nes/snes retro duo! pics, review, hacking info 7/27/10

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
lovablechevy
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 1104
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:09 pm
Location: busy with a project
Contact:

Post by lovablechevy » Mon Feb 11, 2008 5:53 pm

oops! sorry, didn't realize i submitted it twice! hehe!

User avatar
Life of Brian
Moderator
Posts: 2867
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 5:55 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Post by Life of Brian » Mon Feb 11, 2008 6:41 pm

Excellent info! It looks like it's fairly comparable to the FC Twin.
dragonhead wrote:sweet. ive spent a third of my life on benheck!
Image

17daysolderthannes
Posts: 381
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 7:15 am

Post by 17daysolderthannes » Tue Feb 12, 2008 4:42 pm

look who was right about NOAC :)

the only difference between this and the FC Twin is the compatability with Castlevania III and maybe a couple other games. Although, the retroduo seems to always go for $60 shipped instead of $45 shipped for the Twin, so if you don't care about castlevania III, might wanna pass.

Ace_1
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 8:09 pm

Post by Ace_1 » Tue Feb 12, 2008 10:05 pm

Wow... this looks to me like a slightly re-engineered FC Twin. The chips on the SNES side look similar, NES games seem to play the same, except that the cartridge port is wired correctly for Castlevania III to work. Meh... I'm good with my FC Twin. I'll pass this one.

User avatar
Jakq
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 9:12 pm

Post by Jakq » Tue Feb 12, 2008 10:25 pm

WOW. I am really thinking about using this. The way this is set up, I wouldn't have to mod the actual console at all, the way i am planning on doing my portable. Just put the circuits in the box with the modded screen and controller and bam presto.

showka
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 12:20 pm

Post by showka » Fri Feb 15, 2008 3:01 pm

Is it true that in NES mode the X and A buttons are turbo B and turbo A, and the Y and B buttons are B and A?

User avatar
lovablechevy
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 1104
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:09 pm
Location: busy with a project
Contact:

Post by lovablechevy » Fri Feb 15, 2008 3:06 pm

showka wrote:Is it true that in NES mode the X and A buttons are turbo B and turbo A, and the Y and B buttons are B and A?
you know, i haven't really even tried to see if there is turbo. i forgot that some sites are saying that. i'll try it out this weekend and let you know about the turbo. the y and b buttons are the main buttons for the nes side. the y is the nes b and the b is the nes a.

User avatar
shmagoogin77
Portablizer
Posts: 1469
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 6:10 pm
Location: My desk
Contact:

Post by shmagoogin77 » Sun Feb 17, 2008 11:16 pm

how did they get away without a power board like on the FC Twin?

sammy
Posts: 568
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:13 pm

Post by sammy » Tue Feb 19, 2008 8:11 am

shmagoogin77 wrote:how did they get away without a power board like on the FC Twin?
Yes I also wondered, where is the 7805? Looks quite dangerous to me.

User avatar
lovablechevy
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 1104
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:09 pm
Location: busy with a project
Contact:

Post by lovablechevy » Tue Feb 19, 2008 8:33 am

the x and a buttons are not turbo for y and b in nes mode.

i'll take some closer pics of the boards since there seems to be some questions about it. i'll get them uploaded tonight.

while i'm taking more pics, are there any requests?

17daysolderthannes
Posts: 381
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 7:15 am

Post by 17daysolderthannes » Tue Feb 19, 2008 3:26 pm

well, on the FC Twin the A and X only work as turbo A and B if you use the included controllers, so make sure and test this with the pack-in retro duo controllers. When I use a real SNES controller, only normal A and B functions work.

User avatar
lovablechevy
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 1104
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:09 pm
Location: busy with a project
Contact:

Post by lovablechevy » Tue Feb 19, 2008 8:35 pm

i am using the retro duo controllers. i stated before that i prefer the look of them so they match the system.

anyway, here are the links to some closer pics of the boards.

http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg10 ... 0_0853.jpg
http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg10 ... 0_0854.jpg
http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg10 ... 0_0857.jpg
http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg10 ... 0_0858.jpg
http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg10 ... 0_0859.jpg
http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg10 ... 0_0860.jpg
http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg10 ... 0_0861.jpg
http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg10 ... 0_0862.jpg
http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg10 ... 0_0865.jpg
http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg10 ... 0_0867.jpg

also, does anybody know what these could be for? they are spaces that look like things should be there. the one place says 5v / gnd / 8v.
Image

after looking at the dimensions i gave for the boards, i realized they didn't add up correctly. here are the correct dimensions.
Image

i just got a multimeter. now i just need to figure out how to use it and i can let you all know what this thing draws.
Last edited by lovablechevy on Sun Mar 02, 2008 10:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
grahf
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:08 pm
Location: Tokyo Japan
Contact:

Post by grahf » Wed Feb 20, 2008 3:23 am

They get away without a 7805 because the power supply is 5v.

User avatar
w00tLOL
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 2:56 am

Post by w00tLOL » Wed Feb 20, 2008 4:22 am

Image
the 5v/gnd/8v is for a 7805 regulator, not required as the power supply would be ~5v anyway.

the white thing with two holes would eb for a crystal, probably used in a different region (pal/ntsc) the little circle down the bottom is a capacitor, probably not required, again maybe for a different region
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
grahf
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:08 pm
Location: Tokyo Japan
Contact:

Post by grahf » Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:22 am

I just noticed something interesting.. right below the empty crystal space, is what appears to be the video IC. Right on the SNES board this time. This might end up being even better that the FC Twin, since the extra piece of board with the power/reset switches should be able to be shaved off.

lovablechevy, can you post the numbers off of the chip directly below the empty white crystal spot? (in the above pic). TIA.

Post Reply