLE FRIEND!!!i finally used google!!

Post Reply