Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
User avatar
kibble
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:41 am

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by kibble » Sat Oct 24, 2009 8:17 pm

mako321 wrote:they had a 512 meg drive that was like 50 bucks!(at the time when a 4 gig cost that much) it was sad, and it was covered in dust.
LOL, that is sad.

Got around to designing the rumble pak on a 32 pin DIP for experimenting. It'll have just the basic rumble pak components wired just like a 1Mb SRAM chip. It will also contain a tiny vibrating motor so I can see if it's working or not.

Image
Coming Soon: Kibble's L'Ectroshop (parts and stuff FS)

User avatar
snowpenguin
Posts: 1306
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 4:10 pm

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by snowpenguin » Sat Oct 24, 2009 8:20 pm

Are you actually having a chip made (is that even possible in one run experiments...?), or will it just be like a circuit board with pins sticking down?
Image

User avatar
kibble
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:41 am

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by kibble » Sat Oct 24, 2009 8:51 pm

No, not a chip, it'll just be a little circuit board with pins on the bottom so I can stick it on a bread board.
Coming Soon: Kibble's L'Ectroshop (parts and stuff FS)

User avatar
kibble
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:41 am

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by kibble » Wed Oct 28, 2009 8:40 pm

Got around to finishing up that rumble circuit, here 'tis:

Image

I'm starting to get the feeling that these boards with photo resist I've been using are causing me problems. In some areas, the resist doesn't completely develop and I get copper bridges that I later have to go and scrape off. I never had this problem with MG brand boards but the ones I've been using lately are GC brand boards. Notice how there's also bits of copper scattered in some areas of the board...

Image

I used some glass paint to make a sort of solder mask. I used an airbrush to spray the stuff on so I'd get a thin layer. You have to bake the stuff after letting it dry for 24hrs. I'm thinking maybe I should have used a lighter color.

Image

Here's after baking it and scrapping off the areas where I need to solder too. Didn't turn out as great as I would have hoped.

Image

Board populated with components. I thought I had some straight, inline pins but I guess I'm out or I just can't find them. I guess I'll have to go buy some more.

Image

And this is what happens when you're bored and playing with an airbrush: :facepalm:

Image
Coming Soon: Kibble's L'Ectroshop (parts and stuff FS)

User avatar
mako321
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 6:27 am

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by mako321 » Wed Oct 28, 2009 8:44 pm

:facepalm:
lol

User avatar
kibble
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:41 am

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by kibble » Thu Oct 29, 2009 5:51 pm

'Tis finished! Now I can mess with it without having wires all over the place.

Image
Coming Soon: Kibble's L'Ectroshop (parts and stuff FS)


User avatar
Metallica Man X
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 1437
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 1:14 pm
Location: A very anti-metal place...WI...
Contact:

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by Metallica Man X » Thu Oct 29, 2009 6:27 pm

I can sum that up with only 2 sylables. AWESOME!
Image
The answer to 1984 is 1776!
"One of the penalties for refusing to participate in politics is that you end up being governed by your inferiors." - Plato

User avatar
smitty
Posts: 372
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 3:45 pm
Location: the band room
Contact:

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by smitty » Thu Oct 29, 2009 6:57 pm

:shock: :shock: Cool! My rumble pak is huge. Not sure what it looks like inside, though.
Mario wrote:Yes, I've gone to my local Wal-Mart and was amazed at their selection of resistors, inductors, and FPGA chips. :roll:
Image

User avatar
blaze3927
Portablizer
Posts: 1114
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 6:14 am
360 GamerTag: notjames
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by blaze3927 » Thu Oct 29, 2009 9:49 pm

:D :!:
Australian Kaillera server
[url]hhttp://i56.tinypic.com/ncb0wi.gif[/url]

User avatar
XCVG
Senior Member
Posts: 1947
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:10 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by XCVG » Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:51 pm

That's pretty sweet. +1 on the solder mask idea.
kibble wrote:'Tis finished! Now I can mess with it without having wires all over the place.
kibble wrote:Got around to finishing up that rumble circuit, here 'tis:
I'm starting to get the feeling that these boards with photo resist I've been using are causing me problems. In some areas, the resist doesn't completely develop and I get copper bridges that I later have to go and scrape off. I never had this problem with MG brand boards but the ones I've been using lately are GC brand boards. Notice how there's also bits of copper scattered in some areas of the board...
Yeah, I would say go back to the MG boards.

runkillerrabbit
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 3:10 am

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by runkillerrabbit » Mon Nov 02, 2009 2:26 am

damn that looks good!

User avatar
dragonhead
Posts: 952
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:28 pm
Location: NH, USA
Contact:

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by dragonhead » Fri Nov 13, 2009 2:44 pm

bump for great justice! how are things going with this?

what
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 8:20 am
Location: The Mushroom Kingdom of Hyrule

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by what » Mon Nov 16, 2009 5:49 pm

This has got to be the most intense project that I have seen so far on this site. All of the work you have done so far appears to be totally awesome, even though I understood under 10% of it, as I am a noob. Good luck, I'm really hoping it works out.

User avatar
kibble
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:41 am

Re: Do we have room for another N64P? (t64 WIP)

Post by kibble » Tue Nov 17, 2009 9:41 am

I haven't had much time to work on this as I've been really busy with work. :( Plus I can't seem to find the right connector for that screen I want to order from DigiKey. :|

Don't worry, more updates soon, hopefully.
Coming Soon: Kibble's L'Ectroshop (parts and stuff FS)

Locked