Taking the plunge

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator:Moderators

Bobzilla
Taking the plunge

Post by Bobzilla » Thu May 13, 2010 9:56 pm

Well I've been stocking parts for a few months now and am finally taking the plunge into this exotic new world. I thought about starting a work log but I'll just commit it to memory for now and jot down a few things here and there on this board.

Step one: I grabbed 2 cardboard boxes and sharpied one with SNES mini and the other with N64.
Step two: Rip and tear apart said Nintendos and place parts in corresponding cardboard boxes from Step one.
Step three: 2 barebone systems sitting on my workbench. Working so far on my 13" Sharp with RF Modulator (something just sexy about the word RF Modulator)
Step four: Open up brand new PSone LCD combo purchased from Ebay a few weeks ago. *side note* included receipt attached to box read a sell price of $19.99. I guess things are worse than I could have ever imagined in Tennessee.
Step five: Marvel at the the real beauty of the PSone portion of this combo. Very nice looking I must admit.
Step six: Pitch the PSone back into the box after removing the LCD.
Step seven: Connect SNES mini to PSone LCD, without sound of course. Not doing any solder work just yet. SUCCESS! Nothing broken so far and I'm very pleased at the image quality for Super PO.
Step eight: Connect N64 to PSone LCD, again no sound. SUCCESS! N64 a go although image not looking as good from Turok 2 and that lame ass intro... ugghh... I used to hate that in games.. I mean come on.. I just wanna play the damn game.
Step nine: It's 2am in the morning. GO TO BED!!!

More to come. I want sound tonight. Forgive me for my noobie work but I'm just hoping I might get a little encouragement from veterans. You are all legends in my book. Don't get too excited. My book is exactly 3 pages long and made out of construction paper.