VGA output via fpga

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
qwertymodo
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 10:54 am
360 GamerTag: qwertymodo
Steam ID: qwertymodo

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by qwertymodo » Mon Dec 17, 2012 2:50 pm

Just curious, but how difficult would it be to modify this for other consoles with RGB output (or RGB-mods)? In particular, I'm thinking of the SNES, but in general terms which, if any, other systems might be possible? I'm assuming it is heavily dependant on output resolution and framerate, but considering how annoying it currently is to get retro consoles to play nice with new TV's, I'd love to see some of the other old consoles with one of these...

User avatar
marshallh
Moderator
Posts: 2986
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 pm
360 GamerTag: marshallh
Location: here and there
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by marshallh » Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:18 pm

Image

I have a bunch of contract work so I will not be able to get this going for a while yet. But the pcb looks nice.
Image

User avatar
marshallh
Moderator
Posts: 2986
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 pm
360 GamerTag: marshallh
Location: here and there
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by marshallh » Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:21 pm

qwertymodo wrote:Just curious, but how difficult would it be to modify this for other consoles with RGB output (or RGB-mods)? In particular, I'm thinking of the SNES, but in general terms which, if any, other systems might be possible? I'm assuming it is heavily dependant on output resolution and framerate, but considering how annoying it currently is to get retro consoles to play nice with new TV's, I'd love to see some of the other old consoles with one of these...
Not really, to do anything else would require a triple ADC + sync extractor. N64 is the only system I know of with this exact digital muxed 21bit RGB.
Image

Diminuendo
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 1:12 am

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Diminuendo » Mon Dec 17, 2012 7:10 pm

Will this constantly output the same resolution and upscale the N64 when it is on a lower setting or will my monitor do that turn black for three seconds thing every time I open the bomber journal in Majora Mask? I would appreciate the ability to lock the resolution even if it only uses nearest neighbor scaling.

also because I'm not clear, does this output progressive scan?

Kitten Mittens
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:25 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Kitten Mittens » Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:44 pm

I just found this, and I have to say I'm very impressed. Hope you can finish this soon, I'm using my computer monitor (which only has HDMI, VGA, and DVI) as my bedroom TV and would love to use it for my N64.

whatchitfoool
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:23 pm
PSN Username: whatchitfoool
360 GamerTag: whatchitfoool
Steam ID: whatchitfoool

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by whatchitfoool » Thu Dec 20, 2012 12:09 am

Is the remaining work largely consisting of the development of the FPGA?
Last edited by whatchitfoool on Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
marshallh
Moderator
Posts: 2986
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 pm
360 GamerTag: marshallh
Location: here and there
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by marshallh » Sat Dec 22, 2012 3:49 pm

Swapped out the old board for this one. It seems to power up OK and respond to jtag queries.

I still need to write more code to actually run the thing.

Image
Image

User
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 9:55 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by User » Sun Dec 23, 2012 9:26 am

Great that you could find some time.
Keep us updated and happy holidays!

MockyLock
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:14 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by MockyLock » Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:11 am

Hello :)
Would you be able to give us some kind of release date ?
I mean like spring, summer. I don't ask you a promise !
Merry Christmas !

User avatar
jdmlight
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:17 pm
Steam ID: jdmlight
Location: A boring suburb of Chicago.

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by jdmlight » Tue Dec 25, 2012 6:01 pm

I'm super-excited that you're still working on this. Think you might have a demo ready for MGC?
--John (and please call me John, it's really weird to be called by my username)
Fight MS Paint abominations! If you don't have a camera, go here, and pick something 3 megapixels or higher.

User avatar
marshallh
Moderator
Posts: 2986
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 pm
360 GamerTag: marshallh
Location: here and there
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by marshallh » Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:28 am

jdmlight wrote:I'm super-excited that you're still working on this. Think you might have a demo ready for MGC?
I would be really surprised if it wasn't done by then. It's just that I have had other more pressing work take priority (actual deadlines, etc)
Image

User
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 9:55 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by User » Tue Jan 01, 2013 6:38 am

[quote="marshallh"]I would be really surprised if it wasn't done by then. It's just that I have had other more pressing work take priority (actual deadlines, etc)[/quote]
Done in form of a demo or done for the masses to enjoy? :)
Anyway, great news to wake up to on january 1st!

User avatar
Tighe
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 10:15 pm
360 GamerTag: Tighe Lory
Location: Richmondville, NY
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Tighe » Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:22 am

This is really awesome, I was wondering if you could take the TTL video and go right to HDMI. Please see my thread here:

http://nfggames.com/forum2/index.php?&topic=3795.0" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 9:55 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by User » Mon Feb 11, 2013 4:09 pm

Hey marshallh, a small status update would be awesome! :)

User avatar
sanni
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 5:52 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by sanni » Mon Feb 18, 2013 12:48 pm

Is there any difference if I would use a PAL or NTSC N64 as base for your HDMI modification together with an 64drive as long as I have the corresponding cic inside the 64drive?

Basicly will NTSC games played from an 64Drive on a PAL N64 with the HDMI mod look the same and play as fast as when played from a real NTSC console?

Post Reply