Can an xbox be used in a car?

Includes PS2, Xbox 1, GameCube (but not the Phantom Game Console)

Moderator: Moderators

yalborap
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 5:59 pm
Contact:

Can an xbox be used in a car?

Post by yalborap » Sun Oct 10, 2004 12:29 am

Okay folks, I'm thinking of putting an xbox into a car. As such, I must consider power. if I hook it up to a power inverter, will it run? Will it need some form of rechargable battery for extra power when booting up? Will my questions ever be answered? TUNE IN WHEN SOMEBODY REPLIES TO FIND OUT!

User avatar
stereth
Posts: 127
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:55 am
Location: WI
Contact:

Post by stereth » Sun Oct 10, 2004 2:19 am


User avatar
dragonhead
Posts: 952
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:28 pm
Location: NH, USA
Contact:

Post by dragonhead » Sun Oct 10, 2004 8:41 pm

why dont you ask the thousands who have already done it? :wink:

SuperChicken
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 12:16 pm
Location: Canada, Yes Canada!
Contact:

Post by SuperChicken » Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:10 am

Easily. Here's what I did. Being the cheap inexpensive guy that i am, I bought 2 of those controllers with the screens built in (for PS2) then I bought a power adapter

(140 watts) (I have the wattage listing somewhere)

Anyway i plug it in and hide it under the seat along with my original PS the Powah Adapter has 2 outlets so i split one and run the two little screens off it and then the other powers the PS.

I also checked and it can run both screens and PS2 for when I get PS3 I'll put PS2 in the car :D
I loef pie and cheese.
PSX is up and running in not the Civic but Acura
(for now)

yalborap
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 5:59 pm
Contact:

Post by yalborap » Tue Oct 12, 2004 8:15 pm

Well, now all I need is the interter, something to get my screen off of my super nintendo(it's comtact cemented on.), and a way to attach it non-permanently......

User avatar
xxxeagle
Posts: 951
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: In my house on my parents new computer. :)
Contact:

Post by xxxeagle » Sat Oct 16, 2004 7:38 pm


kananga

xbox

Post by kananga » Sun Oct 31, 2004 11:50 am

you can use a xbox portable in your car all you have to do is buy a xbox screen for it and it will go portable anywhere for about 2 hours it is about 200$ i think.

JackFrost22
Sir Posts-alot
Posts: 4186
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 4:10 pm

Post by JackFrost22 » Sun Oct 31, 2004 12:47 pm

no you also have to power the xbox. Regester

User avatar
Gamelver
Moderator
Posts: 3347
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: in my basement, to forever work on portables ;)
Contact:

Post by Gamelver » Sun Oct 31, 2004 2:15 pm

he IS registered.......

I was actually thinking about doing something like this, making the Xbox semi-portable. gannon mentioned a dc-dc converter that takes 11-30 volts and converts it into +3.3v, +12v. -12v. +5v, and -5v. I think it has all the voltages that the Xbox needs. anyways I was thinking about using that for the Xbox power supply and then I could run it off batteries pretty easily!!!! or a car's 12v output......
Without games my life would have no meaning.
Well, I guess it would, but it would be a lot less fun!!!!!!!

Image

JackFrost22
Sir Posts-alot
Posts: 4186
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 4:10 pm

Post by JackFrost22 » Sun Oct 31, 2004 2:18 pm

The xbox doesnt use 3.3v i thought.

User avatar
Gamelver
Moderator
Posts: 3347
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: in my basement, to forever work on portables ;)
Contact:

Post by Gamelver » Sun Oct 31, 2004 2:22 pm

on PoD I think it did.....well whenever I feel like trying that mod (which won't be soon, I need money for the GCp) I'll check the voltages.
Without games my life would have no meaning.
Well, I guess it would, but it would be a lot less fun!!!!!!!

Image

JackFrost22
Sir Posts-alot
Posts: 4186
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 4:10 pm

Post by JackFrost22 » Sun Oct 31, 2004 2:23 pm

Thanks in Advance.

User avatar
SpongeBuell
Senior Member
Posts: 5190
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 10:52 am
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Post by SpongeBuell » Sun Oct 31, 2004 3:50 pm

Yeah, I said it used 3.3v since we assumed it used a ATX power supply
Life of Brian wrote:
RYW wrote:RYW:

Rare
Yellow
Weasel
I'll be honest with you - I would have never guessed that.

JackFrost22
Sir Posts-alot
Posts: 4186
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 4:10 pm

Post by JackFrost22 » Sun Oct 31, 2004 3:52 pm

But somebody on the forum checked it

User avatar
SpongeBuell
Senior Member
Posts: 5190
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 10:52 am
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Post by SpongeBuell » Sun Oct 31, 2004 3:56 pm

I have seen inside of an xbox, and I saw what looks exactly like a ATX power plug (P1)
Life of Brian wrote:
RYW wrote:RYW:

Rare
Yellow
Weasel
I'll be honest with you - I would have never guessed that.

Post Reply