Troubleshooting Your N64

Includes but not limited to: SNES, Genesis, Sega CD, PlayStation 1, Nintendo 64, Dreamcast, Game Gear and I guess the Virtual Boy.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Gamelver
Moderator
Posts: 3347
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: in my basement, to forever work on portables ;)
Contact:

Post by Gamelver » Fri May 05, 2006 12:51 pm

G-force wrote:Does this sound like the symptoms of a "sleeping" N64?
Outputs video, but it's nothing but black. No sound output at all as far as I can tell. Heatsink gets warm just like normal.

I tried all the above mentioned steps, with different games and with different expansion and jumper packs.

I only barely brushed it with my hand (after just touching ground also!) and it just stopped working. I'm thinking that it's just one stupid component thats giving me all this suffering, but I've no clue what it is.
check the 7805 line....make sure 5V is being outputted, and then trace that to various spots to make sure there isn't some kind of component that's fried....

I'm pretty sure that the 5V line is for video/sound :|.....if the heatsinks are getting warm, that indicates something's happening, meaning it's most likely functioning, except for video :P.
Without games my life would have no meaning.
Well, I guess it would, but it would be a lot less fun!!!!!!!

Image

User avatar
ShockSlayer
Niblet 64
Posts: 5059
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:47 pm
Location: In my inbox.

Re: Troubleshooting Your N64

Post by ShockSlayer » Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:39 pm

Gamelver wrote: -Um, perhaps try replacing that red LED...I'm not sure if it's an importnat part of the power circuit, but try anyway, if you're still stuck.
Nope its not. I removed it and confirmed this.
http://twitter.com/ShockSlayer" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Turbo Tax 1.0
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 4772
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Delaware, no sales tax
Contact:

Post by Turbo Tax 1.0 » Mon Aug 07, 2006 10:06 pm

Skyone wrote:My favorite is when your ground wire or 12v line touches the 3.3v line. I think you can jump a fuse, but hell, it sucks.

Nice job anyways.
anybody know where exactly this little fuse is? im gonna need to find it :(

i think my 7.2 volt line and my 3.3 or ground touched, it happened relatively wuickly and only while i was moving a wire around, i seriously hope its not fried the portable was basically done :(

its not fried if the led goes on right? :?
when life gives you lemons make flux
Image
snesp mk4

User avatar
vskid
Senior Member
Posts: 6314
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:25 am
Steam ID: vskid3
Contact:

Post by vskid » Tue Aug 08, 2006 8:01 am

Turbo Tax 1.0 wrote:
Skyone wrote:My favorite is when your ground wire or 12v line touches the 3.3v line. I think you can jump a fuse, but hell, it sucks.

Nice job anyways.
anybody know where exactly this little fuse is? im gonna need to find it :(

i think my 7.2 volt line and my 3.3 or ground touched, it happened relatively wuickly and only while i was moving a wire around, i seriously hope its not fried the portable was basically done :(

its not fried if the led goes on right? :?
Thats exactly what happened to mine, is there any hope of it still being alive?
Image

User avatar
Turbo Tax 1.0
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 4772
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Delaware, no sales tax
Contact:

Post by Turbo Tax 1.0 » Tue Aug 08, 2006 9:59 am

im really hoping its just "asleep"
when life gives you lemons make flux
Image
snesp mk4

User avatar
Gamelver
Moderator
Posts: 3347
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: in my basement, to forever work on portables ;)
Contact:

Post by Gamelver » Tue Aug 08, 2006 1:02 pm

well, first of all, I don't think there are any fuses directly on the board of the N64. The fuses and protection were in the AC adapter for it, so there was no need for it on the actual board.

and the N64 is probably dead :(.
Without games my life would have no meaning.
Well, I guess it would, but it would be a lot less fun!!!!!!!

Image

User avatar
Skyone
Moderator
Posts: 6390
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: it is a mystery
Contact:

Post by Skyone » Tue Aug 08, 2006 3:59 pm

You may be able to replace something, right? As long as any of the chips (CPU, GPU, RAM) aren't dead, there is hope yet.

User avatar
blackbox_dev
Senior Member
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: Formerly known as iam7805

Re: Troubleshooting Your N64

Post by blackbox_dev » Wed Aug 09, 2006 9:28 am

ShockSlayer wrote:
Gamelver wrote: -Um, perhaps try replacing that red LED...I'm not sure if it's an importnat part of the power circuit, but try anyway, if you're still stuck.
Nope its not. I removed it and confirmed this.
Did you try another LED with it though?
I'd imagine right now you wish you were a cuttlefish...

User avatar
ShockSlayer
Niblet 64
Posts: 5059
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:47 pm
Location: In my inbox.

Re: Troubleshooting Your N64

Post by ShockSlayer » Wed Aug 09, 2006 5:36 pm

iam7805 wrote:
ShockSlayer wrote:
Gamelver wrote: -Um, perhaps try replacing that red LED...I'm not sure if it's an importnat part of the power circuit, but try anyway, if you're still stuck.
Nope its not. I removed it and confirmed this.
Did you try another LED with it though?
Hello double post.

No, there's no point, but if done wrong, you might fry the LED. :P
http://twitter.com/ShockSlayer" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Turbo Tax 1.0
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 4772
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Delaware, no sales tax
Contact:

Post by Turbo Tax 1.0 » Wed Aug 09, 2006 6:35 pm

i wired up a new N64 today and it was working fine, up until i wired up the DC-DC, i wired it exactly like i did last time and the game would start up and then stop at either the N64 or Nintendo screen, on Donky kong and Fzero. ive tried a few different games and took my inductor out of the wiring, and now when i turn it on i get the wavy lines. do you think my N64 is fried? or maybe just something wrong with the cart slot? :?


oh and the led still goes on
when life gives you lemons make flux
Image
snesp mk4

User avatar
blackbox_dev
Senior Member
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: Formerly known as iam7805

Post by blackbox_dev » Wed Aug 09, 2006 6:39 pm

Maybe it's not getting enough amperage?
I'd imagine right now you wish you were a cuttlefish...

User avatar
Turbo Tax 1.0
Portablizer Extraordinaire
Posts: 4772
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Delaware, no sales tax
Contact:

Post by Turbo Tax 1.0 » Wed Aug 09, 2006 6:43 pm

thats probably it, i ahd been testing it with the same battery for awhile and the PSone wall adapter only outputs 2A(is this to little?)
when life gives you lemons make flux
Image
snesp mk4

User avatar
Gamerdude
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:37 pm
Location: Somewhere in the US

Post by Gamerdude » Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:31 pm

I know this doesn't fit here but where are you suppose to wire up the ESD wrist strap to. Do you hook it to the board you are woking on or just ground it to the ground and if so how do you do this.

User avatar
vskid
Senior Member
Posts: 6314
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:25 am
Steam ID: vskid3
Contact:

Post by vskid » Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:38 pm

Gamerdude wrote:I know this doesn't fit here but where are you suppose to wire up the ESD wrist strap to. Do you hook it to the board you are woking on or just ground it to the ground and if so how do you do this.
Ground it to ground, like the case of most things with metal cases, it should have the extra ground prong and be plugged in. Or most metal pipes, if you work in a basement or bathroom. :)
Image

User avatar
timmeh87
Senior Member
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:19 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by timmeh87 » Thu Mar 15, 2007 6:41 pm

if you ground it to the ground of what you are working on, you are setting up a circuit for static discharge right through everything on your board. which is exactly what you are trying to avoid
Image

"Linux is only free if your time is worthless"

Post Reply