NOAC: Supplier?

Includes Atari 2600, Nintendo 8-bit, Sega Master System, MSX and more!

Moderator: Moderators

fireworld
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 8:42 am

NOAC: Supplier?

Post by fireworld » Sat Dec 31, 2005 8:45 am

Hey everyone! I'm Dakota Courtois, and I'm new here. I am looking for some Nintendo-on-a-chips. I've already submitted a request on NowComponents, and New York Semiconductor for the NT6578. I found NovaTek's web page, I am planning on emailing them to see if they are still available. I will post back soon with the quotes.

EDIT: I just got a response from NowComponents- they've got sombody working on finding 100 NT6578s. Expect more soon... ^_^

Even bigger EDIT: NowComponents has the NOAC chip itself for $10 each.
Last edited by fireworld on Sun Jan 01, 2006 7:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(") This is Bunny.paste Bunny into your sig to help him gain world domination.

User avatar
usbcd36
Posts: 1293
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Inside Samus's arm cannon [gulp]___ Gender: Male

Post by usbcd36 » Sat Dec 31, 2005 11:56 am

Ben's looking for NOACs as well. If you drop him an e-mail, he'll probably be very pleased (see the homepage for details).

User avatar
Lucretius
Moderator
Posts: 4009
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 7:25 pm
Location: *undisclosed*
Contact:

Post by Lucretius » Sat Dec 31, 2005 12:17 pm

Fantastic work, my good man. Keep us posted on your findings! :)
-Luke

User avatar
totokan
Senior Member
Posts: 1785
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Post by totokan » Sat Dec 31, 2005 12:36 pm

With only the chip, won't you need a lot of wiring to make it do anything?
Shhh! I'm not officially back yet.

vb_master
Moderator
Posts: 4793
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 9:52 pm

Post by vb_master » Sat Dec 31, 2005 12:56 pm

Nice!

User avatar
Gamelver
Moderator
Posts: 3349
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: in my basement, to forever work on portables ;)
Contact:

Post by Gamelver » Sat Dec 31, 2005 12:59 pm

totokan wrote:With only the chip, won't you need a lot of wiring to make it do anything?
yes, but ben's probably gonna be using a premade pcb for this...there aren't many components for this to work, either, IIRC...
Without games my life would have no meaning.
Well, I guess it would, but it would be a lot less fun!!!!!!!

Image

User avatar
Krepticor
Senior Member
Posts: 1567
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 8:06 pm
Location: Shadow Hearts

Post by Krepticor » Sun Jan 01, 2006 9:47 pm

Where could one get the schematic/wiring diagram for use of this chip?
I refuse to dignify myself with an intelligent and witty signature

User avatar
Gamelver
Moderator
Posts: 3349
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: in my basement, to forever work on portables ;)
Contact:

Post by Gamelver » Sun Jan 01, 2006 10:28 pm

I have NO idea...

:P. just scroll down, there's a guide by nin that has all the info.
Without games my life would have no meaning.
Well, I guess it would, but it would be a lot less fun!!!!!!!

Image

User avatar
gannon
Moderator
Posts: 6974
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:48 pm
Location: Near that one big lake
Contact:

Post by gannon » Sun Jan 01, 2006 10:32 pm


User avatar
totokan
Senior Member
Posts: 1785
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Post by totokan » Mon Jan 02, 2006 9:25 am

"The topic or post you have requested does not exist".
Shhh! I'm not officially back yet.

User avatar
Krepticor
Senior Member
Posts: 1567
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 8:06 pm
Location: Shadow Hearts

Post by Krepticor » Mon Jan 02, 2006 10:05 am

i mean if i took that chip you described and used it as the noac there still has to be a capacitor and a few other components right?

or is this chip the whole package?(without the screen, controller, and battery connectors)
I refuse to dignify myself with an intelligent and witty signature

User avatar
daguuy
Portablizer
Posts: 3666
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:09 pm
Location: missoura

Post by daguuy » Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:34 am

if it's just the chip, could it be like this one?
ImageImage
looks pretty hard to solder all that
Last edited by daguuy on Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:43 am, edited 2 times in total.
ImageImage

User avatar
usbcd36
Posts: 1293
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Inside Samus's arm cannon [gulp]___ Gender: Male

Post by usbcd36 » Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:37 am

Krepticor wrote:i mean if i took that chip you described and used it as the noac there still has to be a capacitor and a few other components right?

or is this chip the whole package?(without the screen, controller, and battery connectors)
You need a crystal oscillator and a few caps for it to run correctly. It may also be one that requires a video amp for a decent picture.

User avatar
paul4990
Posts: 510
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 2:21 pm
Location: Greater Manchester
Contact:

Post by paul4990 » Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:52 am

ben scoffs at difficulty

User avatar
Triton
Moderator
Posts: 7396
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 12:33 pm
360 GamerTag: triton199
Steam ID: triton199
Location: Iowa
Contact:

Post by Triton » Mon Jan 02, 2006 12:13 pm

nay, he laughs uproariously in the face of adversity, no challange is too challenging for the great ben heckendorn! :lol:

Post Reply