Wii DVD/Wiikey Fusion/WODE (sd/hdd loading) on the Gamecube

Includes PS2, Xbox 1, GameCube (but not the Phantom Game Console)

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
unicycler17
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 9:24 pm
PSN Username: unicycler17

Re: Wii DVD/Wiikey Fusion/WODE (sd/hdd loading) on the Gamecube

Post by unicycler17 » Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:32 pm

Can wiikey fusion clones like this be used?
http://www.r4ishop.com/products/Wiikey- ... Clone.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Image

User avatar
hackmodford
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 651
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 10:44 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Wii DVD/Wiikey Fusion/WODE (sd/hdd loading) on the Gamecube

Post by hackmodford » Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:10 am

Since they say it's a 1 to 1 copy I don't see why it wouldn't work.
In any case let us know what you find out :D

User avatar
unicycler17
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 9:24 pm
PSN Username: unicycler17

Re: Wii DVD/Wiikey Fusion/WODE (sd/hdd loading) on the Gamecube

Post by unicycler17 » Wed Apr 13, 2011 7:32 pm

I haven't received it yet, but I already figured out that I won't be able to download updates from the wiikey site, so maybe some kind soul would be willing to send my the update 1.5 once I get it....
Image

User avatar
hackmodford
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 651
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 10:44 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Wii DVD/Wiikey Fusion/WODE (sd/hdd loading) on the Gamecube

Post by hackmodford » Wed Apr 13, 2011 7:41 pm

And if mine is a fake too you'd be kind enough to give it to me? Otherwise I'll give it to you ;)

User avatar
Ashen
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 8:53 am
Location: PA

Re: Wii DVD/Wiikey Fusion/WODE (sd/hdd loading) on the Gamecube

Post by Ashen » Wed Apr 13, 2011 10:21 pm

You'll need to be careful with the clones and official wiikey updates. I'm sure the clones will come with some links to newer firmwares from the cloner company. I don't know much about FPGA's or CPLD's but I'm sure the wiikey team has some kind of protection on thier firmware that wont allow it to install on a clone. Or worse yet brick the clone completely. If you guys still need it though I can upload it to fileserve.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

User avatar
Ashen
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 8:53 am
Location: PA

Re: Wii DVD/Wiikey Fusion/WODE (sd/hdd loading) on the Gamecube

Post by Ashen » Sat May 28, 2011 9:34 am

Seems lots of people are having trouble/issues getting this working properly. I've updated the pinmatch diagram and direct copied my guide from GC-Forever to the first post of this thread here to (hopefully) aid people in getting this working. I will be updating both this guide and my boardcutting guide in the near future with some more useful clearer pics and such. Need to make time to get it all done though.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

User avatar
Ashen
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 8:53 am
Location: PA

Re: Wii DVD/Wiikey Fusion/WODE (sd/hdd loading) on the Gamecube

Post by Ashen » Mon Aug 08, 2011 8:41 am

Revamped the guide a bit. Took out the (now) useless technical info and pinmatch to make it less confusing for people. Let me know what you guys think. Better? Worse? Suggestions/comments?
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

User avatar
Ashen
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 8:53 am
Location: PA

Re: Wii DVD/Wiikey Fusion/WODE (sd/hdd loading) on the Gamecube

Post by Ashen » Thu Sep 01, 2011 5:18 pm

Little update in the first post courtesy of our ol' pal Shockslayer. Thanks SS.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

morganwk
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 12:23 pm

Re: Wii DVD/Wiikey Fusion/WODE (sd/hdd loading) on the Gamecube

Post by morganwk » Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:03 pm

Is this one legit?
If it is, then it appears I could just stick it in the memory slot.
In THAT case, could I just, when I make my PGC, put in everything but the DVD drive, and have this instead of hacking and soldering in a hard mod wiikey?

User avatar
hailrazer
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 2764
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: Georgia Sweet Georgia

Re: Wii DVD/Wiikey Fusion/WODE (sd/hdd loading) on the Gamecube

Post by hailrazer » Mon Jan 09, 2012 6:07 pm

If you are using a Wii, then yes, a Gamecube no.
My Portable Systems:
Image
-----Genimini---------Darth64---------Dreamtrooper--------Ncube---------Kamikazi64---N64Boy Advance

d1rage5
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 11:50 pm

Re: Wii DVD/Wiikey Fusion/WODE (sd/hdd loading) on the Gamecube

Post by d1rage5 » Mon Feb 27, 2012 11:53 pm

Did anyone send the new firmware for th fusion? I got one and it was from console source and found it was a clone on release version 1.0 i want to see if i can update it. if not time to get a non clone as thats what i thought i was getting.

bridabom73
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:30 pm

Re: Wii DVD/Wiikey Fusion/WODE (sd/hdd loading) on the Gamecube

Post by bridabom73 » Fri Aug 10, 2012 3:39 pm

Could someone help me out a bit? I wired up my Wiikey exactly as the guide says to. I can't find anything wrong with the wiring. When I turn on my Gamecube, sometimes it happens quickly, and sometimes it happens after a few seconds, but it says "An error has occurred. Turn the power OFF and check the NINTENDO GAMECUBE Instruction Booklet for further instructions." I don't know why it says that, and obviously the instruction booklet won't help. I don't actually have a NC momentary tact switch, so I'm just using a clip that connects the wire from the Wiikey to the ground, and I just unclip it when the switch would open the connection. The error pops up before I can even reclip it, and sometimes before I even unclip it. I don't think not having the switch is the problem, but if it is, I can go run out and get one tonight. However, since it doesn't seem like that's what's causing the problem, I have no clue what it could be. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what might be causing this error message to pop up?

User avatar
hailrazer
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 2764
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: Georgia Sweet Georgia

Re: Wii DVD/Wiikey Fusion/WODE (sd/hdd loading) on the Gamecube

Post by hailrazer » Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:08 pm

99.9% of the time it is a wiring problem. Wired incorrectly, grounding problem, shorts, wires to long, etc.
My Portable Systems:
Image
-----Genimini---------Darth64---------Dreamtrooper--------Ncube---------Kamikazi64---N64Boy Advance

bridabom73
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:30 pm

Re: Wii DVD/Wiikey Fusion/WODE (sd/hdd loading) on the Gamecube

Post by bridabom73 » Fri Aug 10, 2012 9:10 pm

Haha. Yeah. It must have been a wiring problem. I fixed it before my post was even approved. It works now, but I'm having WBFS manager problems. I'm sure I'll find something on Google, though. Thanks for your help! :)

carlifirio
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:41 pm

Re: Wii DVD/Wiikey Fusion/WODE (sd/hdd loading) on the Gamecube

Post by carlifirio » Fri Sep 14, 2012 7:46 pm

Awesome tutorial man! :D Hey quick question My DD daughter board lost its soldering pads to go from the daugther board to GC main mobo i wanna test it without the DD but i cant because it gives me:ERROR please turn off your GC and refer to manual. Thanks in advance :)

Post Reply