PS2 fat or slim with HDD - Remove disk drive entirely??

Includes PS2, Xbox 1, GameCube (but not the Phantom Game Console)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
lucidPerspective
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:03 pm

PS2 fat or slim with HDD - Remove disk drive entirely??

Post by lucidPerspective » Tue Mar 29, 2011 6:08 pm

Hey there,

Currently trying to suss out a problem.

So I have a PS2 slim hooked up to a sata HDD with HDConnect.
Also a fat PS2 hooked up to an IDE HDD with the network adapter.

Now the problem is, both these units have faulty disk drives so was going to remove them entirely and ONLY use HDLoader/OpenPS2Loader through the Free MC Boot hack + the HDD. When you disconnect the cd drive entirely from the PS2, for some reason it doesn't register that there's a HDD there. I was just wondering if anyone had figured out how to get around this problem?
Image

Yondaime
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 3:25 pm

Re: PS2 fat or slim with HDD - Remove disk drive entirely??

Post by Yondaime » Thu Mar 31, 2011 4:23 pm

You have to block all the sensors on the motherboard and it will do the trick.

User avatar
lucidPerspective
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:03 pm

Re: PS2 fat or slim with HDD - Remove disk drive entirely??

Post by lucidPerspective » Thu Mar 31, 2011 4:49 pm

I thought the sensors where only on the Slim PS2? that then doesn't explain the fat ones issue
Image

User avatar
hidiosoman
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 8:44 pm

Re: PS2 fat or slim with HDD - Remove disk drive entirely??

Post by hidiosoman » Thu Mar 31, 2011 9:25 pm

Sensors shouldn't matter at all...

I can vouch for USB. I disconnected the DD and OPL boots from USB no problem.

User avatar
lucidPerspective
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:03 pm

Re: PS2 fat or slim with HDD - Remove disk drive entirely??

Post by lucidPerspective » Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:02 pm

Yea I figured sensors wouldn't matter, as that's just to keep the disk spinning when the lids open. But with no disk drive at all seems unnecessary. It's weird, like on the PS2 slim one, it has an LED on the sata adapter board and when I load up HDLoader the LED comes on showing that it's accessing the drive. but then no drive is found. and then on the Fat on, no LED but does the same message as on the Slim, but then the same exact network adapter and hard drive work fine in my other fat ps2 that has the disk drive installed :/
Image

Post Reply