VGA output via fpga

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 9:55 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by User » Mon Jul 15, 2013 2:58 pm

Diminuendo wrote:
User wrote:Since you added the possibility for GC compatibility with the last board, would this also support Wii?
There already ways to get HDMI and VGA from a Wii.
Could you link to the Wii HDMI mod?
Last edited by User on Thu Jul 18, 2013 4:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jdmlight
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:17 pm
Steam ID: jdmlight
Location: A boring suburb of Chicago.

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by jdmlight » Mon Jul 15, 2013 4:03 pm

User wrote:
Diminuendo wrote:
User wrote:Since you added the possibility for GC compatibility with the last board, would this also support Wii?
There already ways to get HDMI and VGA from a Wii.
Could you link to the Wii HDMI mod?
You could just get a self-contained component to HDMI converter, like this:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/produ ... 4#feedback

Also, can't wait for this to be complete. DVI/HDMI will be much easier to integrate with my TV/switcher/etc. I'll be looking at a new TV soon and very few have S-video. Plus composite is not acceptable on any screen size.
--John (and please call me John, it's really weird to be called by my username)
Fight MS Paint abominations! If you don't have a camera, go here, and pick something 3 megapixels or higher.

Diminuendo
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 1:12 am

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Diminuendo » Wed Jul 17, 2013 12:18 am

User wrote:
Diminuendo wrote:
User wrote:Since you added the possibility for GC compatibility with the last board, would this also support Wii?
There already ways to get HDMI and VGA from a Wii.
Could you link to the Wii HDMI mod?
I personally prefer the ones that DON'T upscale
http://www.neoya.com/shop/wii2hdmi/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 9:55 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by User » Wed Jul 17, 2013 4:08 am

Diminuendo wrote:I personally prefer the ones that DON'T upscale
http://www.neoya.com/shop/wii2hdmi/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
This is only analog to digital, no true digital signal.

@Gamecube support possibility:
After reading this post, i wonder if this can only work with Cubes that have a digital AV?
Or should it work with all revisions?
Last edited by User on Thu Jul 18, 2013 4:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jdmlight
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:17 pm
Steam ID: jdmlight
Location: A boring suburb of Chicago.

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by jdmlight » Wed Jul 17, 2013 8:20 am

User wrote:
Diminuendo wrote:I personally prefer the ones that DON'T upscale
http://www.neoya.com/shop/wii2hdmi/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
This is only analog to digital, no true digital signal.
While that's certainly true, I'd be interested to know if there is a noticeable difference. Component is a high-quality analog signal to start with, so it's likely that the visual difference is minimal between a true digital signal and a digital signal converted from component.

Also, if you read the reviews on the Monoprice one, there are some complaints that it doesn't upscale. So I'm guessing that one on neoya and the one on Monoprice are similar.
--John (and please call me John, it's really weird to be called by my username)
Fight MS Paint abominations! If you don't have a camera, go here, and pick something 3 megapixels or higher.

User
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 9:55 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by User » Wed Jul 17, 2013 10:46 am

I have a Wii with original Nintendo component cable going into my AVR which outputs the signal (converts to digital) as HDMI to my TV.
I also have a WiiU with HDMI and the difference between Wii component and WiiU Wii Mode HDMI is huge.
The colors are much more vibrant and the picture is sharper (especially noticeable when text is on screen).

But this is getting pretty off topic.

Diminuendo
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 1:12 am

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Diminuendo » Wed Jul 17, 2013 10:49 pm

User wrote:
Diminuendo wrote:I personally prefer the ones that DON'T upscale
http://www.neoya.com/shop/wii2hdmi/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
This is only analog to digital, no true digital signal.
480i from the Wii it's analog video to digital with analog audio to digital
480p from the Wii it's digital RGB to HDMI with analog audio to digital

User
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 9:55 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by User » Thu Jul 18, 2013 4:04 am

Diminuendo wrote:
User wrote:
Diminuendo wrote:I personally prefer the ones that DON'T upscale
http://www.neoya.com/shop/wii2hdmi/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
This is only analog to digital, no true digital signal.
480i from the Wii it's analog video to digital with analog audio to digital
480p from the Wii it's digital RGB to HDMI with analog audio to digital
The Wii AV connector does not support any digital output, so even the 480p signal is analog to digital with the Neoya HDMI adapter.

Diminuendo
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 1:12 am

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Diminuendo » Thu Jul 18, 2013 7:36 pm

RGB is a digital signal

User
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 9:55 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by User » Fri Jul 19, 2013 4:10 am

But that doesn´t make the signal the Wii outputs through it´s AV connector digital.

User avatar
marshallh
Moderator
Posts: 2986
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 pm
360 GamerTag: marshallh
Location: here and there
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by marshallh » Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:55 pm

Well there are no dead shorts after assembly, so it's looking good. Need to wire it up later and then re-start HDL writing

Image

Image
Image

User
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 9:55 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by User » Mon Aug 05, 2013 8:17 am

Looks awesome.
What is the button for?

User avatar
jdmlight
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:17 pm
Steam ID: jdmlight
Location: A boring suburb of Chicago.

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by jdmlight » Mon Aug 05, 2013 1:53 pm

User wrote:Looks awesome.
What is the button for?
Magic.
--John (and please call me John, it's really weird to be called by my username)
Fight MS Paint abominations! If you don't have a camera, go here, and pick something 3 megapixels or higher.

User avatar
DavGerm4
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 1:56 pm
PSN Username: DavGerm4
360 GamerTag: DavGerm4
Steam ID: DavGerm4
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by DavGerm4 » Sat Aug 10, 2013 2:00 am

This looks AWESOME! Really hope you pull through with it! I'd buy one!
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
marshallh
Moderator
Posts: 2986
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 pm
360 GamerTag: marshallh
Location: here and there
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by marshallh » Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:08 pm

Stub page at
http://retroactive.be/tech_n64_hdmi.php" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Mailing list signup if you want to get in on preorders, when they happen (not right now obv.)
Image

Post Reply