My replacement for Radica

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

andoba
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:43 am
Location: Spain

My replacement for Radica

Post by andoba » Sun Jun 24, 2007 4:58 pm

http://www.elotrolado.net/showthread.ph ... did=775473

I'm making a portable Genesis, using an ATmel 68000, NEC RAM and a chinese manufactured all in a chip ASIC.

PICS:

Image
Image

When the ASIC manufacturer gives me the datasheet, I will start routing everything. I hope this ends on a right spot.

Cheers.

tom61
Senior Member
Posts: 1517
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 6:51 pm

Post by tom61 » Sun Jun 24, 2007 5:48 pm

Very interesting. Do you have more details on how to get the Chinese ASIC? Any plans to sell the PCB if you get it made?

User avatar
gannon
Moderator
Posts: 6974
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:48 pm
Location: Near that one big lake
Contact:

Post by gannon » Sun Jun 24, 2007 6:05 pm

I know I (and others) have wanted to do the same with the NOAC/NES ASIC, but it's hard to find the older (and more accurate) models that are non-glob top

User avatar
Skyone
Moderator
Posts: 6390
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: it is a mystery
Contact:

Post by Skyone » Sun Jun 24, 2007 6:24 pm

Interesting indeed, please keep us updated with the status!

User avatar
CronoTriggerfan
Moderator
Posts: 4131
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 3:07 pm
Location: University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
Contact:

Post by CronoTriggerfan » Sun Jun 24, 2007 10:59 pm

Yeah, I've seen some discussion about doing this for NES and even SNES, but never Genesis; keep us posted. How big will the board be?

CTFan
Image

User avatar
dman762000
Posts: 448
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 6:55 pm
Location: jonesboro ar
Contact:

Post by dman762000 » Sun Jun 24, 2007 11:10 pm

dude you get this figured out I wanna buy one, I keep frying radicas and I really wanna get my porta finished

andoba
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:43 am
Location: Spain

Post by andoba » Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:40 am

It's answer time!
Do you have more details on how to get the Chinese ASIC? Any plans to sell the PCB if you get it made?
The Chinese ASIC has to be bought to a Chinese electronics retailer. No, I will not sell the PCB, I will give out the CAD files so you can build / ask for manufacture your own. I will sell complete portables, with box and everything though.

In the link I posted from the Spanish board ElOtroLado you have the CAD files, schematics and more.
I know I (and others) have wanted to do the same with the NOAC/NES ASIC, but it's hard to find the older (and more accurate) models that are non-glob top
As far I heard, those come with Tristar, and those are NOT cheap.
Interesting indeed, please keep us updated with the status!
Thank you.
Yeah, I've seen some discussion about doing this for NES and even SNES, but never Genesis; keep us posted. How big will the board be?

CTFan
Some japanese coders have implemented the SNES and NES in an FPGA (a programable ASIC). The board measures, in metrical standard, 10 cm x 6 cm (W x H), and in English standard, 4,70 in x 2,40 in, pretty small if you let me tell.
dude you get this figured out I wanna buy one, I keep frying radicas and I really wanna get my porta finished
Thank you for your interest. Yeah, Radica's suck.

By the way, this does work too with SegaCD and 32X (and VR), plus it has two pins for selecting NTSC and PAL, and JAP and ENG, depending if they are low or high (bitwise speaking).

Cheers.

Thegamer3000
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 12:00 pm

Post by Thegamer3000 » Mon Jun 25, 2007 1:14 pm

No RGB?
Use your talents for God's Glory!
______________________________

Progress on Handheld Sega Genesis 90%

Progress on Handheld NES to sell 40%

andoba
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:43 am
Location: Spain

Post by andoba » Mon Jun 25, 2007 1:19 pm

Thegamer3000 wrote:No RGB?
You see those solder points down the big ASIC, those are:

V -> composite video.
H -> chroma.
L -> luma.
R -> red.
G -> green.
BL -> blue.
GN -> video ground.

Now go figure. :lol:

User avatar
marshallh
Moderator
Posts: 2986
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:17 pm
360 GamerTag: marshallh
Location: here and there
Contact:

Post by marshallh » Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:39 am

I hope this gets finished. Good luck with sourcing the ASICs, hehe :)

Looking good so far.
Image

User avatar
dman762000
Posts: 448
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 6:55 pm
Location: jonesboro ar
Contact:

Post by dman762000 » Tue Jun 26, 2007 9:55 am

when I said i wanted to buy one I didn't wanna buy just a board, I wanted to buy a complete unit, to put in a porta

werejag
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 11:06 pm

Post by werejag » Wed Jun 27, 2007 7:40 am

andoba wrote: By the way, this does work too with SegaCD and 32X (and VR), plus it has two pins for selecting NTSC and PAL, and JAP and ENG, depending if they are low or high (bitwise speaking).

Cheers.
can you add a ide drive to this so you can read hdd or cdrs for the SegaCD and roms?

andoba
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:43 am
Location: Spain

Post by andoba » Wed Jun 27, 2007 7:55 am

werejag wrote:
andoba wrote: By the way, this does work too with SegaCD and 32X (and VR), plus it has two pins for selecting NTSC and PAL, and JAP and ENG, depending if they are low or high (bitwise speaking).

Cheers.
can you add a ide drive to this so you can read hdd or cdrs for the SegaCD and roms?
I could do a full home console based on that, but not in a portable.

werejag
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 11:06 pm

Post by werejag » Wed Jul 04, 2007 1:15 pm

was thinking about a laptop harddrive or laptop dvd drive

ATOMICMAN
Posts: 467
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 10:45 am

Post by ATOMICMAN » Wed Jul 04, 2007 6:07 pm

werejag wrote:was thinking about a laptop harddrive or laptop dvd drive
memory card/compact flash reader then maybe

Post Reply