how would you power a ps1 (original) ?

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
robsterxd
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:33 pm

how would you power a ps1 (original) ?

Post by robsterxd » Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:43 pm

hi! im building a portable ps1 with an original ps1. but i dont have the slightest clue how to power it. it is the only console i can take the risk and portablise . any help?

User avatar
blaze3927
Portablizer
Posts: 1114
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:14 am
360 GamerTag: notjames
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: how would you power a ps1 (original) ?

Post by blaze3927 » Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:24 pm

theres a pic in the reference section showing the pinouts for the older ps1's power/av
http://forums.benheck.com/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=31501

scroll down to near the bottom

all the best of luck to you
Australian Kaillera server
[url]hhttp://i56.tinypic.com/ncb0wi.gif[/url]

Haunted360
Posts: 1000
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:22 am
PSN Username: Haunted360
360 GamerTag: Haunted 360
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: how would you power a ps1 (original) ?

Post by Haunted360 » Wed Feb 02, 2011 5:55 am

Image

See on the PS1/X (the top console) how it has a brown PCB rectangle to the left of the PS1/X mainboard?

Thats what you do not need. Also, be EXTREMELY CAREFUL with that board because there is 110/240 VAC going though that!!! Do EVERYTHING with it fully unplugged.

But apart from that, you will see wires going from it into the PS1/X mainboard. Those are your DC voltages in which you need to 'replicate' with batteries.

User avatar
DK
Posts: 1107
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 4:00 am
Location: None of your business pedo nerds

Re: how would you power a ps1 (original) ?

Post by DK » Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:36 am

I can assure you the wiring diagram works, my wip portable is using it.
Image

Post Reply