VGA output via fpga

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
budnespid
Posts: 388
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 9:44 pm
Location: South, Deep Deep down South

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by budnespid » Thu Feb 09, 2012 11:13 am

Want so hard.

iray1979
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 8:51 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by iray1979 » Thu Feb 09, 2012 7:17 pm

Either way I hope the picture is not grainy and choppy..god I hate S-video and I really dont want to mess with doing an RGB mod...having to find a TV that will accept scart would be like pulling teeth...not very good at soldering anyway...want to do VGA but no TV I am aware of does 15 mhz

User avatar
Triton
Moderator
Posts: 7396
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 12:33 pm
360 GamerTag: triton199
Steam ID: triton199
Location: Iowa
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Triton » Sat Feb 11, 2012 11:11 am

Compared your picture with my RGB output, can't see any notable difference.
this is full 640x480 deinterlaced (progressive scan if you will) 31khz VGA. basically pixel perfect

User avatar
Lady Eklipse
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 4:57 am

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Lady Eklipse » Sat Feb 11, 2012 11:35 am

Triton wrote:
Compared your picture with my RGB output, can't see any notable difference.
this is full 640x480 deinterlaced (progressive scan if you will) 31khz VGA. basically pixel perfect
Sorry, I seem not to understand what you said.
AFAIK, Mario Kart 64 is 320x240.
RGB is pixel perfect as well.
Should their be any difference or not? I don't think that games cane be upscaled to 640x480 like in project64, using this mod.

User avatar
jjhammerstein
Senior Member
Posts: 1562
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: Southern CT
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by jjhammerstein » Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:33 pm

This is basically a pixel doubler. It will output 640x480 for low res games by displaying each pixel as 4 pixels. If done well, it has the potential to be marginally better than RGB. The stock video DAC probably isn't perfect, though I don't know what flaws it has.
GET FREE WOW GOLD SEX VISIT MODRETRO


User avatar
Triton
Moderator
Posts: 7396
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 12:33 pm
360 GamerTag: triton199
Steam ID: triton199
Location: Iowa
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Triton » Mon Feb 13, 2012 8:16 pm

Its a de-interlacer aka scan doubler/flicker fixer. it doesnt do any kind of up-scaling. It will be the same as standard RGB, but will work with LCD and CRT displays that function at 31khz scan rates.

User avatar
blaze3927
Portablizer
Posts: 1114
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:14 am
360 GamerTag: notjames
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by blaze3927 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 12:22 am

stop teasing, i want this too much,

a bit over my head to grasp, but does this in anyway affect framefrate?
like 4p mario kart/goldeneye/smash is rather slow would this see any improvement?
Australian Kaillera server
[url]hhttp://i56.tinypic.com/ncb0wi.gif[/url]

User avatar
Triton
Moderator
Posts: 7396
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 12:33 pm
360 GamerTag: triton199
Steam ID: triton199
Location: Iowa
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Triton » Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:15 pm

blaze3927 wrote:stop teasing, i want this too much,

a bit over my head to grasp, but does this in anyway affect framefrate?
like 4p mario kart/goldeneye/smash is rather slow would this see any improvement?
not unless you overclock your N64 :wink:

User avatar
marshallh
Moderator
Posts: 2986
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 pm
360 GamerTag: marshallh
Location: here and there
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by marshallh » Sun Feb 19, 2012 1:53 am

sorry no progress, but i noticed how good starcraft's high resolution menus look on this

Image
Image

MockyLock
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:14 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by MockyLock » Sun Feb 19, 2012 3:15 am

Hello marshallh
you're kinda sadist, aren't you ? ;)
You come and tell us that there were no progress, but you tease us with a so nice screen of Starcraft !
Please, tell us that it will be available soon !
Anyway, congratulation for your job :)

justin8571
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 3:07 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by justin8571 » Tue Mar 06, 2012 3:45 am

Hello everyone,

I keep taking a look at this thread once in a while as like everyone else I'm very interested in a VGA adapter. I only play Mario Kart 64 four player (not sure what the native resolution is) and am wondering realistically what size of TV the N64 VGA could display on while still remaining fairly clear.

Justin

MockyLock
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:14 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by MockyLock » Mon Mar 19, 2012 1:33 pm

Hello everyone,
a little post in order to bump this thread, and to encourage marshall.
I follow this post almost everyday, and i must admit that it's hard to wait for it.
See you soon !

User avatar
marshallh
Moderator
Posts: 2986
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 pm
360 GamerTag: marshallh
Location: here and there
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by marshallh » Mon Mar 19, 2012 4:14 pm

still no progress, though i will be returning to this tomorrow or in the near future to polish the show-stopping bugs out so it can be shown at MGC

Image

Image

Image
Image

Haunted360
Posts: 1000
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:22 am
PSN Username: Haunted360
360 GamerTag: Haunted 360
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Haunted360 » Tue Mar 20, 2012 12:44 am

So clear and clean.
Last edited by Haunted360 on Fri Jan 18, 2013 3:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
TSX420J
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:57 am

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by TSX420J » Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:09 am

Can't wait till you get these things rolling!! I want to add one to my super all in one console. Would be great! I hope you make it big man, I can't imagine the things you'd come up with if you had endless resources. Thanks for contributing to the community.
Last edited by TSX420J on Sun Apr 01, 2012 7:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply