fuzzy screen?

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
blaze3927
Portablizer
Posts: 1114
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:14 am
360 GamerTag: notjames
Location: Australia
Contact:

fuzzy screen?

Post by blaze3927 » Sat May 01, 2010 7:48 am

im s close to finishing i can ...i can....well im just really close
for some reason my screen is fuzzy
its either
ground is too long or too thin
power "" "" ""
video "" "" ""

is one more likely to be the cause than the other?
Australian Kaillera server
[url]hhttp://i56.tinypic.com/ncb0wi.gif[/url]

Jidan
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 6:30 pm

Re: fuzzy screen?

Post by Jidan » Sat May 01, 2010 8:31 am

Use at least 22 gauge wire for your power and ground. You shouldn't have to worry about length of the wire as much as the gauge. Try to replace those wires and see what happens.

I couuuuuuuuld be wrong :mrgreen:

User avatar
timmeh87
Senior Member
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:19 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: fuzzy screen?

Post by timmeh87 » Sat May 01, 2010 2:35 pm

the pth08080 has been implicated in causing noise on the power lines which can lead to some video problems. AFAIK no one has actually scoped it out with a real scope. You could try adding some chokes (inductors) in random places.
Image

"Linux is only free if your time is worthless"

User avatar
blaze3927
Portablizer
Posts: 1114
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:14 am
360 GamerTag: notjames
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: fuzzy screen?

Post by blaze3927 » Sun May 02, 2010 2:10 am

hmm welli tried increasing the gauge on
power -did nothing
added
video - did nothing
added
grounnd - went wrong somewhere so had to remove, screen still has same diagonal rolling lines and major discolouration, and now link wont walk up or down :'(
will fix next week
Australian Kaillera server
[url]hhttp://i56.tinypic.com/ncb0wi.gif[/url]

User avatar
blaze3927
Portablizer
Posts: 1114
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:14 am
360 GamerTag: notjames
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: fuzzy screen?

Post by blaze3927 » Sat May 08, 2010 1:46 am

edit found this link
http://www.designers-guide.org/Design/bypassing.pdf

ive tried a 220uf 25v cap in the bypass technique without any success

any other ideas?
Australian Kaillera server
[url]hhttp://i56.tinypic.com/ncb0wi.gif[/url]

User avatar
limpport
Senior Member
Posts: 1873
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 12:32 pm
Location: (the only person here from) Vermont
Contact:

Re: fuzzy screen?

Post by limpport » Sat May 08, 2010 10:23 am

Can you test the screen on a different system? Can you test the N64 on a different screen? That'll isolate the problem to either the screen or the N64.

Post Reply