The Master Boy - Sega master system portable

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
mothatrucka
Banned
Posts: 588
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:21 pm

Post by mothatrucka » Sat Jul 26, 2008 11:03 am

The Genesis is NOT the Master System.
ImageImage
TRUCK- Eating kittens and kicking puppies since 1982.

User avatar
phantom92opera
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 11:07 pm

Post by phantom92opera » Sat Jul 26, 2008 1:38 pm

did u even click on the link..? they have the same pinout

if thats not good enof heres another
http://members.optushome.com.au/eviltim ... .htm#mega2

User avatar
sam_thornley
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 7:32 pm
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Contact:

Post by sam_thornley » Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:34 pm

Sorry about late reply, i havnt been on these forums for a wile. But now i'm back.

Anyway, thanks for more comments and questions.

For bacteria and for anyone else who needs it:

The web page i used to get RGB and audio from the master system 2.

http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/console/sega/sms2-av.htm

Scroll down past half way and it explians where to get RGB and Audio from the board.

cmon:

I took 5v from the master systems 7805 to switch the psone screen in to RGB mode.

User avatar
c_mon
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:45 am
Location: Turkey

Post by c_mon » Wed Jul 30, 2008 5:22 am

sam_thornley wrote:Sorry about late reply, i havnt been on these forums for a wile. But now i'm back.

Anyway, thanks for more comments and questions.

For bacteria and for anyone else who needs it:

The web page i used to get RGB and audio from the master system 2.

http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/console/sega/sms2-av.htm

Scroll down past half way and it explians where to get RGB and Audio from the board.

cmon:

I took 5v from the master systems 7805 to switch the psone screen in to RGB mode.
Did you also use those mentioned capacitors in your portable? Does PSOne screen need them?

User avatar
bacteria
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 3984
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:14 am
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Post by bacteria » Wed Jul 30, 2008 8:19 am

The Amstrad GX4000 seems to use an 8 pin din socket too. It will be interesting to mod that system.
Image

User avatar
sam_thornley
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 7:32 pm
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Contact:

Post by sam_thornley » Wed Jul 30, 2008 6:15 pm

At first I tried 220uF caps on each of the RGB lines, but after about 10 minutes the picture would get darker and darker. :? So i connected the RGB lines directly and the picture was fine, sharp and bright. The PSone screen has its own line caps onboard because it was designed to connect directly to the PSone.

If anyone wants a diagram on how to conect the psone screen to a master system 2 board (RGB+audio) let me know. As i could do one if needed. :)

User avatar
c_mon
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:45 am
Location: Turkey

Post by c_mon » Fri Aug 01, 2008 12:26 pm

sam_thornley wrote:At first I tried 220uF caps on each of the RGB lines, but after about 10 minutes the picture would get darker and darker. :? So i connected the RGB lines directly and the picture was fine, sharp and bright. The PSone screen has its own line caps onboard because it was designed to connect directly to the PSone.

If anyone wants a diagram on how to conect the psone screen to a master system 2 board (RGB+audio) let me know. As i could do one if needed. :)
Please do it. That'd be appreciated. Thanks in advance...

User avatar
sam_thornley
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 7:32 pm
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Contact:

Post by sam_thornley » Sat Aug 02, 2008 9:33 am

ok, i'm working on a diagram now. Will be posted here in a day or two.

User avatar
sam_thornley
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 7:32 pm
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Contact:

Post by sam_thornley » Mon Aug 04, 2008 8:38 am

Here's the diagram for conecting a master system 2 to a psone screen:

Image

A fullsize image of the underside of the Sony CXA1145:

Image
Last edited by sam_thornley on Sat Aug 08, 2009 8:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
c_mon
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:45 am
Location: Turkey

Post by c_mon » Tue Aug 05, 2008 9:29 am

Thanks for this info. That helped a lot...

Post Reply