Gamecube video mods+GC info

Includes PS2, Xbox 1, GameCube (but not the Phantom Game Console)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Gamelver
Moderator
Posts: 3347
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: in my basement, to forever work on portables ;)
Contact:

Gamecube video mods+GC info

Post by Gamelver » Thu Jul 21, 2005 5:30 pm

As is turns out, the Gamecube can in fact output an RGB signal, perfect for our favorite portablizing screen :D (the psone screen)!!!! Also, you can get VGA from the GC if you want :).

First of all, you're gonna need a component cable for the GC. Here's a place where you can get one :).

Once you've got your component cable, then open it up and start modding!!!!...according to these guides, of course ;)...
SNES/N64/GC pinout (please note that the RGB doesn't work on the GC, either)
S/PDIF mod
RGB/VGA mod
more on RGB mod (fourth post down)
how to get c-sync out of composite
usbcd36 wrote:Here is a connection diagram:

Image

Connect wires along all the black lines, do not connect any intersections. Connect wires along the white lines as well, and tie all grounds together somewhere.
thanks usbcd36 for originally posting these :)!!

oh yeah, and when I have time, I'll probably add some video mods for the PS2/XBOX, too :)...right now, I've got more homework :roll:...

also, I'll add all I know about the GC ;)....

Edit: I'm gonna put up the thread with all my "useful" GCp posts...enjoy :)!

GCp info
GC mA measurements!
NOTE: the gamecube does NOT require 12v on the 12v line, according to shockslayer it will work with as little as 5v!
Last edited by Gamelver on Fri May 25, 2007 12:42 am, edited 6 times in total.
Without games my life would have no meaning.
Well, I guess it would, but it would be a lot less fun!!!!!!!

Image

User avatar
Gamelver
Moderator
Posts: 3347
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: in my basement, to forever work on portables ;)
Contact:

Post by Gamelver » Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:02 pm

HA!!....first thread that I've.....Un-openized :P

Edit: ah hell, I'll openize it :-P....I'm just slightly bored tonight :-P
Without games my life would have no meaning.
Well, I guess it would, but it would be a lot less fun!!!!!!!

Image

User avatar
madc0w
Senior Member
Posts: 1912
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 7:40 pm
Location: In the ghetto of Larchmont! A HALF-A-MIL HOUSE IS GANGSER!
Contact:

Post by madc0w » Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:18 pm

join the club gamelver
Last edited by madc0w on Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kayleigh57020 wrote: "button" is insanity.
Scientology
Dangerous Cult

User avatar
Turbo Tax 1.0
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 4772
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Delaware, no sales tax
Contact:

Post by Turbo Tax 1.0 » Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:18 pm

every mini mod should put there cheesy version of closerized in their sig :lol:
when life gives you lemons make flux
Image
snesp mk4

User avatar
*o*
Senior Member
Posts: 3765
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:40 pm
Location: sydney, australia

Post by *o* » Fri Jul 22, 2005 1:53 am

lol thats a good idea!
Penn & Teller wrote:It's BULLS#%@

User avatar
nos_slived
Higher Idiot
Posts: 3476
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Contact:

Post by nos_slived » Fri Jul 22, 2005 2:01 am

I call "-imatized". As in "closimatized" and "movimatized".
Image

User avatar
*o*
Senior Member
Posts: 3765
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:40 pm
Location: sydney, australia

Post by *o* » Fri Jul 22, 2005 2:03 am

nice cheap ripoff!
Penn & Teller wrote:It's BULLS#%@

User avatar
zenloc
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 2:16 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Post by zenloc » Fri Jul 22, 2005 5:15 am

he gamelever maby you could help me with something i have a pal gamecube and a pal psone screen the outputs on the gamecube are red , green, blue, composite, ground another ground, left audio, right audio

but no c sync

ther rest of the pinouts is not of intrest i know that pal gamecube send out rgb but somehow i connected the wires toghter from the psone screena nd the gamecube and got a blackscreen??

could you tell me what i need to do to make composite to c syne so that the rgb will work or maby the problem is somthing else

User avatar
Gamelver
Moderator
Posts: 3347
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: in my basement, to forever work on portables ;)
Contact:

Post by Gamelver » Fri Jul 22, 2005 7:50 am

hmmm...are you using the D-av method to get rgb?
Without games my life would have no meaning.
Well, I guess it would, but it would be a lot less fun!!!!!!!

Image

User avatar
zenloc
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 2:16 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Post by zenloc » Fri Jul 22, 2005 11:20 am

so today i bought a pal rgb scart cable for the gamecube and came to this conclusion:

the european scart doesn't have any chip inside of it only the 220 uF capacitors 4 of them

so what i did now is connect the lines what i did before but put new solder on them and connect 4 220uF capacitors in all 4 line red blue green and composite( might be c sync i don't really know)

and now i get a blue screen when i connect it to the psone screen

first it was black didn't show anything and now it's blue

what's wrong now??

and gamelever i haven't done any mod to get rgb because my gamecube send out rgb so my pinouts send out red blue green and composite

User avatar
nos_slived
Higher Idiot
Posts: 3476
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Contact:

Post by nos_slived » Fri Jul 22, 2005 12:17 pm

Image

User avatar
zenloc
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 2:16 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Post by zenloc » Fri Jul 22, 2005 12:43 pm

i know that but isn't it strabge that i buy a original rgb cable and there's only wired in it no chips so that mean when it goed to the tv i get rgb and it works but when i go to the psonescreen it doens't work

anyway i'll try that mod and see what happens but if anybody could explain why the psone screen doens't take the rgb from the gamecube please do

User avatar
nos_slived
Higher Idiot
Posts: 3476
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Contact:

Post by nos_slived » Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:10 pm

You can get C SYNC of the D/A by combining H SYNC and V SYNC. Most PAL TVs probably don't use C SYNC(direct from the system), so they don't include it in the multi-out. I'd suggest just using the composite to C SYNC adaptor.
Image

User avatar
S q u e e !
Posts: 835
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2005 11:31 am
Location: Lost. Are you my mommy?

Post by S q u e e ! » Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:45 pm

The Gamecube VGA mod wrote:Next, put cable into the tube. If you feel hard to that, remove string and paper like thing which exists inside of mesh part.
Ewww... :P
"I like my coffee like I like my women. In a plastic cup."

~Eddie Izzard

User avatar
*o*
Senior Member
Posts: 3765
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:40 pm
Location: sydney, australia

Post by *o* » Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:50 pm

....uuhhhh :roll:
Penn & Teller wrote:It's BULLS#%@

Post Reply