Khaag's SNESp Progress Thread (56k)

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
khaag
Senior Member
Posts: 2260
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 7:54 pm
Location: C eh N eh D eh
Contact:

Post by khaag » Sat Jan 26, 2008 5:49 pm

So I got a couple coats of primer on this bad boy; I accidentally got a fingerprint on it though so I'm going to have to do another coat. Before I do that though, I'm going to drill the holes in the case for the speakers. I'm going to clamp a piece of perf-board in place and then use that as a template to drill the holes. I think its the same method G-force used on the Playmad. Also, I got bondo in the button holes so I'm going to have to carefully drill those out again. Other than that, this puupy seems to be coming along nicely and that makes me happy.

First coat:
Image

Second coat:
Image

I'm going to be painting it black eventually. Not until I get everything fully prepped and finalized though.

Rellizate
Posts: 732
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 11:00 am

Post by Rellizate » Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:26 am

Looks great! Where's the start & select though?

Hedge
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 3:55 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Hedge » Thu Jan 31, 2008 4:40 pm

i hope so much to have it soon....

User avatar
khaag
Senior Member
Posts: 2260
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 7:54 pm
Location: C eh N eh D eh
Contact:

Post by khaag » Fri Feb 01, 2008 4:14 pm

Rellizate wrote:Looks great! Where's the start & select though?
Start and select will be located on the front wall of the unit.

So I LED modded the screen today. I used 4 led's instead of 3 as in Ben's guide. It looks nice.

Progress can be viewed at my blog: http://www.kevinhaag.ca

More progress to come later tonight.

User avatar
khaag
Senior Member
Posts: 2260
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 7:54 pm
Location: C eh N eh D eh
Contact:

Post by khaag » Fri Feb 01, 2008 8:10 pm

Here's a little teaser of the newest update.

Image

The rest can be viewed at: http://kevinhaag.ca/2008/02/01/snesp-su ... part-four/

User avatar
Kurt_
Portablizer
Posts: 5748
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:32 am
Steam ID: kurbert
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by Kurt_ » Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:12 pm

You might as well should have just stabbed my heart. Rustoleum paint for plastics is far inferior to Krylon. Krylon you can get at Canadian Tire.

*tear*

I find rustoleum is too soft, it gets too easily deformed, and does so on its own.

User avatar
khaag
Senior Member
Posts: 2260
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 7:54 pm
Location: C eh N eh D eh
Contact:

Post by khaag » Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:47 pm

Meh, i'm putting a clear coat over it so it will be fine.

User avatar
bacteria
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 3984
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:14 am
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Post by bacteria » Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:15 pm

Beautiful!
Image

User avatar
Metroid fan
Senior Member
Posts: 2158
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 2:36 pm
Location: Somewhere in the universe
Contact:

Post by Metroid fan » Sat Feb 02, 2008 1:37 pm

Wow I must say that paintjob is really, really good lookin'. Very nice.

User avatar
Turbo Tax 1.0
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 4772
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Delaware, no sales tax
Contact:

Post by Turbo Tax 1.0 » Sat Feb 02, 2008 7:03 pm

looks really good, but what about start/select, and the volume/brightness buttons?
or are you just going to relocate them somewhere else?

edit: nm: I read that one post you made about it being on the wall
when life gives you lemons make flux
Image
snesp mk4

User avatar
khaag
Senior Member
Posts: 2260
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 7:54 pm
Location: C eh N eh D eh
Contact:

Post by khaag » Fri Feb 08, 2008 6:15 pm

Ok, i'm having an issue with the RGB out to the PSONE screen. I have RGB and Sync coming off the SNES portion of the FC Twin (I removed the NES and the power boards) and going into the PSONE screen.

I power it on, and this is what I get:
Image
Image


Has anybody else had similar problems when using RGB? I'm also having a problem with sound. I have pins 11,12,13,14 on the FC Twin board going each through a .1uf cap and a 33k resistor and then going into the psone screen board into the L and R audio pins. Any idea why I'm not getting any sound though?

kayard
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:39 pm

batteries

Post by kayard » Fri Feb 08, 2008 8:21 pm

What kind of batteries are you using and do they fit inside the ZN40 case? I'm trying to decide what power source I should use.

Thanks,

Steve

User avatar
khaag
Senior Member
Posts: 2260
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 7:54 pm
Location: C eh N eh D eh
Contact:

Post by khaag » Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:20 pm

I'm using 2 3.7V 5400mAH LiPoly batteries in series. They're gonna run this thing forever.

User avatar
grahf
Posts: 370
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:08 pm
Location: Tokyo Japan
Contact:

Post by grahf » Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:27 am

The RGB is not at the right voltage level to be usable on the PSone screen. Audio is too low to be usable as-is either. I toyed around with different values of resistors and caps to get a signal that the PSone would be happy with, but its a pretty picky screen.. So on my last FC Twin project I just ended up leaving the power board, and tapping RGB off of the output pins on the CXA1645. That chip works excellent as a stabilizer. The power board has an audio amp on it as well, similar to the well known LM386. You can strip most of the other stuff off the board to make it smaller, but be careful that the CXA1645 and LM386 retain all their supporting caps/resistors.

User avatar
CronoTriggerfan
Moderator
Posts: 4131
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 3:07 pm
Location: University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
Contact:

Post by CronoTriggerfan » Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:15 am

khaag wrote:I'm using 2 3.7V 5400mAH LiPoly batteries in series. They're gonna run this thing forever.
5400mAH? IT'S OVER 9000!!! Well, not really. :lol: I thought I was pushing it with my 3800mAH batt on this new portable I've been working on. Where did you get it, ebay?

Also, I wouldn't screw with RGB. As grahf stated, you have to do a lot of screwing with it, as well as some surface-mount soldering and having to cram in an audio amp circuit into that already tiny case. And for what? A bit more vibrant colors and some sharper lines? Sure, that's great and all if you've got your SNES hooked up to, say, a 50 inch HDTV, but for a 5 inch PSOne screen, composite looks just fine in my opinion. The one time I did try wiring up a SNES mini with RGB, I ended up going back to composite with the next one, simply because it's not worth the trouble. Just my two cents! :P

CTFan
Image

Post Reply