Hackmodford's Gamecube Log

Includes PS2, Xbox 1, GameCube (but not the Phantom Game Console)

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
hackmodford
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 651
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 10:44 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Hackmodford's Gamecube Log

Post by hackmodford » Wed Apr 06, 2011 4:20 pm

Got my adaptor board today...
Image
Looks like a good spot...

Too bad mom planned a little girl sleepover in the basement. LOL had to move my projects out of the way...

Image

Uggghhh :facepalm: horse movies :P


Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

User avatar
unicycler17
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 9:24 pm
PSN Username: unicycler17

Re: Hackmodford's Gamecube Log

Post by unicycler17 » Wed Apr 06, 2011 8:08 pm

That looks really good! I noticed the adapter board that you're using has more soldering pads and a wider ribbon input than the connection needs.... do you just insert the ribbon all the way to on side and then use the solder pads that correspond to the inserted ribbon? Sorry if that question doesn't make any sense.

I might be mistaken and there might actually be the same amount of pads and same width ribbon input... not sure tho
Image

User avatar
hackmodford
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 651
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 10:44 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Hackmodford's Gamecube Log

Post by hackmodford » Thu Apr 07, 2011 7:26 am

As far as I know it's got the same amount of pins as I need.

36pin 0.5mm pitch FFC

As to the pads on the sides of the board it looks like you can solder some surface mounted components or something if you want. I'm not going to use them.

User avatar
hailrazer
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 2764
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: Georgia Sweet Georgia

Re: Hackmodford's Gamecube Log

Post by hailrazer » Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:03 am

Its a 36 pin adapter but the ffc you are attaching is only 32 pins. So you have to slide it to one side or the other and leave 4 pins empty. Take a look at my pics in the Wiikey thread.
My Portable Systems:
Image
-----Genimini---------Darth64---------Dreamtrooper--------Ncube---------Kamikazi64---N64Boy Advance

User avatar
hackmodford
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 651
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 10:44 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Hackmodford's Gamecube Log

Post by hackmodford » Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:16 am

eeek :shock:
Well... I guess more is better than not enough, like you said I can move it to the side :lol:

edit: I can't find the pic your talking about :|

update: I just ordered the regulators from TI (is this even legal :? )

User avatar
hailrazer
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 2764
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: Georgia Sweet Georgia

Re: Hackmodford's Gamecube Log

Post by hailrazer » Thu Apr 07, 2011 2:58 pm

OK I just finished installing the WiiKey Fusion on my ntsc-u dol-cpu-20 Gamecube.

Image

I used Ide wire.

I used the same switch as Ashen :
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index ... Id=2049718" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I used this interface board :
http://www.newhavendisplay.com/index.ph ... ts_id=2476" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Overall it was a pretty simple process. 18 wires from the interface board to the GC.

This is the wires you will be wiring to on the Gamecube board where the dvd connector was:

Image

Ground pin is the one on the far right with the 2 wires connected (one for the switch and one for the ground pins on the Fusion.

Image

Image

On the interface board there are 36 pins on the ffc connector and only 32 pins on the Fusion ffc. So you have to slide the 32 pin ffc from the Fusion to one side or the other leaving 4 empty pins.

Image

You have to bridge pins 2,4,6,8,10,12,14,16,18,20 together and attach them to ground.

Image

Also you will need to hook up the 1.9v on the switch and the 3.3v to the Fusion.
3.3v is on the left and 1.9v on the right in this pic:

Image

Also make sure to upgrade the Fusion's Firmware to 1.5 or you will get header errors.

Overall it wasn't to difficult. And so far it works perfect.

I haven't looked into it but I need to see if I can use smaller iso's. Even with a 16gb Sd card I can't get more than 10 games on it. LOL
My Portable Systems:
Image
-----Genimini---------Darth64---------Dreamtrooper--------Ncube---------Kamikazi64---N64Boy Advance

User avatar
hackmodford
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 651
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 10:44 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Hackmodford's Gamecube Log

Post by hackmodford » Fri Apr 08, 2011 2:34 pm

Thanks for those pics, really helpful.

Now can someone help me get this straight.

What voltages do I need on the cube?

I just need the 1.9V and the 3V line (I don't need 5V because I'm not using DD) and the 12V line can go down to the 3V right?)

User avatar
hidiosoman
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 8:44 pm

Re: Hackmodford's Gamecube Log

Post by hidiosoman » Fri Apr 08, 2011 2:49 pm

Bridge the 5v line to 3.3v for rumble and cut audio line before it hits the internal audio amp and wire it to your own amp as it won't work for anything under 5v.

Or just wire the batteries directly to the 12v line.

User avatar
hackmodford
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 651
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 10:44 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Hackmodford's Gamecube Log

Post by hackmodford » Fri Apr 08, 2011 2:51 pm

I don't care for rumble.
So I do need the 5V line for something?
I thought the 3V line could run on 3.4V and the 5V line would work with slightly less...

User avatar
hackmodford
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 651
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 10:44 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Hackmodford's Gamecube Log

Post by hackmodford » Sun Apr 10, 2011 12:09 pm

Okay Dad had a great way to remove the fins for the heatsink.

First thing you do is grind/cut the fins at the point were the fan ends.
Image
Then you "score" a fin at the base with a knife
Image
Next use a screwdriver to bend the fin
Image
Then score the other side
Image
Image

Bend back and forth to remove

Image

Here's the result
Image
Image
Image

Oh and I wired the GC side disc drive...

Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

User avatar
unicycler17
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 9:24 pm
PSN Username: unicycler17

Re: Hackmodford's Gamecube Log

Post by unicycler17 » Tue Apr 12, 2011 5:43 pm

Hailrazer, those pics were extremely helpful. Do you just update the wiikey after it has been installed?

Hackmodford, clean job with the fins. If you leave the plastic piece of the fan frame that is touching the remaining fans, won't that restrict airflow across the heatsink?
Image

User avatar
hailrazer
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 2764
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: Georgia Sweet Georgia

Re: Hackmodford's Gamecube Log

Post by hailrazer » Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:22 pm

unicycler17 wrote:Hailrazer, those pics were extremely helpful. Do you just update the wiikey after it has been installed?
Yes just put the update on the sd card and hit A and it will update.
My Portable Systems:
Image
-----Genimini---------Darth64---------Dreamtrooper--------Ncube---------Kamikazi64---N64Boy Advance

User avatar
unicycler17
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 9:24 pm
PSN Username: unicycler17

Re: Hackmodford's Gamecube Log

Post by unicycler17 » Tue Apr 12, 2011 7:58 pm

K thanks. Also, Is there a way to make the solder points on the gamecube into holes that you can push the wires through? (like on the connector) Or should I just surface solder them?

Sorry for cluttering up your post, Hackmodford
Image

User avatar
hackmodford
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 651
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 10:44 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Hackmodford's Gamecube Log

Post by hackmodford » Tue Apr 12, 2011 8:54 pm

The points are holes. So if you have a good desoldering iron you
Should be good...

In the case of my fan I haven't mounted it and so I haven't cut that piece out yet

Still waiting for my modchip...

Sent from my HTC Hero CDMA using Tapatalk

User avatar
hackmodford
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 651
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 10:44 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Hackmodford's Gamecube Log

Post by hackmodford » Thu Apr 21, 2011 8:56 am

Well I finally got the modchip. It has the seal so I think it's official... I'm gonna try wiring it up in the next couple days...

Post Reply