VGA output via fpga

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Tighe
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 10:15 pm
360 GamerTag: Tighe Lory
Location: Richmondville, NY
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Tighe » Fri Aug 30, 2013 3:51 pm

I cannot wait for this to be released!

User
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 9:55 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by User » Thu Sep 19, 2013 11:54 am

Is not touching audio your final decision marshallh?

OzOnE
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 7:32 am

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by OzOnE » Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:32 am

@Marshall - just to confirm, does the board have analog VGA out on the DVI port as well?

Did you manage to find a chip which does both HDMI / DVI and analog output at the same time.

If it can switch to Component output too, then that's great.
I'm wondering what the N64 will look like on a nice CRT now.

Also, did you try any experiments with the GC output yet?

Wii could be possible, but only practical if you could get one of those "mod chip" ribbon thingies.
That would allow it to be soldered to the DAC on the Wii. Major pain to do it though.

OzOnE.

User avatar
Tighe
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 10:15 pm
360 GamerTag: Tighe Lory
Location: Richmondville, NY
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Tighe » Tue Jan 28, 2014 4:52 pm

Bump, any news on this?

User
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 9:55 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by User » Fri Jan 31, 2014 4:50 am

I hope it´s ok when i post info that marshallh sent me last week:
marshallh wrote:The HDMI adapter has an OSD now and it can be used to set up scaling options.
Both these (64drive FW 2.0 & Adapter) have been put on the back burner until I've worked through my other (unrelated) commitments first.

User avatar
marshallh
Moderator
Posts: 2986
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 pm
360 GamerTag: marshallh
Location: here and there
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by marshallh » Mon Feb 17, 2014 10:23 am

Not dead, hoping to show it working at MGC.. every time I can get back to this I have other obligations.
Considering a major hardware revision.
Image
Image
Image

User
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 9:55 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by User » Mon Feb 17, 2014 6:00 pm

marshallh wrote:Considering a major hardware revision.
HDMI Audio, pleeease! Image

How do you control the OSD?

rephlex303
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 4:13 am

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by rephlex303 » Thu Feb 20, 2014 1:16 pm

I'm also really interested in HDMI audio Marshallh

User
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 9:55 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by User » Mon Mar 03, 2014 5:42 pm

retroactive wrote:UPDATE
I've been getting lots of emails and general interest in this. I'm looking into handling digital audio as well, so you need only the HDMI cable and nothing else. It will require yet another hardware revision.
I've been getting some feedback about the DVI port, some people don't use VGA anymore and just want a plain HDMI port. Email if you have an opinion about this...
http://retroactive.be/tech_n64_hdmi.php" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Thanks marshallh, you are awesome!

User avatar
Tighe
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 10:15 pm
360 GamerTag: Tighe Lory
Location: Richmondville, NY
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Tighe » Mon Mar 03, 2014 6:34 pm

I have been on the waiting list and I am so excited for this to come out!

User avatar
marshallh
Moderator
Posts: 2986
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 pm
360 GamerTag: marshallh
Location: here and there
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by marshallh » Sat Mar 08, 2014 11:10 pm

Just got about 9000 emails about this thing and a ton of blogs featured it. Thanks to my friend Chris thinking it would be motivate me to work on it, I suppose. Well, it worked.

Basically everybody told me they want HDMI audio. So I am considering a complete design revision, and placing the mod somewhere else in the console more discreet.
Image

User avatar
Tighe
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 10:15 pm
360 GamerTag: Tighe Lory
Location: Richmondville, NY
Contact:

Post by Tighe » Mon May 05, 2014 9:39 pm

Omg! Well this is an exciting development! I am saving my $$$..

Tsurugi_Takuma
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:11 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Tsurugi_Takuma » Fri Jun 13, 2014 4:19 am

Is anyone else excited about the fact that we have reached Q3 now :)

User
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 9:55 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by User » Sat Jun 14, 2014 1:58 am

Isn´t Q3 fall?

User avatar
marshallh
Moderator
Posts: 2986
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 pm
360 GamerTag: marshallh
Location: here and there
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by marshallh » Mon Jun 16, 2014 10:36 pm

Bleh, Q3 came quicker than I thouhgt
Image

Post Reply