Dreamcast laptop progress (pics) 80%

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
paul4990
Posts: 510
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 2:21 pm
Location: Greater Manchester
Contact:

Dreamcast laptop progress (pics) 80%

Post by paul4990 » Tue Feb 20, 2007 2:57 pm

Image

in the picture above you can see the dreamcast along with the 6" TFT (from a portable DVD player, A game, The Modified game cube regulator and the screen controller(s)

this it going to be a bit like the wii laptop, but a bin more frankencase.

post comments and ideas please!
Last edited by paul4990 on Fri Mar 30, 2007 5:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
dudex77
Posts: 1499
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 10:43 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by dudex77 » Wed Feb 21, 2007 9:33 am

heh this was totally my idea stick in the dreamcast keyboard on top and itll totally be awesome i cant wait to see how it turns out as i think its the one console that truly deserves to be a laptop
Kurt_ wrote: I would use tact switches but I want the mushy feel. Mushy = God. (I typed that correctly).
Image

User avatar
paul4990
Posts: 510
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 2:21 pm
Location: Greater Manchester
Contact:

Post by paul4990 » Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:44 pm

is there any way to use a ps/2 keyboard on a DC?

User avatar
dudex77
Posts: 1499
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 10:43 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by dudex77 » Wed Feb 21, 2007 3:10 pm

paul4990 wrote:is there any way to use a ps/2 keyboard on a DC?
yeah you can get an adapter i figure that would be the best way considering youll need a smallish keyboard i think on playasia theres an adapter for ps1 to dreamcast and its made by the same company
Kurt_ wrote: I would use tact switches but I want the mushy feel. Mushy = God. (I typed that correctly).
Image

User avatar
Gump-in-space
Posts: 492
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:37 pm
Location: :noitacoL

Post by Gump-in-space » Wed Feb 21, 2007 10:07 pm

If you are looking for a laptop style keyboard the Japanese had one that is super small, stylish, and you can usually find it on E-bay.
Gamelver wrote:aw, I thought they were gonna be Gameboys inside the bricks :P.

User avatar
paul4990
Posts: 510
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 2:21 pm
Location: Greater Manchester
Contact:

Post by paul4990 » Thu Feb 22, 2007 12:39 pm

i dont think i will use a keyboard on it, as i cant find a use for it :P

User avatar
dudex77
Posts: 1499
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 10:43 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by dudex77 » Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:53 pm

paul4990 wrote:i dont think i will use a keyboard on it, as i cant find a use for it :P
what? for like everything homebrew theres a use for the keyboard and all shooters can use it also for webbrowsing its great. please include a keyboard or else...... :x
Kurt_ wrote: I would use tact switches but I want the mushy feel. Mushy = God. (I typed that correctly).
Image

Jongamer
Senior Member
Posts: 2151
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:43 pm
PSN Username: Geekystig790
360 GamerTag: Mesu Gitsune
Location: Fairborn, Ohio

Post by Jongamer » Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:59 pm

And if you ever planned to install a BBA into the DC you could run a Web browser on your DC laptop, and you can use the Jeyboard for Homebrew apps, like Marathon, Half-life, Quake and other Computer game ports to the DC, lol I made a Marathone 1, 2, and 3 self bootable disc yet I booted it up and I needed a Keyboard and Mouse to play it.

User avatar
gamemasterAS
Senior Member
Posts: 3309
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:30 pm
Steam ID: lolz1337face
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by gamemasterAS » Thu Feb 22, 2007 4:03 pm

Jongamer wrote:And if you ever planned to install a BBA into the DC you could run a Web browser on your DC laptop, and you can use the Jeyboard for Homebrew apps, like Marathon, Half-life, Quake and other Computer game ports to the DC, lol I made a Marathone 1, 2, and 3 self bootable disc yet I booted it up and I needed a Keyboard and Mouse to play it.
Yep, I burned marathon and then I realized it needed a keyboard lol
.

User avatar
ShockSlayer
Niblet 64
Posts: 5059
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:47 pm
Location: In my inbox.

Post by ShockSlayer » Fri Feb 23, 2007 8:31 pm

DC HB = nothing w/o a keyboard

SS
http://twitter.com/ShockSlayer" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
paul4990
Posts: 510
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 2:21 pm
Location: Greater Manchester
Contact:

Post by paul4990 » Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:53 pm

someone tell me how to use ps/2 on a DC without buying crap and i will

User avatar
dudex77
Posts: 1499
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 10:43 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by dudex77 » Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:16 pm

but its only like a 6 dollar crap
Kurt_ wrote: I would use tact switches but I want the mushy feel. Mushy = God. (I typed that correctly).
Image

User avatar
gamemasterAS
Senior Member
Posts: 3309
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:30 pm
Steam ID: lolz1337face
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by gamemasterAS » Mon Mar 12, 2007 8:38 pm

dudex77 wrote:but its only like a 6 dollar crap
:lol:
.

User avatar
illustriouschin
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 12:42 am

Post by illustriouschin » Mon Mar 12, 2007 8:41 pm

paul4990 wrote:i dont think i will use a keyboard on it, as i cant find a use for it :P
Typing of the Dead. And I guess PSO if you like boring ass hack-n-slashers with a chat function.

User avatar
paul4990
Posts: 510
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 2:21 pm
Location: Greater Manchester
Contact:

Post by paul4990 » Fri Mar 30, 2007 4:46 pm

Progress!

Image

Soldered AV Leads to the board.

and it works!
Image

Image
hoorah for tupperwaren we are going somewhere!

Post Reply