Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
what
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 8:20 am
Location: The Mushroom Kingdom of Hyrule

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by what » Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:53 pm

Kibble, your avatar is terrifying.

User avatar
Triton
Moderator
Posts: 7395
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 12:33 pm
360 GamerTag: triton199
Steam ID: triton199
Location: Iowa
Contact:

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by Triton » Mon Dec 21, 2009 5:07 pm

bump, i demand progress! :lol:
ImageImageImage
Visit us at Portablesofdoom.org

User avatar
chainfire95
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 11:13 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by chainfire95 » Mon Dec 21, 2009 5:58 pm

I concur.
A truly wise man can entertain a thought without accepting it. A fool cannot withhold past judgments but instead closes his mine to new possibilities. Someone who wants to innovate simply needs to forget what everyone says isn't possible.

User avatar
Pkmnjunky7
Portablizer
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: In the shadows, to the left.
Contact:

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by Pkmnjunky7 » Mon Dec 21, 2009 6:06 pm

I want progress nowwwwwwww!!!!

Image
Image

User avatar
kibble
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:41 am

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by kibble » Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:26 pm

NEVAR!!!!!!11111!!!!11oneoneone..... JK

Still not much to talk about, guys. :( Although I did get a new bottle of developer and blank board so I can make more boards to do testing with. I get a few days off in a row next week (YES!!!) so I should have some time to do something with this. Still working on redesigning the board too.

Still haven't ordered the LCD, sigh... But I'm hoping to get to it soon.
Coming Soon: Kibble's L'Ectroshop (parts and stuff FS)

User avatar
dragonhead
Posts: 952
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:28 pm
Location: NH, USA
Contact:

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by dragonhead » Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:15 am

kibble wrote:NEVAR!!!!!!11111!!!!11oneoneone..... JK

Still not much to talk about, guys. :( Although I did get a new bottle of developer and blank board so I can make more boards to do testing with. I get a few days off in a row next week (YES!!!) so I should have some time to do something with this. Still working on redesigning the board too.

Still haven't ordered the LCD, sigh... But I'm hoping to get to it soon.
you know, im really surprised there isnt a program out there that will automatically arrange pcb components in the most compact way possible... someone needs to invent that.

anyway, i look forward to seeing the first working prototype.

User avatar
Triton
Moderator
Posts: 7395
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 12:33 pm
360 GamerTag: triton199
Steam ID: triton199
Location: Iowa
Contact:

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by Triton » Wed Dec 23, 2009 1:39 am

I know there are some programs that can do auto routing, but better results are gotten when its done by hand generally as far as board sizes go
ImageImageImage
Visit us at Portablesofdoom.org

User avatar
Steamdnt
Posts: 184
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 9:24 pm
PSN Username: xboxlive_adm
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by Steamdnt » Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:26 am

As triton said, Auto-routing sucks, And, Correct me if I am wrong, he is using Eagle CAD? Pretty bad Auto-route as far as PCB design goes.
- Formerly known as DNT 2.5
A wild Website link has appeared.

User avatar
kibble
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:41 am

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by kibble » Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:53 am

Yeah, at one point I tried autorouting some really basic traces with EAGLE and they turned to crap! Some went in directions that just didn't make sense. I ended up having to manually route ALL the traces from CPU to RCP to get them to look the way I wanted. That's the part that takes the longest IMO.
Coming Soon: Kibble's L'Ectroshop (parts and stuff FS)

User avatar
kibble
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:41 am

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by kibble » Sun Jan 31, 2010 11:58 pm

I've been MIA for a while due to other crap going on, but have come to update a bit.

1: I tried a different method of getting the rumble and memory to work together. I thought about maybe being able to just switch the power between the two devices and leaving all the data lines intact (not really what I wanted to do, but figured I'd give it a shot). First, it didn't work at all, well, actually, the rumble worked flawlessly, but the memory was another story. Second, I tried the memory by itself to see how it would behave leaving all the data lines connected together and removing power.... the data stored on the chip got corrupted. Ok so this doesn't work. I'll have to try something else. It seems like there is something with the rumble chip that interferes with the data from the memory chip and I'm going to have to figure out a way around it. If only there was a datasheet for the rumble chip, it would help A LOT!

2: Going through a major redesign of the t64 board. Still in the works and slow progress, but it's not a dead project. :wink:
Coming Soon: Kibble's L'Ectroshop (parts and stuff FS)

User avatar
Knux the Fox
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 3:54 pm
Steam ID: knuxthefox
Location: Lincoln, IL
Contact:

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by Knux the Fox » Wed Feb 03, 2010 4:14 am

This has got to be the project I've been anticipating the most of all projects on this site.

User avatar
technoforlive
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 11:05 am
Location: blody hot caribean

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by technoforlive » Fri Feb 19, 2010 12:25 pm

i want PPPPPPPPPPPRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11111111111111111111111111!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!ONEONEONE :P so when are you gonna post a progress note
a hackable dj right here
Image

User avatar
stuntpenguin007
Posts: 667
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 12:21 pm

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by stuntpenguin007 » Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:31 pm

Kibble owes us progress updates :twisted:

I think
SNESP WIP
Case - 50%
acquired parts - 90%
assembly - 0%

User avatar
kibble
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:41 am

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by kibble » Sat Feb 27, 2010 11:52 am

So harsh to say I "owe you" progress updates! :P

Don't worry, I haven't stopped on this project, everything is just going along about as slow as molasses going uphill on a cold winter day.

One new thing I did come up with that I'm trying to do is get a gamecube or psp nub analog stick to work with an original n64 controller chip. I will use a microcontroller to interface between the two.

I'm holding off a bit on finishing up the redesigned board until I can get things working the way I want them to to minimize having to change things around too much later on.
Coming Soon: Kibble's L'Ectroshop (parts and stuff FS)

User avatar
mako321
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 6:27 am

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by mako321 » Sat Feb 27, 2010 1:35 pm

awesome, so you didn't die in a car accident or bombing!
(also, I hope your n64 is coming along nicely)

Locked