VGA output via fpga

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
blaze3927
Portablizer
Posts: 1114
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:14 am
360 GamerTag: notjames
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by blaze3927 » Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:39 pm

want 10wants
Australian Kaillera server
[url]hhttp://i56.tinypic.com/ncb0wi.gif[/url]

Haunted360
Posts: 1000
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:22 am
PSN Username: Haunted360
360 GamerTag: Haunted 360
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Haunted360 » Sat Dec 10, 2011 9:49 pm

lol. I solder my wires like that also. Bending them perfectly and dabbing a tiny amount of hot glue.

As usual Marshall, good work mate.

User avatar
zakurowrath
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 5:59 pm
Location: DFW,Texas
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by zakurowrath » Tue Dec 13, 2011 6:45 pm

:shock: This seriously makes me happy, I mean the first thing I noticed was the copyright 2000 on the motherboard meaning, this mod can be preformed on any N64 with the NUS-CPU-05 revision and higher right? In tern adding RGB to any digital RGB N64. Keep up the wonderful work Mr. Marshall!

User avatar
marshallh
Moderator
Posts: 2986
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 pm
360 GamerTag: marshallh
Location: here and there
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by marshallh » Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:01 pm

This mod can be done on any N64 made, the plan is to make it work with all regions
Image

User avatar
jjhammerstein
Senior Member
Posts: 1562
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: Southern CT
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by jjhammerstein » Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:16 am

What will they cost?
GET FREE WOW GOLD SEX VISIT MODRETRO


User avatar
zakurowrath
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 5:59 pm
Location: DFW,Texas
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by zakurowrath » Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:10 am

marshallh wrote:This mod can be done on any N64 made, the plan is to make it work with all regions
Oh very nice indeed, instead of RGB amps, just a direct bright VGA output at 31hz which is perfect for modern TV's, upscalers and monitors. Can't wait to see this in 2012 soon :)

User avatar
sanni
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 5:52 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by sanni » Mon Jan 02, 2012 6:17 am

Do you plan to add extra things like this: http://www.iryoku.com/smaa/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; or anything similar to enhance the picture quality beyond what is possible with just the N64 alone? Or would that be to much to handle for the fpga?

Would it be possible for the 64drive to communicate with the vga outputting fpga so it could run different settings for different games launched?

Fwirt
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 10:22 pm
Steam ID: Fwirt

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Fwirt » Tue Jan 03, 2012 6:38 pm

Wow, this looks sweet. I've heard that the N64's internal digital signal is identical to the Gamecube's digital out port. If this could be fitted into a Gamecube, it would solve the problem of trying to find those blasted component cables...

Also, considering that the signal is digital to begin with, how hard would it be to make one of these that outputs HDMI instead? :D

MockyLock
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:14 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by MockyLock » Sun Jan 22, 2012 2:08 pm

Hello everyone.
I just wanted to bump this thread and ask for some news.
And congratulate marshallh an all of you that can make such a project become real.
I wait for buying one of your creation. (forgive my english writing, once again, i'm french :)

EDIT: hello sanni, are you the one from the Neo Team forum ? We already talked about the Neo Myth together.

iray1979
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 8:51 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by iray1979 » Sun Jan 22, 2012 9:04 pm

I agree with the above top post...I would like to know status on this as well. I tried sending Marshallh an email previously to see if he would be willing to mod my N64 to mod with fpga (I offered to pay him a fee and obviously for parts) so I can have VGA output to connect it to my LCD TV..have yet to hear back from him on this but I am sure he is very busy...would also be willing to buy one his pre-modded n64 consoles because I really want one! I will be first in line to buy one along with the 64drive!

justin8571
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 3:07 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by justin8571 » Tue Feb 07, 2012 3:37 pm

Hello everyone,

extremely interested in this project, it's exactly what I've been looking for as I don't have the knowledge to attempt it myself. Does anyone know if this has ever been achieved before?

Tried N64 emulators on the PC and the Wii's Virtual Console in search of a higher resolution Mario Kart 64 to use on a modern TV, but as yet it's proved unsuccessful. The VC's version of MK64 is awesome on anything but 4 player where it has a running issue making it unpleasant to play (same on both NTSC and Pal Wiis). N64 emulators on PC look amazing but they're not quite right so this has led me back to the N64 to see what is the best possible signal out, and this looks like the holy grail.

Will be keeping a very close eye in the hope of some progression. Fingers crossed everyone.

Justin

User avatar
jjhammerstein
Senior Member
Posts: 1562
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: Southern CT
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by jjhammerstein » Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:29 am

justin8571 wrote:Hello everyone,

extremely interested in this project, it's exactly what I've been looking for as I don't have the knowledge to attempt it myself. Does anyone know if this has ever been achieved before?

Tried N64 emulators on the PC and the Wii's Virtual Console in search of a higher resolution Mario Kart 64 to use on a modern TV, but as yet it's proved unsuccessful. The VC's version of MK64 is awesome on anything but 4 player where it has a running issue making it unpleasant to play (same on both NTSC and Pal Wiis). N64 emulators on PC look amazing but they're not quite right so this has led me back to the N64 to see what is the best possible signal out, and this looks like the holy grail.

Will be keeping a very close eye in the hope of some progression. Fingers crossed everyone.

Justin
You should try the RGB mod, and find a TV that will accept it. It's the best you can get right now.
GET FREE WOW GOLD SEX VISIT MODRETRO


User avatar
Triton
Moderator
Posts: 7396
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 12:33 pm
360 GamerTag: triton199
Steam ID: triton199
Location: Iowa
Contact:

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Triton » Wed Feb 08, 2012 2:34 pm

:mrgreen: a little teaser :mrgreen:
Image

justin8571
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 3:07 pm

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by justin8571 » Wed Feb 08, 2012 5:06 pm

Mario Kart 64 heaven

User avatar
Lady Eklipse
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 4:57 am

Re: VGA output via fpga

Post by Lady Eklipse » Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:42 am

Triton wrote::mrgreen: a little teaser :mrgreen:
Compared your picture with my RGB output, can't see any notable difference.

Post Reply