Mario paint blues. help?

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
clpahr
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 8:44 am

Mario paint blues. help?

Post by clpahr » Sun Mar 01, 2009 3:49 pm

so mario paint was one of my favorite games as a child. but i've realized that when i demolish my snes and make it into a pretty new portable, i will lose all that is my mario paint. i thought that i may be able to use the mouse in the 2nd controller port and all would be grand. (i plan to have a 2nd player port as it is) however, that does not work.

does anyone have any ideas on how to integrate the mario paint mouse into my portable plans? maybe some sort of bypass that overwrites the built in first player controls when you plug the mouse in. idk.

suggestions?

thanks.
Last edited by clpahr on Sun Mar 01, 2009 5:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-clpahr-

User avatar
AfroLH
Posts: 725
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 6:31 pm
Location: Down da Baya
Contact:

Re: Mario paint blues. help?

Post by AfroLH » Sun Mar 01, 2009 3:59 pm

IDK if this is possible but...
What about possibly making a Track Pad?
Like on a laptop.

That would be amazing. Although I don't know how you would do it.

nevermind1534
Senior Member
Posts: 1977
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:36 pm
Steam ID: nevermind1534
Location: Detroit, MI
Contact:

Re: Mario paint blues. help?

Post by nevermind1534 » Sun Mar 01, 2009 4:14 pm

AfroLH wrote:IDK if this is possible but...
What about possibly making a Track Pad?
Like on a laptop.

That would be amazing. Although I don't know how you would do it.
Maybe if you pulled apart the mario paint mouse. Ore the other type of laptop mouse thing that looks almost like a pencil eraser?
Kyo wrote:"does anyone here know how to fly a plane?"

"STAND BACK EVERYBODY, I HAVE A FAKE ID"

User avatar
Kurt_
Portablizer
Posts: 5748
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:32 am
Steam ID: kurbert
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Mario paint blues. help?

Post by Kurt_ » Sun Mar 01, 2009 4:59 pm

Image

CONTROLLER PORTS.

Even just adding one 2nd player port will only cost you 7 wires and about 1cm x 1.5cm x 3cm of space.

Keep it simple. Change your plans a little. Add that extra 1.5cm on the side.
Hey, sup?

User avatar
clpahr
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 8:44 am

Re: Mario paint blues. help?

Post by clpahr » Sun Mar 01, 2009 5:28 pm

sweet. could it be that simple? glory.

but how would that work? having both the 1st player port, and the built in 1st player controls. can anyone show me how that would be wired up?

thanks! that's gonna be my new plan.
-clpahr-

User avatar
XCVG
Senior Member
Posts: 1947
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:10 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Mario paint blues. help?

Post by XCVG » Sun Mar 01, 2009 5:59 pm

I think you can just switch ground.

User avatar
Kurt_
Portablizer
Posts: 5748
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:32 am
Steam ID: kurbert
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Mario paint blues. help?

Post by Kurt_ » Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:26 pm

Actually you switch clock. That's the thing that messes up the signals.

But you don't even need a first player port if you don't want (as long as the mouse works with the second port as well, I'm not sure, never tried).
Hey, sup?

User avatar
mmoshkowich
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:52 pm
PSN Username: mikedacat
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: Mario paint blues. help?

Post by mmoshkowich » Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:30 pm

i thought that i may be able to use the mouse in the 2nd controller port and all would be grand. (i plan to have a 2nd player port as it is) however, that does not work.

User avatar
clpahr
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 8:44 am

Re: Mario paint blues. help?

Post by clpahr » Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:35 pm

yeah. the mouse does not work in the second player port. :( that's my dilemma. i am planning on putting the 2nd controller port on it anyhow. but i don't know a way to integrate a separate port with the build in controls. so i can play whith the built in controls with other games, but when it's paint time i can just hook up the mouse and get to it. but the mouse only works through the 1st control port. :(
-clpahr-

User avatar
Kurt_
Portablizer
Posts: 5748
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:32 am
Steam ID: kurbert
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Mario paint blues. help?

Post by Kurt_ » Sun Mar 01, 2009 7:10 pm

I don't know what you're frowning about. It's possible. Many have done it. It's been done by me (Look up). All you need is a switch.
Hey, sup?

User avatar
clpahr
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 8:44 am

Re: Mario paint blues. help?

Post by clpahr » Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:28 pm

cool. thanks. this is just my first one, so i'm not sure how to go about some of these things.
-clpahr-

User avatar
Kurt_
Portablizer
Posts: 5748
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:32 am
Steam ID: kurbert
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Mario paint blues. help?

Post by Kurt_ » Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:43 pm

There's two ways you can go about this, one is significantly easier than the other.

1) Using a desoldering iron or soldering iron/desoldering bulb, and lots of flux, desolder the controller port from the motherboard.

2) Rewire each connection, adding a SPST switch (single-pole, single-throw, ie. two-position) in between. Most of these switches come with 6 pins. Each position will have two, with a common one in between that also has two.

The SPST switch will connect the clock lines and +5V (or ground) lines from the motherboard to the controller port. The other side (the two unused pins) will be connected to the +5V and clock pins of your onboard controller. If you need a diagram (It'd be much easier to see what I mean), I can provide one.

This way, only one or the other are switched, if you will, on at any point in time, eliminating interference between the two.

Pinouts are here:
http://pinouts.ru/Game/snescontroller_pinout.shtml


Way two:

Do everything above except desolder the controller ports. This will be the case if you like where they're positioned on your case. Using wire cutters, cut the clock and 5V connections, or the clock and ground connections, and put the switch there just like above.


Here's a diagram I drew. It's a little messy, but you should get the idea:

Image
Last edited by Kurt_ on Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Hey, sup?

User avatar
clpahr
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 8:44 am

Re: Mario paint blues. help?

Post by clpahr » Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:51 pm

great. :) i can't thank you enough. i'm selling both of my original sneses for $$$ to buy a mini and other supplies. i thought i might as well sell mario paint if i wasn't gonna be able to use it lol. thanks though. now i can get to work and take mario paint along for the ride. thanks again.
-clpahr-

User avatar
XCVG
Senior Member
Posts: 1947
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:10 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Mario paint blues. help?

Post by XCVG » Sun Mar 01, 2009 9:11 pm

Actually, you need a DPDT, not an SPDT, switch.

User avatar
Kurt_
Portablizer
Posts: 5748
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:32 am
Steam ID: kurbert
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Mario paint blues. help?

Post by Kurt_ » Sun Mar 01, 2009 9:49 pm

Ah. You're right.

For those confused, wikipedia has the answers to all your questions:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Switch#Con ... rangements
Hey, sup?

Post Reply