HELP needed with Gc RGB to vga mod (56k warning)

Includes PS2, Xbox 1, GameCube (but not the Phantom Game Console)

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
kasar
Posts: 634
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

HELP needed with Gc RGB to vga mod (56k warning)

Post by kasar » Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:41 pm

Image

I saw this mod at the sticky gc topic and I decided starting working on it.

Seems I am one of those lucky bastards who own Pal version of gamecubes :D
http://www.gamesx.com/wiki/doku.php?id=" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; ... ndomultiav

http://members.optushome.com.au/eviltim" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; ... m#gamecube

so I will be able to get RGB from the analog port, and I will not need the digital port´s nintendo cable.

I bought online some lm1881n.

But I need a little help, I was wondering if someone made this mod before, and how it works,I heard the vga mod are not able to output some video modes, like the GC boot menu,pal 50....... (I need pal 50 and pal 60!)

I also need help to follow the diagram, I think I need:

* 1x 680 K ohm resistor
* 2x 0.1 uF poliester capacitors
* 1x vga connector
* some wires
* and obiusly the lm1881n chip and the gamecube MOBO

is this all stuff I need for the mod? or I miss something?

I´m also considering add the stuff internally and place a vga exit at the portable case, or just make a cable to connect to the analog port with a vga port at the other side

I also want to know if the lm1881n sucks a lot of power when the vga screen is not plugged t the port
Last edited by kasar on Fri Apr 30, 2010 4:10 am, edited 5 times in total.

User avatar
kasar
Posts: 634
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Post by kasar » Thu Sep 25, 2008 10:53 am

I tried this mod, tested on a PAL gamecube dol-101, doesn´t work (the screen still black :S)
I also tried go to qoob pro main menu and select force 480p video mode and run ntsc games, still doesn´t work

help!

any ideas? what I did wrong?
Last edited by kasar on Fri Apr 30, 2010 4:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

Dark-Aries
Posts: 291
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 7:12 pm

Post by Dark-Aries » Thu Sep 25, 2008 5:29 pm

The only way I know of getting VGA is modding a RG or D-terminal cable and then mod it. the link is somewhere in the sticky...

User avatar
kasar
Posts: 634
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Post by kasar » Fri Sep 26, 2008 1:34 pm

Dark-aries wrote:The only way I know of getting VGA is modding a RG or D-terminal cable and then mod it. the link is somewhere in the sticky..
I removed the digital port at my gamecube, Im also trying to apply this mod to a dol-101 gamecube wich havent got the digital port.

I used those pins

Image

I checked lot of times for the parts, wires, and everything seems correct.

Image

Image

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

After doing a lot of tests with lot of games, and force 480p with qoob pro, A few times, the vga screen turns pink, and show a weird pink screen, the pink screen got a crappy shadow of the game image. but the pink screen, apear and disapear all the time (I tryed with other screens and samething (other screens dont show nothing, but fine normally with pc vga out)

I´m getting mad again with this, I awaited two weeks for get all stuff, and finally when I got the stuff, this happens....

someone made this mod?

someone used lm1881n chip on his projects?

help?

User avatar
kasar
Posts: 634
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Post by kasar » Mon Oct 06, 2008 9:17 am

I tried to replace chip, caps and resistor, but no luck.

my 2 screens still without output nothing, (all my screens has been tested with pc vga output and works great!) my lcd screen is allwais black/off when I put the gamecube vga output.

but my old CRT monitor show a strange pink image ( some weird shadows of the game apears at the pink thing) I´m really confused with this guys,I checked the connections lot of times and allwais this crappy result.

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image


someone can help?

NintendoRox
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 12:09 pm
360 GamerTag: DragoonX6
Location: The Netherlands

Re: HELP needed with Gc RGB to vga mod (56k warning)

Post by NintendoRox » Thu Apr 29, 2010 8:32 am

I'm going to try to follow the diagram and see what my results are.
by the way did it work already???

