Almost finished DCp In Progress! UPDATE: Video on Page 3!

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Klaymator14
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 11:27 pm
PSN Username: Klaymator14
Location: Earth
Contact:

Almost finished DCp In Progress! UPDATE: Video on Page 3!

Post by Klaymator14 » Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:55 pm

Good news! I got the DC board hooked up to my screen, but no audio yet. As I still need my new picoPSU, at the moment I am just running it off my old DC PSU. So, I am pretty happy at the moment, this is my first project working with electronics basically, so I am learning a lot along the way. I'll post some pics tomorrow. So yeah! I can't wait to see how I will do this. Any ideas for cases?

-Blayke
Last edited by Klaymator14 on Mon Nov 23, 2009 9:23 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Nothing to see here.

Axaj
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 8:52 pm
Location: ur mom

Re: New DCp In Progress!

Post by Axaj » Mon Oct 19, 2009 7:57 pm

You should have a built-in wifi bridge!
haterz wrote:omg nuh-uh u liar i have a big ps1 and a small 1 and the big 1 is biger on the owtsides so its biger on the insides too cuz otherwise itd b smaler on the owtsides liar

User avatar
Klaymator14
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 11:27 pm
PSN Username: Klaymator14
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: New DCp In Progress!

Post by Klaymator14 » Mon Oct 19, 2009 8:27 pm

Lol, yeah right, for a beginner's project? LOL. Is that even possible to get wifi out of a 56k modem?
EDIT: Oh, by the way, I got my picoPSU and battery, I hooked it all up, but now the screen gives a wavey look. Is the ground not connected properly? Because I hooked it up to my TV and it worked fine... Should I reconnect the ground?

-Blayke :P
Nothing to see here.

User avatar
HotDog-Cart
Portablizer
Posts: 3804
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 12:07 pm
PSN Username: Lythinca
Steam ID: scythe_king
Location: Your IP Address, Connecting...
Contact:

Re: New DCp In Progress!

Post by HotDog-Cart » Thu Oct 22, 2009 7:43 am

Are you sure the system/screen is getting enough power?
Image

User avatar
Klaymator14
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 11:27 pm
PSN Username: Klaymator14
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: New DCp In Progress!

Post by Klaymator14 » Thu Oct 22, 2009 12:50 pm

Yeah, that was the problem, I couldn't get my battery to charge lol. But it's charging now due to instructions given my the Ebay seller, haha. I'll test ut out, and I'll post pictures of it working!

-Blayke
Nothing to see here.

User avatar
hailrazer
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 2764
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: Georgia Sweet Georgia

Re: New DCp In Progress!

Post by hailrazer » Fri Oct 23, 2009 3:07 pm

Ok well this battery is a turd. They lied just a bit on the Amp Hours.

After three full charges and three drains I can confirm this battery is no more than a 650mA battery.

Tested with a Gamecube needing 1.5A. This battery will run it for less than 30 minutes on each test.

Stupid Hong Kong BS !!! :evil:
My Portable Systems:
Image
-----Genimini---------Darth64---------Dreamtrooper--------Ncube---------Kamikazi64---N64Boy Advance

User avatar
Klaymator14
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 11:27 pm
PSN Username: Klaymator14
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: New DCp In Progress!

Post by Klaymator14 » Sun Oct 25, 2009 11:30 pm

Awesome! So I ordered 3 LiPo 3.7 5000 mAH battery cells, a 11.1v PCB, and smart charger, just like you Hail :P So anyway, they were expensive, but I am doing basically anything to complete this project! :D

-Blayke
Nothing to see here.

User avatar
Klaymator14
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 11:27 pm
PSN Username: Klaymator14
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: New DCp In Progress! UPDATE: New question!

Post by Klaymator14 » Mon Oct 26, 2009 4:45 pm

When hooking up the GD-ROM drive using these diagrams,

Image
Image

Do I hook up the A1 to B1, A2 to B2, etc.? Thanks if you can help!
Nothing to see here.

User avatar
Klaymator14
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 11:27 pm
PSN Username: Klaymator14
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: New DCp In Progress! UPDATE: Another Question!

Post by Klaymator14 » Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:23 pm

That's fine... no one needs to help... :(
Nothing to see here.

grayfox126
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 11:49 pm

Re: New DCp In Progress! UPDATE: Another Question!

Post by grayfox126 » Wed Oct 28, 2009 7:57 pm

Hey, if you got those pic from this thread http://benheck.com/forum/viewtopic.php? ... on#p358818, look at the pictures of the GDrom board, versus the mobo. If you didn't get those pics from there, go check that thread out. But, by looking at the pictures you posted, the contacts on the GDrom board are labeled by the aurthor and not actually on the board. A1 on the GDrom board should go to A1 on the mobo. As shown by the picture, once you remove the connector on the mobo, it'll have the pins ordered A1-A25 as well as B1-B25. Hope that helps.

User avatar
Klaymator14
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 11:27 pm
PSN Username: Klaymator14
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: New DCp In Progress! UPDATE: Another Question!

Post by Klaymator14 » Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:18 pm

I love you Grayfox! lol. Thanks for the help! Now, The grounding that is on the edges of the Dreamcast board, I can remove right to make it smaller? If I can, how would I remove it? With sandpaper? Thanks if you can help!

-Blayke
Nothing to see here.

grayfox126
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 11:49 pm

Re: New DCp In Progress! UPDATE: Another Question!

Post by grayfox126 » Fri Oct 30, 2009 2:15 am

Check out bacteria's project http://forums.benheck.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=32411. He did this exact thing I believe, as far as cutting the PCB check this forum http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showt ... hp?t=25888, lots of tips there. We can't do all the research for you ;)

User avatar
Klaymator14
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 11:27 pm
PSN Username: Klaymator14
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: New DCp In Progress! UPDATE: Another Question!

Post by Klaymator14 » Fri Oct 30, 2009 11:12 am

Ok, Thanks a lot! I can say I did get a little lazy with researching, Sorry about that, I'll be sure to keep that on track :P My batteries should arrive here pretty soon, so I can get that wired up today. Luckily, Batteryspace doesn't have to ship that far to get to my house, it's only about 2 1/2 hours away :D

Thanks again!

-Blayke
Nothing to see here.

User avatar
Klaymator14
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 11:27 pm
PSN Username: Klaymator14
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: New DCp In Progress! UPDATE: Another Question!

Post by Klaymator14 » Fri Oct 30, 2009 7:24 pm

Sorry... but another question, I tried to do research, but I couldn't find anything on it. Basically, I am just having trouble wiring my Li-po's, and I don't want to get it wrong and make a battery explode or something. I just need to know how to wire the batteries on the PCB I got.

I have three 3.7v 5000 mAh batteries, and I want to hook them up in series to get 11.1v. It says that I can hook up three batteries. Do I hook up all positive ends to the B+ and the first battery to B1-, the second to B2-, and so on? Thanks if you can help :)

Here is a pic of the PCB:

Image


-Blayke
Nothing to see here.

User avatar
hailrazer
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 2764
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: Georgia Sweet Georgia

Re: New DCp In Progress! UPDATE: Another Question!

Post by hailrazer » Fri Oct 30, 2009 7:36 pm

Image

Weird yes but the B3- is not used. The batteries are in series as you know. :)
My Portable Systems:
Image
-----Genimini---------Darth64---------Dreamtrooper--------Ncube---------Kamikazi64---N64Boy Advance

Post Reply