Use a differnt Disc drive in PS2?

Includes PS2, Xbox 1, GameCube (but not the Phantom Game Console)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Falcon15
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 11:33 pm

Use a differnt Disc drive in PS2?

Post by Falcon15 » Mon Sep 18, 2006 11:25 am

I am planning a portable PS2 that will be in laptop form ( I know, ever since Ben did it with the 360, everyone else has been wanting to do it :P). My question is, can I replace the PS2's disc drive with, say, a slim laptop drive, or am I stuck with what the PS2 has?

User avatar
Kyosho
Portablizer
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 9:38 pm

Post by Kyosho » Mon Sep 18, 2006 11:35 am

I know with the Xbox you can modify a standard DVD Rom to work with it. As for the PS2, I have no idea.

When you say laptop, what do you mean exactly? A hinged screen with a USB keyboard, etc. like Ben did with the 360?

Out of curiousity, are you going to be using the Slim PS2 or the larger one? Personally if I were doing this project, I'd use the Slim's motherboard, but the larger PS2's disc drive. Mainly because it, you know, ejects and is tray-loading. That's assuming they're compatible, which they might not be. I too am curious as to whether you can use a standard laptop drive for the PS2.

Might be possible to modify a laptop drive and use the guts from a PS2 drive. With some heavy modifying. Probably be rather difficult, but sounds like fun. If I had some extra parts, I'd even try it for the hell of it. But I don't.

Falcon15
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 11:33 pm

Post by Falcon15 » Mon Sep 18, 2006 12:16 pm

I was planning on making it a full on laptop, yes. I havn't bought anything for it yet. It's still on the drawing board. I would use the slim PS2's internal workings, but if the original PS2's drive is compatible, i'd use that. Really the only part that I am in major confusion over is the screen. I don't want to use a standard PS2 travel screen, because they are only 5 inches. I'd rather buy a 10 inch LCD TV and hack that, but I don't know if it's possible to make it work with the PS2.

User avatar
timmeh87
Senior Member
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:19 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by timmeh87 » Mon Sep 18, 2006 1:49 pm

well ps2s work on 10" lcd tvs right? it shouldnt be hard. power might be tricky though. id guess that internally it just takes a standard low DC voltage, hopefully not hard to hack a battery onto.

the ps2 dvd drive definitely cant be replaced with a PC dvd drive, most of the control circuitry is actually on the ps2 motherboard, the drive itself (non-slim model) is just a laser, three motors and some switches.

swapping the components into another drive is closer to the right idea, but im actually holding a V7 dvd drive in my hand right now and its only about 1.25" thick at its thickest point. about as thick as the laptop im typing this on. i dont know if you can use these on slim models or not...
Image

"Linux is only free if your time is worthless"

User avatar
joevennix
Portablizer
Posts: 999
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 9:34 am
Location: On permanent vacation from reality.
Contact:

Post by joevennix » Mon Sep 18, 2006 2:17 pm

If you want maximum thinness (sp?) try getting a slot-loading drive, I had to get a replacement one, they're at most half an inch tall. They might not be compatible though.

Edit: Oh, didnt read the post above me
Last edited by joevennix on Mon Sep 18, 2006 2:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Falcon15
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 11:33 pm

Post by Falcon15 » Mon Sep 18, 2006 2:27 pm

Any suggestions on where to buy a cheap 12-14 inch lcd tv for this thing?

Falcon15
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 11:33 pm

Post by Falcon15 » Mon Sep 18, 2006 2:55 pm

I just had a thought. Could I use a cheap 13 inch computer monitor? Those usually go for less than a TV.

User avatar
paul4990
Posts: 510
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 2:21 pm
Location: Greater Manchester
Contact:

Post by paul4990 » Mon Sep 18, 2006 4:58 pm

if they input composite then yes

edit: usr the drive out of a big ps2 because then you could have it come out of the front.

User avatar
Black Six
Moderator
Posts: 1991
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:34 pm
360 GamerTag: Black 5ix
Location: MD
Contact:

Post by Black Six » Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:50 pm

Falcon15 wrote:I just had a thought. Could I use a cheap 13 inch computer monitor? Those usually go for less than a TV.
You might be able to do that, but then you'll need to make your own audio amp and speakers for it.
"It's not that life's so short, it's just that you're dead for so long." -Anonymous
Threads Closerized: Lost Track, Whoops

User avatar
vskid
Senior Member
Posts: 6314
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:25 am
Steam ID: vskid3
Contact:

Post by vskid » Tue Sep 19, 2006 7:09 am

Black Six wrote:
Falcon15 wrote:I just had a thought. Could I use a cheap 13 inch computer monitor? Those usually go for less than a TV.
You might be able to do that, but then you'll need to make your own audio amp and speakers for it.
Some cheaper ones I've seen have built in speakers.
Image

spinout
Portablizer
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Post by spinout » Wed Sep 20, 2006 10:57 am

I tore this out of a broken dvd player and I now with some modifacation you should be able to have a ps2 slim dvd drive fit into it. There seems to be a lot of unused plastic in the drive so it coud be slimmed to uner an inch in some areas.

User avatar
eastsider_1
Posts: 219
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 4:03 am
Location: GA
Contact:

Post by eastsider_1 » Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:27 am

Hey, that looks familiar- only i see it evertime i change the game on my PS2M 8) Sony probaly could have gotten there hands on something SMALLER, i thought of rewiring my DVD drive to load from the side of the PS2M, but its too big and TOO MANY TINY wires to mess with. :evil:
PS2M-99% -Final Stages of the 1st O.G. PS2 Portable (Will this ever get done??)

PSTwoSP- 50%
Rewiring Controller, LED Modding Screen

Falcon15
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 11:33 pm

Post by Falcon15 » Wed Sep 20, 2006 1:46 pm

I was just thinking, If I used a laptop drive on this, would it have to be the same voltage as the PS2 drive?

eatablecrayon
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:01 pm

Post by eatablecrayon » Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:04 pm

i have an old ps2 that has the disc read crap. do you think that it would be possable to swap that with a drive from a dvd player or somthing?

jeroen
Senior Member
Posts: 1573
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 7:42 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by jeroen » Wed Oct 25, 2006 4:23 pm

eatablecrayon wrote:i have an old ps2 that has the disc read crap. do you think that it would be possable to swap that with a drive from a dvd player or somthing?
no. However try and get a broken ps2 with working disk reader.

Post Reply