Started first SnesP (PAL Fullsize), now with Pics

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
bacteria
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 3984
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:14 am
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Post by bacteria » Thu May 29, 2008 7:44 pm

On page 4 of my project (N64 section), I showed:

Image

1.3amps for a full-size PAL SNES.

You also need to add the amps needed for your screen....
Image

User avatar
Turbo Tax 1.0
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 4772
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Delaware, no sales tax
Contact:

Post by Turbo Tax 1.0 » Thu May 29, 2008 9:04 pm

somebody needs to check the draw of one, that thing cant draw that much.

seems like so much
when life gives you lemons make flux
Image
snesp mk4

User avatar
Sledge Hammer
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:56 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Sledge Hammer » Fri May 30, 2008 8:29 am

Measured the current consumption today:
The Full Size PAL SNES (older model) draws 300mA (with gamemodule).

My screen draws 800mA in PAL mode and 900mA in NTSC mode (without speakers and LED).

Together they draw 1100mA.

So powered the SNES by its own power supply (1000mA)and the screen by another power supply (1100mA).
But still no image.
But now the screen stays white without the vertical lines.

I only tried RGB (without 5V and Sync connected).
Maybe I give SVideo another try later.


-Ich habe fertig-

User avatar
Turbo Tax 1.0
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 4772
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Delaware, no sales tax
Contact:

Post by Turbo Tax 1.0 » Fri May 30, 2008 3:15 pm

orange cable from board to lcd in tact?

try it on a normal tv while running off of batteries
when life gives you lemons make flux
Image
snesp mk4

User avatar
Sledge Hammer
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:56 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Sledge Hammer » Sat May 31, 2008 12:22 am

I dont have batteries yet.

And which orange cable do you mean?

User avatar
bacteria
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 3984
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:14 am
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Post by bacteria » Sat May 31, 2008 5:00 am

White screen = no signal. Check you have connected the cables required (depending on which you are doing), as per my previous posting, and that you have connected the ground from the screen to the ground of the SNES:

Composite - composite video (or chroma+luma joined), ground

S-video - Chroma, Luma, ground.

RGB - red, green, blue, C-sync (also known as composite sync), ground.
Image

User avatar
Sledge Hammer
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:56 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Sledge Hammer » Mon Jun 09, 2008 1:55 pm

I gave the screen another try, connected by its own power source.
I tried SVideo C and Y, and RGB (without sync since Pin 3 gives 5V instead of CSync), but only got these damn vertical lines.
So I will screw that screen and get a new screen soon, but so far no luck on eBay...

User avatar
bacteria
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 3984
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:14 am
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Post by bacteria » Wed Jun 11, 2008 2:07 am

You need C-sync if using RGB - C-sync can also be the composite line...
Image

User avatar
Sledge Hammer
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:56 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Started first SnesP (PAL Fullsize), now with Pics

Post by Sledge Hammer » Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:04 pm

Well, its been a while, but Im back on the project.

Got distracted somehow...

But yesterday I dusted off my soldering Iron and started again.

Heres what I got so far.

I have a second Redant screen, it came with a PSOne so I could test it was working before I fried it.

Then I connected the old screen to the PSOne, and it worked.
So far so good.

Ill tried my luck again getting the SNES with RGB to work, but failed.

So I tried something else.
I took a SCART cable and connected the PSOne via RGB to my TV.
No picture. :(
So I tried SVideo with Y and C.
That worked. :)
Then I tried the SNES with the Redant screen vie SVideo Y and C.
Nothing. :(
I tried the SNES with SVideo on my TV.
That worked.

Then I tried my DVDplayer as Input for the Redant screen vie SVideo.
Nothing again.

So here are my conclusions:
Svideo Output from SNES works, SVideo Output from PSOne works.
Inputting SVideo (Y,C, GND) to the Redant Screen does not work.

I will try getting this damn RGB to work again.

User avatar
Sledge Hammer
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:56 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Started first SnesP (PAL Fullsize), now with Pics

Post by Sledge Hammer » Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:43 pm

I tried again.

Ive hooked up the PSOne to the Screen it came with and connected my old screen too.

With SVideo, I got no image.
With RGB I got a image although it was pretty greenish.

So I tried again my SNES with RGB, but again, no image.

After I followed one of bacterias links on his site, I tried to directly connect R from the Snes to R of the screen, and B and G too.
As well as sync (Pin 9).
http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/console/ninte ... es-rgb.htm" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
which links to:
http://members.optushome.com.au/eviltim ... escart.htm" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

But again, no picture any more.

For some reason I did not even get any SVideo image to my TV through SCART :-(

I will try hooking up SCART tomorrow again.

That is really frustrating :evil:

User avatar
Basement_Modder
Portablizer
Posts: 962
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:16 am
Location: Next door to my neighbor
Contact:

Re: Started first SnesP (PAL Fullsize), now with Pics

Post by Basement_Modder » Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:09 pm

INCREDIBLE!

I expected a noob bump when I opened this. But instead of "LOLZ IS dis F1nesH3D?" I was greeted with a useful bump by an old member who is productive.

THANK YOU AND GOOD LUCK!
Cheers,
Basement_Modder
_________________

User avatar
Sledge Hammer
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:56 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Started first SnesP (PAL Fullsize), now with Pics

Post by Sledge Hammer » Fri Mar 25, 2011 2:44 pm

YAY, progress!

I finally did it.
I added all the resistors between the RGB and sync line and the ground.
Then i got a clear picture from my console to the screen.
Connected sound too, and it works too.

Now that I got the main connection, Ill look for the design of the case, and I will order some NES pads.
Resoldering of the CART Slot will be the next big soldering task...

User avatar
Sledge Hammer
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:56 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Started first SnesP (PAL Fullsize), now with Pics

Post by Sledge Hammer » Sun Mar 27, 2011 3:28 am

Desoldered the cardslot today.

Ripped off two connecting lines on the PCB :-(
The cardslot and its pins are all perfect though.

So Im going to buy a new SNES on ebay and cutting off all the pieces (with my dremel) which need to be desoldered.

Then Ill desolder every single pin and get it out without overheating the complete PCB.

User avatar
Sledge Hammer
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:56 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Started first SnesP (PAL Fullsize), now with Pics

Post by Sledge Hammer » Sun Mar 27, 2011 3:28 am

sorry, double post...

Post Reply