flash card for n64

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
MilkMonster
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 2:52 pm
Location: A stupid place in NC
Contact:

flash card for n64

Post by MilkMonster » Sat Aug 06, 2005 4:53 pm

i have a flash card for my gba to play roms on it but i cant seem to find one for my n64. does anyone know of one.

User avatar
xxxeagle
Posts: 951
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: In my house on my parents new computer. :)
Contact:

Post by xxxeagle » Sat Aug 06, 2005 4:57 pm

I dont think there is one for the n64 but look around on google and maybel youll find one I just glanced at google and I didn't see any so I dought tere are any out plus flash wasn't very big when the n64 was around.

Reaperman@home
Posts: 1056
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 11:19 am
Location: New Orleans, LA
Contact:

Post by Reaperman@home » Sun Aug 07, 2005 4:56 am

there is a CD unit that loads roms from CDrom into ram for play.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll ... BID_Stores

User avatar
extremesonic
Moderator
Posts: 530
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 12:38 pm
Location: St.Kits

Post by extremesonic » Sun Aug 07, 2005 10:55 am

I've seen a few before, jsut google search for awhile you'll come upon it eventually, but last I checked there pretty bulky and pricey.
SNESp - 100%
Protable X - 15% - I need money :(

User avatar
usbcd36
Posts: 1293
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Inside Samus's arm cannon [gulp]___ Gender: Male

Post by usbcd36 » Sun Aug 07, 2005 2:01 pm

Not to mention you probably can't save your game either (unless your game uses a memory card).

Reaperman@home
Posts: 1056
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 11:19 am
Location: New Orleans, LA
Contact:

Post by Reaperman@home » Sun Aug 07, 2005 7:26 pm

usbcd36 wrote:Not to mention you probably can't save your game either (unless your game uses a memory card).
I don't think there's any reason it wouldn't support at least sram save.

User avatar
usbcd36
Posts: 1293
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Inside Samus's arm cannon [gulp]___ Gender: Male

Post by usbcd36 » Sun Aug 07, 2005 8:17 pm

On what? It can't burn onto discs if you've already burned them as discs (not sessions) and it wouldn't be practical to have to wait 5 minutes for the thing to burn your save.

User avatar
gannon
Moderator
Posts: 6974
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:48 pm
Location: Near that one big lake
Contact:

Post by gannon » Sun Aug 07, 2005 8:21 pm

that's why sram exists :P

User avatar
usbcd36
Posts: 1293
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Inside Samus's arm cannon [gulp]___ Gender: Male

Post by usbcd36 » Sun Aug 07, 2005 8:24 pm

Where? I don't suppose you think the disc module has SRAM? The manufacturers wouldn't bother, all 3rd party companies are cheap, or so I've found.

Reaperman@home
Posts: 1056
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 11:19 am
Location: New Orleans, LA
Contact:

Post by Reaperman@home » Sun Aug 07, 2005 8:47 pm

the disc module does, in fact, have sram:
http://www.robwebb.clara.co.uk/backup/ufo/ufocd64.html

the majority of pirate devices I've encountered do support some flavor of gamesaving. I also don't think I'd use the term '3rd party' to describe this item and the mountains of illegal activities it was designed for :twisted:

I rather liked their SNES unit better...more games I want to play for that system. If only it weren't $150+ship last I checked.

Post Reply