i was wondering if any one had a circuit diagram of....

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
shadowhacker
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 12:46 pm
Location: Red Deer, Alberta

i was wondering if any one had a circuit diagram of....

Post by shadowhacker » Fri Dec 23, 2005 3:38 pm

the six buttion sega genesis controller?
I do know everything just not all at once its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
Turbo Tax 1.0
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 4772
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Delaware, no sales tax
Contact:

Post by Turbo Tax 1.0 » Fri Dec 23, 2005 3:44 pm

do you mean how to hook it up to the genesis

most anything can be found out about a controllor by tracing leads with your multimeter

also try the sticky
when life gives you lemons make flux
Image
snesp mk4

User avatar
Sparkfist
Forum Administrator
Posts: 6754
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 7:12 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by Sparkfist » Fri Dec 23, 2005 3:49 pm

If your planning to redesign or rebuild the controller this might help.
vskid wrote:Nerd = likes school, does all their homework, dies if they don't get 100% on every assignment
Geek = likes technology, dies if the power goes out and his UPS dies too

I am a geek.

User avatar
shadowhacker
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 12:46 pm
Location: Red Deer, Alberta

Post by shadowhacker » Fri Dec 23, 2005 6:10 pm

i need a six buttion controller one though
I do know everything just not all at once its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
Turbo Tax 1.0
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 4772
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Delaware, no sales tax
Contact:

Post by Turbo Tax 1.0 » Fri Dec 23, 2005 6:35 pm

i told you already just use your multimeter and trace the button back to the chip
when life gives you lemons make flux
Image
snesp mk4

User avatar
shadowhacker
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 12:46 pm
Location: Red Deer, Alberta

Post by shadowhacker » Sat Dec 24, 2005 11:17 am

gah thats going to take awhile ll do it later today before the company comes over
I do know everything just not all at once its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
Turbo Tax 1.0
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 4772
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Delaware, no sales tax
Contact:

Post by Turbo Tax 1.0 » Sat Dec 24, 2005 11:24 am

actually it only takes like 5 minutes
set your multimeter to the ohms symbol and your good to go
when life gives you lemons make flux
Image
snesp mk4

User avatar
shadowhacker
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 12:46 pm
Location: Red Deer, Alberta

Post by shadowhacker » Sat Dec 24, 2005 11:32 am

ok i was going to do something compleatly diffrent can you tell me like you would tell a retard?
I do know everything just not all at once its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
Turbo Tax 1.0
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 4772
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Delaware, no sales tax
Contact:

Post by Turbo Tax 1.0 » Sat Dec 24, 2005 11:58 am

were did you get your multimneter i have a cheap radio shack one here how i do it


set the multimeter to the symbol for ohms

touch the two prongs together, your multimeter should go all the way up or beep, if it doesnt go all the way up there should be a knobv somewhere that you can adjust

now touch one prong to the button and another prong to the chip and repeat until the meter goes all the way up
when life gives you lemons make flux
Image
snesp mk4

User avatar
gannon
Moderator
Posts: 6974
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:48 pm
Location: Near that one big lake
Contact:

Post by gannon » Sat Dec 24, 2005 12:01 pm

My question would be (it seems that everyone in this thread assumes the answer is yes), is "Do you have a six button controller already?"

User avatar
shadowhacker
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 12:46 pm
Location: Red Deer, Alberta

Post by shadowhacker » Sat Dec 24, 2005 12:08 pm

yes but i cut out the dpad to widen the controller but i cant soder on to the tiny connsetions so i was just going to remake the controller
I do know everything just not all at once its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
Turbo Tax 1.0
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 4772
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Delaware, no sales tax
Contact:

Post by Turbo Tax 1.0 » Sat Dec 24, 2005 12:14 pm

to solder onto the tiny connections all you have to do is scrape the green off or sand it until you can see some shiny copper
when life gives you lemons make flux
Image
snesp mk4

User avatar
shadowhacker
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 12:46 pm
Location: Red Deer, Alberta

Post by shadowhacker » Sat Dec 24, 2005 12:15 pm

yeah i have done that but it wont stick or hold
I do know everything just not all at once its a virtual memory problem.

User avatar
Turbo Tax 1.0
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 4772
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Delaware, no sales tax
Contact:

Post by Turbo Tax 1.0 » Sat Dec 24, 2005 12:16 pm

you must not be doing it right then :P

sand the traces a little more and use some flux
when life gives you lemons make flux
Image
snesp mk4

User avatar
shadowhacker
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 12:46 pm
Location: Red Deer, Alberta

Post by shadowhacker » Sat Dec 24, 2005 12:17 pm

ok thaks turbo tax you may have just saved christmas!
I do know everything just not all at once its a virtual memory problem.

Post Reply