Gamecube video mods+GC info

Includes PS2, Xbox 1, GameCube (but not the Phantom Game Console)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
zenloc
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 2:16 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Post by zenloc » Fri Jul 22, 2005 6:26 pm

http://www.gamesx.com/misctech/lm1881.htm

this site tells me how to change from a normal composite to a c sync but i don't understand what all the other connections are and where i have to connect the chip to

could someone please help me do that mod on a gamecube for a psone screen??

User avatar
nos_slived
Higher Idiot
Posts: 3476
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Contact:

Post by nos_slived » Fri Jul 22, 2005 7:11 pm

Pins 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are obvious. Pin 3 isn't needed unless you need V SYNC, so that can be tied to ground. I'm almost positive that pins 5 and 6 can also be tied to ground(somebody please confirm). You can mount it on the side of the case, a separate PCB, or anything else, as long as it's non-conductive.
Image

User avatar
zenloc
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 2:16 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Post by zenloc » Fri Jul 22, 2005 8:00 pm

oke pin 1,2 i get pin 3 to ground oke got that but what do pin 4, 6 and 8 do ??

8 is 5-12 v but do i have to but 12 volts on it? if so can i use the gamecubes power

and 6 what is r set???
and where does pin 4 go or is that the ground

User avatar
usbcd36
Posts: 1293
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Inside Samus's arm cannon [gulp]___ Gender: Male

Post by usbcd36 » Fri Jul 22, 2005 8:17 pm

Here is a connection diagram:

Image

Connect wires along all the black lines, do not connect any intersections. Connect wires along the white lines as well, and tie all grounds together somewhere.

User avatar
zenloc
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 2:16 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Post by zenloc » Sun Jul 24, 2005 5:04 pm

i followd that diagram and it didn't work??

i got eveything and it didn't work aaaaaaah why dammit
why any other sugestions

User avatar
nos_slived
Higher Idiot
Posts: 3476
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Contact:

Post by nos_slived » Sun Jul 24, 2005 6:49 pm

Take a picture of how you set it up.
Image

User avatar
zenloc
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 2:16 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Post by zenloc » Mon Jul 25, 2005 5:47 am

see that diagram that's two posts up that's the way I've put it

would it matter which way you but the risistor or capacitor??

i have 2 chip to be sure that it works but the problem is i don't know what side is which so how am i sopposded to know where connection 1 is so what i did is make to the same but one with the chip the other way round

so i have two of them and both don't work?????

and that diagram how doe sthe chiop need to be on it's back with pins up or with pins on the ground??

User avatar
usbcd36
Posts: 1293
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Inside Samus's arm cannon [gulp]___ Gender: Male

Post by usbcd36 » Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:40 pm

Ok, I made this diagram to have the outputs that you see be the other leads of the capacitors. If this doesn't work for you, I can't help you because I don't understand PAL well and could use some RGB devices in my house to monkey around with anyway. If it doesn't work, I can't really help you.

Oh, and the chip is in the same position as it is on the website that explains the extraction circuit. Standing on the ground with the pins like legs, pin 1 should be marked by a notch or something.

Resistors and ceramic capacitors are reversable, they don't have to be put in a certain way to work.

User avatar
Turbo Tax 1.0
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 4772
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Delaware, no sales tax
Contact:

Post by Turbo Tax 1.0 » Thu Sep 29, 2005 4:35 pm

Gamelver wrote:
before this, I wrote:All right here's a pinout of the power regulator voltages:

first of all here's how the power regulator board looks:

Image
all you really have to worry about are pins 12-22. pin 13 is 3.4v, pins 16-18 are 1.9v, pin 21 is 12v, and pin 22 is 5v. also you have to make sure you have ground.
here's the pins on the GC ( that box with the lines is the heatsink....I suck at paint):

Image
pins 2 and 13 need 3.4v, pins 6,7,16,17,18,19 need 1.9v, pin 10 needs 12v, and pins 11 and 22 need 5v. just make sure that the pins that I've grouped together, like 6, 7, 16, 17, 18, 19 are connected together. they should be, though.

and that's how you only need 5 wires to attach the gc power regulator board to the GC board!!!!!!!!!!!!! that "bit of bad news" was that a gc regulator had fried and so I ordered another one....

* oh yeah if you turn on your GC and you don't get any sound, try getting the 12v not from the pin on the GC power regulator, but directly from the actual GC ac adapter. I also tried that from the 14.8v li-poly battery pack and it worked fine.
today I got finished with the contoller wiring :D !!!!!!!!!!! finally!!!!!!! It was really hard to solder the wires to the controller chip, but I decided to just scrape off the white crap off the board, find out which copper traces connected to the pins I needed, and soldered to those instead. only took me 45 minutes, or so. sometime today or tommorow I'll completely finish all the wiring and on monday I hope to start working on the case. By the end of next week I hope to get the case built, and then I'll just put everything in there the week after that. and then....it shall be finished.......*goes off to dream about finishing the GCp*.......
when life gives you lemons make flux
Image
snesp mk4

User avatar
usbcd36
Posts: 1293
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Inside Samus's arm cannon [gulp]___ Gender: Male

Post by usbcd36 » Thu Sep 29, 2005 7:05 pm

What?

User avatar
Turbo Tax 1.0
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 4772
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Delaware, no sales tax
Contact:

Post by Turbo Tax 1.0 » Thu Sep 29, 2005 7:10 pm

its an info thread this is GC info on how to connect the PSU easier, get it :wink:
when life gives you lemons make flux
Image
snesp mk4

User avatar
Gamelver
Moderator
Posts: 3347
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: in my basement, to forever work on portables ;)
Contact:

Post by Gamelver » Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:39 pm

no need for that....already got the whole GC info thread in the first post ;)...
Without games my life would have no meaning.
Well, I guess it would, but it would be a lot less fun!!!!!!!

Image

Nonsense Man
Posts: 896
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 10:03 am
Location: somewhere
Contact:

Post by Nonsense Man » Sat Feb 25, 2006 7:33 am

how many volts does the gamecube need

Harshboy
Portablizer
Posts: 3610
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 3:44 pm

Post by Harshboy » Sat Feb 25, 2006 3:19 pm

12......why did you ask in this thread!? This is nonsense....wait.... :lol:

User avatar
Zzebotes13
Posts: 330
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 3:27 pm
Location: Somewhere in the big Apple
Contact:

Post by Zzebotes13 » Sat Feb 25, 2006 3:28 pm

yeah, harshboy's right
I will always put 8) at the end of my posts
Image

Post Reply