Breakthrough in gamecube portablizing

Includes PS2, Xbox 1, GameCube (but not the Phantom Game Console)

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Kyo
Senior Member
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 11:59 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Kyo » Sat Jan 17, 2009 6:41 am

Wait, you guys are figuring this out just now? That's what the whole thread is about

perhaps this article I made (based on the first post) when this was first discovered will help:
http://wocares.com/modding/article.php?id=16

it has a diagram

User avatar
Crispy
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Crispy » Mon Jan 19, 2009 1:14 pm

dragonhead wrote:ok lets clear this up as some people cant seem to understand.

THE 12v LINE CAN RUN OFF OF ANYTHING BETWEEN 5v AND 12v

THE 5v LINE STILL NEEDS 5v....

THE 3.3v LINE STILL NEEDS 3.3v....

THE 1.9v LINE STILL NEEDS 1.9v.
Am i right in thinking that the 12v imput on the regualtor board still needs 10-12v?
But if you cut out the GC regulator, and build your own, you can essentisally run the GC of 5v (split into 5, 3.3, 1.9 with your own regualtor).

AMIRITE?
www.DSminded.com - Mod it. Play it. Love it.

GameCube #1: Black DOL-001 Qoob Pro - 1.3c bios + SDGekko + Controller port LED's
GameCube #2: DOL-001 GCp Project victim
Xbox #1: v1.4 with DuoX chip + EvoX/XBMC dash. 40GB HDD upgrade.

User avatar
Kyo
Senior Member
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 11:59 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Kyo » Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:00 pm

yes

User avatar
Basement_Modder
Portablizer
Posts: 961
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:16 am
Location: Next door to my neighbor
Contact:

Re: Breakthrough in gamecube portablizing

Post by Basement_Modder » Sun Jun 07, 2009 3:25 pm

IN THEORY, you are right. This has never been successfully done.
Cheers,
Basement_Modder
_________________

User avatar
ShockSlayer
Niblet 64
Posts: 5059
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:47 pm
Location: In my inbox.

Re: Breakthrough in gamecube portablizing

Post by ShockSlayer » Sun Jun 07, 2009 3:27 pm

Whats with you and posting in stickies in which discussions were ended a long time ago?
http://twitter.com/ShockSlayer" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
vskid
Senior Member
Posts: 6314
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:25 am
Steam ID: vskid3
Contact:

Re: Breakthrough in gamecube portablizing

Post by vskid » Sun Jun 07, 2009 3:46 pm

In theory, bumping old posts for no reason doesn't make you an idiot. Oh, wait, it does make you an idiot. So stop.
Image

Electric Rain
Senior Member
Posts: 1911
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 12:39 pm
PSN Username: Denki_no_Ame
Location: What's it to you? Stalker...
Contact:

Re: Breakthrough in gamecube portablizing

Post by Electric Rain » Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:06 pm

In theory, WTF are you talking about? What hasn't ever been done? 'Cause I've tried this mod myself and it does work; the audio line can be powered off of 5V. And if there's no 12V line running to the Gamecube at all, why WOULDN'T it run off of 7.4 volts stepped down to the other 3 voltages?
Image

User avatar
Knux the Fox
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 3:54 pm
Steam ID: knuxthefox
Location: Lincoln, IL
Contact:

Re: Breakthrough in gamecube portablizing

Post by Knux the Fox » Wed Nov 18, 2009 4:17 am

As for the disc drive, doesn't the Panasonic Q, the deluxe version of the Gamecube, use a standard laptop-style dvd-rom drive? Would it be possible to replace the Gamecube disc drive with a standard dvd-rom?

User avatar
hailrazer
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 2764
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: Georgia Sweet Georgia

Re: Breakthrough in gamecube portablizing

Post by hailrazer » Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:25 am

Knux the Fox wrote:As for the disc drive, doesn't the Panasonic Q, the deluxe version of the Gamecube, use a standard laptop-style dvd-rom drive? Would it be possible to replace the Gamecube disc drive with a standard dvd-rom?

No the Q has proprietary controller boards for interfacing the dvd drive to the Gamecube board.
My Portable Systems:
Image
-----Genimini---------Darth64---------Dreamtrooper--------Ncube---------Kamikazi64---N64Boy Advance

Electric Rain
Senior Member
Posts: 1911
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 12:39 pm
PSN Username: Denki_no_Ame
Location: What's it to you? Stalker...
Contact:

Re: Breakthrough in gamecube portablizing

Post by Electric Rain » Wed Nov 18, 2009 2:20 pm

Knux the Fox wrote:As for the disc drive, doesn't the Panasonic Q, the deluxe version of the Gamecube, use a standard laptop-style dvd-rom drive? Would it be possible to replace the Gamecube disc drive with a standard dvd-rom?
Only with destop's Gamecube IDE/USB project that I've been (not so much anymore) working on forever. Which apparently also works with ATAPI DVD-ROM drives, though nobody has yet been able to prove successful IDE, USB or ATAPI emulation with it...
Image

pablojr
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 12:43 pm

Re: Breakthrough in gamecube portablizing

Post by pablojr » Tue Aug 17, 2010 8:17 am

Does this mean i dont need a custom regulator to run the gamecube off of a 7.4v battery?!?!?

User avatar
ShockSlayer
Niblet 64
Posts: 5059
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:47 pm
Location: In my inbox.

Re: Breakthrough in gamecube portablizing

Post by ShockSlayer » Tue Aug 17, 2010 8:40 am

You do need a custom regulator. The gamecube's power board won't run off something that low, although there is one model of powerboard that might. There is no way to tell what model that is.

SS
http://twitter.com/ShockSlayer" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

no*
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:51 pm

Re: Breakthrough in gamecube portablizing

Post by no* » Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:57 pm

Sorry for the very noobish question, but does this apply to Rev C gamecubes too, or will it only work with Rev A/B?

Can't really modify the regulator on a Rev C, as far as I can tell...

User avatar
hackmodford
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 651
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 10:44 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Breakthrough in gamecube portablizing

Post by hackmodford » Thu Mar 17, 2011 11:58 am

Zenlock just been discovered that the 3V line can run on something up to about 5V

therefore you can run a gamecube off of a 3.7V and bridge the 12V 5V & 3.3V lines together, feed the battery directly to them, and then regulate down to 1.9V.

Cool 8)

User avatar
MrAfterFx
Portablizer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:06 pm
Steam ID: MrAfterFx

Re: Breakthrough in gamecube portablizing

Post by MrAfterFx » Tue Mar 22, 2011 10:40 am

hackmodford wrote:Zenlock just been discovered that the 3V line can run on something up to about 5V

therefore you can run a gamecube off of a 3.7V and bridge the 12V 5V & 3.3V lines together, feed the battery directly to them, and then regulate down to 1.9V.

Cool 8)
That is just sweet! I want to make a GCP like Tchay's exept it will be red and vacuum formed :)
Image

Post Reply