Game Cube, Adding leds

Includes PS2, Xbox 1, GameCube (but not the Phantom Game Console)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Padoca
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 3:29 pm

Game Cube, Adding leds

Post by Padoca » Thu Apr 09, 2009 10:37 am

Hi i want to add some leds to my Game cube
where is a safe place i can get the Necessary Voltage?
i want to add about 5 leds
ty in advance

User avatar
ShockSlayer
Niblet 64
Posts: 5059
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:47 pm
Location: In my inbox.

Re: Game Cube, Adding leds

Post by ShockSlayer » Thu Apr 09, 2009 10:50 am

I used the 3.43v line on the powerboard.
http://twitter.com/ShockSlayer" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
TheOnlyOneHeFears
Portablizer
Posts: 396
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:53 am
Location: Here be Dragons!

Re: Game Cube, Adding leds

Post by TheOnlyOneHeFears » Thu Apr 09, 2009 11:30 am

Or you can use the +12V from the power switch/fan assembly, easier to access/route wires IMO
Image

User avatar
ShockSlayer
Niblet 64
Posts: 5059
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:47 pm
Location: In my inbox.

Re: Game Cube, Adding leds

Post by ShockSlayer » Thu Apr 09, 2009 2:00 pm

Yeah, but wouldn't he have to step it down?

Oh, and nice to see you again, TOOHF!

SS
http://twitter.com/ShockSlayer" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Padoca
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 3:29 pm

Re: Game Cube, Adding leds

Post by Padoca » Thu Apr 09, 2009 3:32 pm

i want to add light to the controller ports
i can put 4 serie leds with a resistor around 200 ohm
wouldn't be okay?

User avatar
TheOnlyOneHeFears
Portablizer
Posts: 396
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:53 am
Location: Here be Dragons!

Re: Game Cube, Adding leds

Post by TheOnlyOneHeFears » Fri Apr 10, 2009 8:50 am

ShockSlayer wrote:Yeah, but wouldn't he have to step it down?

Oh, and nice to see you again, TOOHF!

SS
True, I was thinking more from a convenience POV, either way is good. Haha, thanks man, I've been popping in and out for a bit, not had much time for projects what with A Levels and all that, but its nice to have a snoop now and then, see what people have been up to :D (dude, new smileys!)

@Padoca

What's the forward voltage of your LEDs? You can use THIS to calculate the resistor values you'd need :)
Image

User avatar
ShockSlayer
Niblet 64
Posts: 5059
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:47 pm
Location: In my inbox.

Re: Game Cube, Adding leds

Post by ShockSlayer » Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:42 pm

FOr the controller ports you could tap 5v off of the orange power LED.

Oh and you should PM electric rain TOOHF, he stole my $20 and ran. :lol:

SS
http://twitter.com/ShockSlayer" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Post Reply