Retro Duo Questions!

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
mmoshkowich
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:52 pm
PSN Username: mikedacat
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: Retro Duo Questions!

Post by mmoshkowich » Mon Feb 23, 2009 9:21 pm

Nope no markings at all. lovablechevy never posted how to get it working mabey rekarp can help I know he made a duop.

User avatar
mmoshkowich
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:52 pm
PSN Username: mikedacat
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: Retro Duo Questions!

Post by mmoshkowich » Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:36 pm

bump need help

User avatar
Life of Brian
Moderator
Posts: 2867
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: Retro Duo Questions!

Post by Life of Brian » Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:03 pm

Get a multimeter and you can answer these questions for yourself.
dragonhead wrote:sweet. ive spent a third of my life on benheck!
Image

User avatar
mmoshkowich
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:52 pm
PSN Username: mikedacat
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: Retro Duo Questions!

Post by mmoshkowich » Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:33 pm

mmoshkowich wrote:No multimeter :( , My mom wont let me buy anymore tools besides a dremel until I finish this portable

User avatar
Tibia
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 2:02 pm
PSN Username: Tibia1013
Steam ID: Mulder101361
Location: Istanbul, not Constantinople
Contact:

Re: Retro Duo Questions!

Post by Tibia » Wed Feb 25, 2009 11:29 am

Tell her you NEED it to finish this portable. It's going to be even more important than the Dremel once you start hooking things up and need to check connections.
This post brought to you by David Duchovny's glorious nipples.

User avatar
mmoshkowich
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:52 pm
PSN Username: mikedacat
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: Retro Duo Questions!

Post by mmoshkowich » Wed Feb 25, 2009 3:46 pm

I just had a good Idea that i will try in an hour or so. I will hook up 7.5v to the the end tip that madhacker said was positive. then i will hook up one line of the other 2 pins to ground and then bridge it to the unused pin. Before when I tried I hooked up 2 wires from ground and 1 wire from 7.5V. It didn't work :( . Right now I kinda have it like ghetto rigged. I found an adapter that would fit into it then I cut the wire and hooked up the positive to 7.5V and Negative to ground. So its kinda like this

Screen Mobo -- Ghetto Rigged Male Power Suply -- Retro Duo

I'm going to figure out how to get it like this

Screen Mobo -- Retro Duo

I will do it or Die trying :shock:

User avatar
mmoshkowich
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:52 pm
PSN Username: mikedacat
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: Retro Duo Questions!

Post by mmoshkowich » Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:01 pm

my bad I meant 5V I was typing out of my ass. I was Staring at my new LI-Po's. :lol:

User avatar
mmoshkowich
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:52 pm
PSN Username: mikedacat
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: Retro Duo Questions!

Post by mmoshkowich » Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:23 pm

It worked It Worked It Worked :D :D :D :D :D :D ! I will make a tutorial later!

User avatar
themadhacker
Senior Member
Posts: 2670
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:53 pm
Location: ohio

Re: Retro Duo Questions!

Post by themadhacker » Thu Feb 26, 2009 7:37 am

cool, sorry I couldn't get the pics you asked for yet. do you still want them since you figured this out?
rest in peace, Ronnie James Dio! \m/

User avatar
mmoshkowich
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:52 pm
PSN Username: mikedacat
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: Retro Duo Questions!

Post by mmoshkowich » Thu Feb 26, 2009 1:36 pm

nope I don't need them anymore, if anybody needs the tutorial is a few threads down.

User avatar
gamerjr
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 9:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Retro Duo Questions!

Post by gamerjr » Mon Mar 02, 2009 4:44 pm

Can i see your wiring diagram for the PSOne screen im going to be using the Retro Duo board and there isnt any that i can see besides the one but it only shows the board

User avatar
bacteria
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 3984
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:14 am
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Retro Duo Questions!

Post by bacteria » Wed Mar 11, 2009 7:32 pm

You just take a 7.4v cell, wire it to a 7805 and feed that to your RetroDuo. That is what I did to get mine working to test it. The 7805 outputs 5.05v which is ideal.
Image

User avatar
mmoshkowich
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:52 pm
PSN Username: mikedacat
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: Retro Duo Questions!

Post by mmoshkowich » Wed Mar 11, 2009 7:39 pm

yep that's right bacteria. Are you juggling 3 projects at once?

Post Reply