User avatar
kasar
Posts: 634
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: HELP needed with Gc RGB to vga mod (56k warning)

Post by kasar » Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:18 am

nope, no luck for me ^^

all I got was those weird colors, anyway the most of time I got a black screen, I got that colors by forcing the game video mode to 480p at the qoob pro mod chip.

if you can help me, I would really apreciate it

User avatar
eagle5953
Moderator
Posts: 1892
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 5:06 pm
360 GamerTag: eagle5953
Steam ID: eagle5953
Contact:

Re: HELP needed with Gc RGB to vga mod (56k warning)

Post by eagle5953 » Thu Apr 29, 2010 2:16 pm

Your pinout is for the Nintendo 64.

User avatar
jdmlight
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:17 pm
Steam ID: jdmlight
Location: A boring suburb of Chicago.

Re: HELP needed with Gc RGB to vga mod (56k warning)

Post by jdmlight » Thu Apr 29, 2010 3:36 pm

eagle5953 wrote:Your pinout is for the Nintendo 64.
That it is. The Gamecube can do component/RGB, but it requires a special Nintendo-only cable that's not cheap iirc. (uses the digital port)

edit: Ignore me.
so I will be able to get RGB from the analog port, and I will not need the digital port´s nintendo cable.
:facepalm: for not reading the thread fully.
--John (and please call me John, it's really weird to be called by my username)
Fight MS Paint abominations! If you don't have a camera, go here, and pick something 3 megapixels or higher.

User avatar
thewise1
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 1413
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 8:18 pm
Location: Sitting on my pile of authentic minnesota dirt

Re: HELP needed with Gc RGB to vga mod (56k warning)

Post by thewise1 » Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:04 pm

I've been wondering this: What does the IC in the special gamecube cable do?

It seems a bit illogical to have a cord do all the work that a gamecube could do if they built it in.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

User avatar
eagle5953
Moderator
Posts: 1892
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 5:06 pm
360 GamerTag: eagle5953
Steam ID: eagle5953
Contact:

Re: HELP needed with Gc RGB to vga mod (56k warning)

Post by eagle5953 » Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:16 pm

thewise1 wrote:It seems a bit illogical to have a cord do all the work that a gamecube could do if they built it in.
True. However, it makes it a good deal more difficult to copy. Bad for us, but good for the manufacturer (in this case, Nintendo).

User avatar
kasar
Posts: 634
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: HELP needed with Gc RGB to vga mod (56k warning)

Post by kasar » Fri Apr 30, 2010 4:18 am

so, then, there is no way of doing this without use the digital port and a moded cable for the digital port?

I heard someone which made this told me he got it working with the diagram.

also, if this not work, (I'm curius about why someone would made a useless diagram ^^, at the first diagram, is well specified it is a gamecube and he is just using the analog port)

also, about the n64 analog port, and gamecube analog port, I though them was the same, I got the same video cables working on both of them

anyway,regarding to my previus results with this experiment, and your comments ,seems some bad luck for me :lol:
Last edited by kasar on Fri Apr 30, 2010 9:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
thewise1
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 1413
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 8:18 pm
Location: Sitting on my pile of authentic minnesota dirt

Re: HELP needed with Gc RGB to vga mod (56k warning)

Post by thewise1 » Fri Apr 30, 2010 8:20 am

You may have better luck getting it out of the digital port. Try to build your own cable first then work from there. It would still be nice if we knew how to built our own cables rather then buying the $50 ones.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

NintendoRox
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 12:09 pm
360 GamerTag: DragoonX6
Location: The Netherlands

Re: HELP needed with Gc RGB to vga mod (56k warning)

Post by NintendoRox » Fri Apr 30, 2010 9:41 am

but when the qoob bios shows up everything is fine until you force 480p???

User avatar
kasar
Posts: 634
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: HELP needed with Gc RGB to vga mod (56k warning)

Post by kasar » Fri Apr 30, 2010 9:55 am

NintendoRox wrote:but when the qoob bios shows up everything is fine until you force 480p???
nope, with the vga monitor conected in, I cant see nothing (black screen/no signal or no compatible signal)

the only moment I can see something in vga screen, is when I force a game trough the qoob pro

and its that pink thing on screen, I can see some game parts and texts on it (anyway it is very distorsionated and pink )

so basically no luck

Post Reply